Toast Round 1 = Geelong 103-125 Collingwood

I think his body was looking a bit beaten up at the end of last season, but I also think we underestimate the impact of McStay on Mihocek's output. He is much, much more effective as a third tall behind a proper key forward and resting ruck. A structure with McStay, Cameron/Cox and Checkers will truly show benefits in Checkers output more than anything else. If you look at his past games, his output increases exponentially from being number 1 forward to number 2 to number 3.

One reason I am truly pleased we got McStay, and not just because I am living up to my username and rejoicing that the KPF at Collingwood isn't dead after all.

I think it'll take time to build the forward 50 synergy. Only natural when you add 2 new significant players up there in McStay and Hill. They'll improve, and the team's connection to them will improve. Ditto Mitchell.

Missed the preseason game didn't he? Played the pre-preseason game but that was his last real hitout. Would expect at least 1 game in the VFL to gain some touch.

Last Game was the Intra-Club

Hope you’re strutting around in your Pies polo at the regatta down there this morning, jmac and got your swagger on.
I did. Got plenty of ‘Go Pies’ shout outs too.

Bump.

Can anyone put me out of my misery and let me know who your runner is? Or point me to a list of runners/water folk etc?

Cheers!

Byrnes isn't it?

Edit: Sorry, he's Geelong's, ours is Mannon Johnson. He's part of our conditioning team I think.

Edit Edit: What 35Daicos said.

Just wanted to say how well you guys played the other night. Not many teams against us go 3-4 goals down in the third term and turn it on like that. It was an awesome display.

Really wishing Jeremy Howe all the best, no one on a footy field where it takes courage just to be out there deserves for that to happen to them.

Well done pies

It was Geelong's home game, hence wearing our away black-based jumper (KFC front sponsor)

Technically you're right haha, as Nike have made no actual changes to the jumper, save for the new Emirates logo on the home (which was requested by Emirates). There's otherwise no difference between our first Nike kits in 2021 and this years' outside of logos.

Why did the teams wear their away shorts? Was surprised (pleasantly) to see us in black shorts.

After the * show of a spectacle that 2019 QF was: AFL finals 2019, Geelong vs Collingwood: Jumper clash leaves fans and commentators puzzled

Geelong were pissed off that they couldn't play us in a final at their country footy oval and in retaliation wore their home shorts for the game because it was their "home" final - the ensuing mix n mash of colours was one of the worst games of footy to watch (myself sitting up at Level 4 struggling to figure out which team even possessed the ball at times).

Technically, there are no home/away teams for the AFL finals series, just that the higher ranked team enjoys the advantage of the AFL appointing their final to a stadium in their home state. As a result the AFL directs what teams should wear in finals, and teams can make requests. In this case the AFL should have rightfully denied the Cats' request to wear dark shorts.

There's been a gentleman's agreement between since the start of the century to do the all white/all black matchup, just like what was directed for any outing of the club, including the 2011 GF.

We should sell this more often. If you want to play in front of people, come to Collingwood. You're guaranteed at least two sellouts a season and then a few more in most years. In the modern era, players should be targeting bigger clubs as there's more commercial value if they're better known. Compare the profile of Gold Coast's elite to Collingwood's.

Apparently its a fracture to the forearm, and he will miss 6 weeks....
Compound fracture involving both forearm bones, 6 weeks would be unlikely at a guess. 10-12 probably our realistic best option

Decided to give it 24 hours....

Firstly, its a real shame Ollie couldn't redeem himself with us.
I just don't know any human that, when someone they played with for 2 years gets injured, wouldn't have run over to say something.
It just would be the first thing i would do.
For me, this is the biggest loss of the night.

Which is a reflection of him unfortunately, given Cameron came over.
Something i think he'll regret in years to come.
Very very sad.

Anyway, onto the game....

Cats had plenty out....but if cats are going with that, we'll go with 16-2.
So does "plenty out" match 16-2?
Because its 50+ points if it doesn't.....
(yes they scored whatever points in the last 2 mins....but 16-2 was where it was when the game as up for grabs).

I took note of the last 3 mins (on the clock) of each qtr.
We smoked them in every quarter in the last few mins.

We gave up a heap in the first half off transition....super glad everyone has acknowledged that.
Because its no co-incidence that after half time, when we cleaned this up, we absolutely smashed them.

Basically kicked 10 goals to 2 in the last 35 mins of gametime....thats insane...against anyone!

Just a few players qomments:
Sidey - Fumbled everything. In 200+ games i've never seen him fumble like this! invited a heap of pressure because of this.

WHE- FMD....just awful with ball in hand. Even when we scored in the first, it came off his knee and he looked panicked and stressed. Get why he is in the team....and without being at the ground, can't comment on defensive running....but FMD....his offense was just horrendous.

Reef - PANIC!!!!! (which ironically would have worked for Henry when Moore ran him down)....but he just looks massively dangerous doesn't he? I want him to play. Needs to play because he just has all the attributes you want. His speed and attack at the ball will just scare everyone. And after 10 more games....the panic will go an look out. Think he looks so exciting.

Adams / Mitchell - Lol at 11 clearences for mitchell....thats insane!
Despite that, the adams / mitchell swap accounted for 5 goals off the top of my head. That's a huge win. Interesting to see how this goes next week.

Hill/ McCreery - a pairing that again was scary. Both got it offensively, but also were super good on the defensive side. both don't actually need to touch the footy to have an impact, yet when they do....they both have high skills.

Cox/ cameron - did exactly what we want if playing both of them. Around the ground marks and controlled taps. Wait and see....as cats dont have the best rucks by any stretch. but they did exactly what we want around the ground.

Bring on port...after how they played this week. I'm intrigued to see how we go.

EDIT: how could i forget Murphy?!?! Left his man time and time again and every single time that i can remember, when he did, he impacted the contest. Was huge for us in that regard.
I really underrate him in his ability to read the play and impact it. As well as direct others....he really was important for us, expecially after Howe weny down.

Just watched Darcy's tackle on the sook again for the 233rd time. I don't understand how it can look better every time.
The best thing is, he stopped and propped and was going to hoist into the stand as a big FU.

Darcy Moore the Librarian.

Interestingly they had an amicable chat on the ground after the game. Henry also talked to De Goey and others and shared a few pleasantries.

They did. I stayed after the siren and focused on Ollie Henry, and our players. Quite a few went up to him, and as you say it was amicable.

I think Henry handled the game well enough. He knew what was coming, and he copped it on the chin. He’s still a kid too, and while I hate that he left us, it’s time to move on.

Although I must say the Pies fans will have some fun with him. The booing and the banter in the crowd will be with us for a while, and some of it was very funny. Him kicking goals tended to shut us up, but not for long. Moore’s run down is already legendary, and it generated a noise I’d like to hear again.😍

We have arrangements with a few teams about which kit we wear independently of which is home / away team.

We always wear the white shorts v Carlton.

It was an Eddie thing, ‘out of the box thinking’ alternative to a clash strip.

We have arrangements with a few teams about which kit we wear independently of which is home / away team.

We always wear the white shorts v Carlton.

It was an Eddie thing, ‘out of the box thinking’ alternative to a clash strip.

It makes sense too. The home team (Geelong) with their light strip and dark shorts creates a clash. Switch the shorts and it’s quickly resolved. Same when Carlton is the designated away team.

Re: Geelong’s 16.1 accurate goal kicking …

… I reckon the reason for that was that their shots on goal were a lot easier than ours - hard to miss when you run into an open goal.

I do wonder if that’ll be a feature of our gameplan - that our defence is very tight, hard for the opposition to get opportunities on goal, but when they get them they’ll be sodas.

Consider this - a ball gets kicked to a one on one. Murphy / Moore runs off his man to help out. 9 times out of 10, the contest is killed and we reset with a throw in. But 1 time out of 10 the contest remains alive with an opposition player totally unmarked in his forward line.

Something to look out for this year - our opposition finding it hard to score, but when they do they appear to be very accurate / easy goals.

… I reckon the reason for that was that their shots on goal were a lot easier than ours - hard to miss when you run into an open goal.

I do wonder if that’ll be a feature of our gameplan - that our defence is very tight, hard for the opposition to get opportunities on goal, but when they get them they’ll be sodas.

Consider this - a ball gets kicked to a one on one. Murphy / Moore runs off his man to help out. 9 times out of 10, the contest is killed and we reset with a throw in. But 1 time out of 10 the contest remains alive with an opposition player totally unmarked in his forward line.

Something to look out for this year - our opposition finding it hard to score, but when they do they appear to be very accurate / easy goals.

Definitely, but they were also slotting some difficult ones too

100% . We conceded a lot of scores where they had the last two or three players over the top from memory. You aren’t going to concede too many behinds when the defence is all behind the offensive player and they’re taking their shot from inside the goalsquare.