Autopsy Round 1, 2022: St.Kilda v Collingwood

Gotta tip my hat to Wood, 8 marks and looked lively from only 71% gametime.

Sometimes when I’m standing on my head and looking at a reflection of the TV sideways the way he moves across the ground and jumps at the ball reminds me of a certain Roo like operator.

This is a big problem with the culture inside the club now.

Hill was struggling. So instead of having him work through it and hold him to a standard he was recruited on we went and moved the entire structure of the side out the way to make room for him on the HBF. Because we can't stomach the idea that maybe 800k for Brad Hill hasn't worked out.

Now it's created a whole bunch of issues in the back 6 because surprise surprise hill can't actually defend to save himself.
Exactly, Hill is not a defender.. and he is ineffective in congestion, so stop sending packs to wings as the only way to transition the ball, leave forwards in the forward line, and see him fly up and down the wings to better effect.
Ratts is not smart enough to work this out I’m afraid. 3 years in, we’re still playing Richo football.. long bombs to a out numbered King, ball sling shot from our forward line to theirs, goal! Rinse and Repeat, bye bye Ratts!

When will the BF mods fix the issue where a player's stats are inserted into a post for no reason, when you simply type the players name? It's been going on forever and is so amateur hour.
You have to change the settings on your BF account. Right at the end, deselect the Footy Card thingo I forget what it's called.

Hawthorn will likely win the wooden spoon this year.
Unless their game plan stinks or Mitchell completely fails to get the best of them, I very highly doubt that.

Despite being without two of their best 3-4 in Gunston and Sicily for all these games, and bunch of their other best players in some others, they had the following results after the bye last year:

38 point win over Sydney, at the SCG.
18 point win over GWS
Draw with Melbourne
12 point win over Brisbane
Doubled Western Bulldogs score
Draw with Richmond

With Gunston and Sicily back it would be an appalling result for that team to suddenly be the worst team in it.

The Giants midfield absolutely dominated them in the next game so I'd hate to see what they do to us.
Like I said, Collingwood were without Adams and Lipinski for that game and they combined for 29 contested possessions and 16 clearances tonight, so that shows you exactly what happens when you take two of a teams best mids out.

Surprise surprise, they’re likely to get smashed in there.
Pies might have improved from bottom 4 but I'm gonna take a guess and say the reason they looked so good tonight had a fair bit to do with us.
It definitely did have a fair bit to do with us, but I just don’t think there are necessarily going to any really bad teams this year, and as such, if any team is as close to full strength as Collingwood were tonight, they could beat just about anyone.

Especially if they’re basically playing with the “nothing-to-lose” type attitude that they seemed to be playing with tonight.

They can just go for anything and if it doesn’t come off it doesn’t matter, because they’re not expected to win anyway.
I don't see them finishing too much higher than last year.
Possibly not, especially as I said once they start to get more injuries, as their depth is a bunch of Mitch Owens types, but that doesn’t mean that when they’re as close to full strength as they were tonight that they won’t trouble plenty of sides. It is after all only one year since they were a finals side.

It’s not like they’re a young side that hasn’t played finals for years and has to learn how to win.
That's a team we should be beating, with or without a few injuries.
If you can show me a world where what “should” happen does happen then I’ll be in full agreement with you.

Life simply doesn’t work that way.

Brad Scott on the holding the ball interpretation last week, "We want players to have the chance to break tackles, unless your name is Mason Wood"

Still have no idea how DeGoey was allowed to play. Do footy journalists ever ask important questions? Found guilty of aggressive crime with a victim. As opposed to Crouch with no criminal finding to a victimless incident. AFL enforce 2 week ban for one of these.

Because of technicality.

They agreed on a misdemeanour's; aggressive harassment, they dropped 3 chargers that were crimes. So whilst yes, he plead guilty, it was because of wet lettuce leaf, not because he actually thinks he is.

It's why he's say, different then to Marley, as he then said yep to the crime of grievous bodily harm by literally punching someone. In the face.

So you have one crystal clear "that guy punched me in the face" vs "that guy maybe kicked me after I got glassed by his mate and faceplanted as he said all these things..." and you understand why only 1 of 4 stuck in that case. Also why, I believe anyway, he could still be arrested locally and it won't have any bearing on his USA charges, but if he was over there, he'd be dicked.

As here he's just a flog, there, he has a history with the courts that is mandated and could be remanded.

I'm convinced St Kilda footy is all about removing gumption from players. If they play with flair, it needs to be stamped out immediately, we can't have that. No goal kickers thank you, we need some boring robots who respond well during Thursdays training.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Hayes get moved to the half back flank position after his game tonight. Get him playing some nice boring Saints footy for a while, 6 touches and 1 tackle thank you very much.
One thing I've noticed over the years is that players new to the club generally do well but after they've been with the club for a few months, and particuarly at least one pre-season, they devolve into GOPs. This club destroys players, and I hate saying this but it's true. Probably does make them more balanced citizens though, maybe we should rebrand as a Rehab centre.

We should have subbed on Wanganeen-Milera

He owes me for a bruised hand for smashing my coffee table when his uncle Gavin slotted that goal from the boundary in the 2004 prelim final.

N
One thing I've noticed over the years is that players new to the club generally do well but after they've been with the club for a few months, and particuarly at least one pre-season, they devolve into GOPs. This club destroys players, and I hate saying this but it's true. Probably does make them more balanced citizens though, maybe we should rebrand as a Rehab centre.
This will change once we’ve moved to Tassie

I was legit about to post the same thing but thought I'd sound nuts. It's like their natural talent starts to slowly get hindered when they walk in.

Wait, are we writing off Byrnes? It’s been nothing but praise since second half of last season. Or trade him, whatever

We get pissed off about St Kilda losing to Collingwood and then you switch to News 24 and see Ukraine fighting a war against Russia.

It puts it all in perspective, Volod Zelensky is the Jack Steele of the Ukraine, an absolute warrior.

I offered Brad Hill to the Ukrainian Army and they said no thanks we don't want to go backwards.

How many time can you sh1t the bed
Friday night footy and full house
Never going to be any good when you have Ross and Kent in your side
This list will take us nowhere
One can only assume the DEES saw what we didn't...or we thought we saw something, but they decided KENT was never going to be good enough! We seem to manage that pretty frequently...or so it seems!

We get pissed off about St Kilda losing to Collingwood and then you switch to News 24 and see Ukraine fighting a war against Russia.
This. At the end of the day, it’s just a game.

I was sitting behind someone who barracks for Collingwood and he was flogging it up all game, and just acting like a massive knob when they won, and then you come across others who were the same way on the way out of the ground and it makes you realise that if your football team winning makes you think you’re better than other people, and makes you as floggish as that, etc, then winning actually ain’t shit.

If you’re relying on it to feel good about yourself, or to be happy in life, or to feel like you can walk with your head held high, etc, you’re in a LOT of trouble.

Bring on Clarko
I think Ratts and his band of ex Hawthorn mates are stuck in 2012. Just not as able or good, and with a team that can't perform to the level required. The game has moved on. These new coaches are riding the curve. Guys like Ratten are trying to keep up. It might come good...but it probably won't.

I'm just tired of watching the same thing every year, honestly. Injuries, selections that make no sense, inaccuracy, umpires especially. It's a hard game to umpire, but sometimes they just seem downright one sided. I started watching the NHL a few years ago, and the decisions always seem to make sense in that sport. It's just such a stress free game, because you know if you play better you win, if you play worse, you lose. That's it.

I'm tired of seeing the flashes of brilliance, when we play with hunger and speed and drive, when we get our hopes up and think "this is it", and then the next ten minutes we just stop. We crawl back into our shell. It feels like in those moments of brilliance the players are just playing off of instinct, but the moment we take a breather and rely on our gameplan, it falls apart. We're better than this. Our list is better than this.

Autopsy Round 1, 2022: St.Kilda v Collingwood