Round 1 Team

My 2010 Team:

B: H.OBRIEN (23) - S.PRESTIGIACOMO (30) - N.MAXWELL (26)

HB: H.SHAW (24) - N.BROWN (21) - B.REID (20)

C: L.DAVIS (28) - D.SWAN (25) - A.DIDAK (26)

HF: D.THOMAS (22) - T.CLOKE (22) - D.BEAMS (19)

F: J.FRASER (27) - J.ANTHONY (21) - P.MEDHURST (28)

R: D.JOLLY (28) - S.PENDLEBURY (21) - L.BALL (25)

I: S.O'BREE (30) - S.SIDEBOTTOM (18) - A.TOOVEY (22) - T.LOCKYER (30)

THE REST ARE AS FOLLOW...

E: B.JOHNSON (28) - B.DICK (21) - B.MACAFFER (21) - T.GOLDSACK (22)

J.McCARTHY (20) - C.WOOD (22) - J.BARHAM (21) - C.DAWES (21)

S.WELLINGHAM (21) - S.RUSLING (23) - S.BUCKLEY (22) - L.BROWN (27)

I THINK THAT BLIGHT, ROUNDS, THOMAS AND SINCLAIR (WHO ARE ALL 18) WILL HAVE DEVELOPMENT YEARS AGAIN.

THOUGHTS??

b toovey presti harry

hb reid maxwel thomas

c didak pendlebury shaw

hf davis cloke dawes

f dick anthony tarks

r jolly ball swan

inter beams sidebottom o'bree fraser

well balanced team if i don't say so!

Lets face it, we all know Mick will play his most experienced line-up and in his head at the moment names like L.Brown, Johnson, O'Bree, Lockyer etc etc will be well and truly in his plans.

I'm more interested to see what we line with in the NAB cup as that might give some of our younger stars the chance to shine come rd 1.

I would love to see something like this line-up against the Saints in our NAB cup match:

B: Buckley N.Brown O'Brien

HB: Shaw Reid Maxwell

C: Thomas Pendlebury Wellingham

HF: Dick Cloke Sidebottom

F: Medhurst Rusling/Dawes Anthony

R: Jolly Ball Beams

I: Wood Barham Blight McCarthy MaCaffer Rounds/Blair

I'm surprised to see how many people are leaving Lockyer out of their plans entirely, not even Emergency on half these fantasy teams. What did he do exactly to deserve that total drop in faith?

Well the best sign is that this exercise is so difficult. But I reckon we have 16? must-have players that simply can't be left out

B - Obrien, Presti, ?

HB - Maxwell, ? Shaw

C- Thomas, Pendlebury, Didak

HF - Medhurst, Cloke, Davis

F - ? ? Anthony

Fol - Jolly, Swan, Beams

Bench - Fraser, O'Bree, ?, ?

The centres and followers and largely interchangeable, plus some flankers & pockets count as part of midfield rotations.

Of the older guys to make way, they'd go in order of L.Brown, Johnson and Lockyer, then O'Bree; although you're travelling pretty well if you can just leave Lockyer out.

Of the young guys to get in, I'd go Dick, Sidebottom, Reid, Rusling, Toovey, Wood, Goldsack, JMac, McCaff, N.Brown, Welli, Dawes, Buckley, Blight etc etc in roughly that order.

So filling in my list of undroppables with the best young guys that add a specific aspect to the team...

B - Obrien, Presti, Toovey

HB - Maxwell, Reid, Shaw

C- Thomas, Pendlebury, Didak

HF - Medhurst, Cloke, Davis

F - Dick, Rusling Anthony

Fol - Jolly, Swan, Beams

Bench - Fraser, O'Bree, Sidebottom, JMac.

Emg - Lockyer, Goldsack, Wood.

Toovey has simply earned it, plus is a specialised small shutdown guy.
Reid is the young KPP I most wanna see get some gametime, and is a better match with Presti than N.Brown.
Dick is more of a specialist crumbing forward than anyone else we got, plus he's simply bloody good.
Rusling can be a sensation if he can stay on the park. If he's fit, then straight-in imho. Others will disagree.
Sidebottom was bog against Crows in the semi. No team in the comp could leave him out.
JMac is the other young guy with the potential for great things rather than good ordinary things imho. Whether or no he pushes Lockyer out of the last spot is certainly debatable.

Spot on. One issue though.... NO BALL. Reckon he takes JMAC's spot in your team.... Then it's the same as mine barring positioning :)

Apologies to Tarks. Most unlucky of the rest.... Toovey's position will be the most open IMO. For some reason I reckon Buckley may steal it from him during the season but at this stage it's still his.

I must admit I am a huge Rus fan. IMO should "The Glassman" keep his body in shape, as indicated by Bucks (as forward coach), I think the pies will be keen to put him into our forward structure.... At least I hope this is the case as I (again) hope we haven't perservered with him for so long just to have to plug away in the magoos (to "prove himself"). If uninjured play him.

It would definitely give headaches to opposition as to who to assign their best deep defender. Both JA and him could be 50+ goal forwards.

FB:Harry o Prestigiacomo Lockyer
HB:Shaw Brown Maxwell
C: Beams Pendlebury Didak
HF:Thomas Cloke Davis
FF:Dick Fraser Anthony
FOL:Jolly Ball Swan
I/C:Wood Medhurst Wellingham O Bree
EME:Buckley Dawes Toovey

I'd say Lockyer is likely the single most underrated player in the Collingwood team of this decade. The guy is an absolute work horse, I have no idea why everyone always overlooks him.

Spot on - was in our best 10 players this year.
32 goals 16 and 169 marks in 25 games as a small player is brilliant, not serviceable.
He will not be "dicarded" for an unproven youngster when he is still one of the best players at the club.

In no particular order i would have our best 5 as;
-pendles
-swan
-heath
-didak
-jolly

the next 5;
-davis
-o'brien
-medhurst
-fraser
-ball

THEN;
-cloke
-presti
-anthony
-LOCKYER
-thomas

This guy is not even close to being out of the 22..

Backs Goldsack Presti Shaw
H/Backs Maxwell Reid O'Brien
Centres Thomas Pendles Didak
H/For Fraser Cloke Beams
Forward Leon Rusling Jack Anthony

Rucks Jolly Swan Ball

I/C Sidey Medhurst Mcaffer O'Bree
EMG Lockyer JMAC Dawes

Heaps of pressure on these guys to hold their spots as it should be.
Fraser would have Wood waiting for him to slip up.
Dick & Lockyer could take Medders slot easily.
N.Brown & L.Brown would have Reid under the pump.
Dawes pressuring Cloke & particularly Rusling up forward.
Massive depth @ the club right now. I can't remember it ever being this deep.
No spot for Tooves & Johnno but they will create pressure on others as well. Their disposal worries me the most about those 2.

Ok I will have a crack at this.

The concept team I would like to see developed, but it wont :(

B Maxy Brown Harry The mad Stoppers
HB Shaw Reid Buckley The Rebounding Trampolines
C Sideass Swan D.Thomas Speed Skill and Class
HF Didak Cloke Medhurst 2 Goal Kicking Assisting Freaks and a BIG ANGRY MAN
F Jack Russa Davis Goal Kicking Machines

Foll Jolly Pendles Ball Tough Skill

Bench Beamer Dicky Mcarthy/Goldsack Josh Nice Mix of Tall and Smalls

Emg Toovs Dawes Tarks Obs

The team I think Mick will roll with

B Harry Presit Brown/Reid/Goldsack
HB Shaw Maxy Toovs
C Thomas Swan Didak
HF Davis Cloke Tarks
F Dick Jack Medders

Foll Jolly Pendles Ball

Bench Josh Obs 2 Emg Players

Emg and 2 players for the bench
Beamer Sidey Johno Mcarthy Macaffer Dawes Rusling Woody Buckley Brown/Reid/Goldsack

We have some crazy depth, I honestly think Bucks will want Jack in a pocket and try out Rusling, Dawes, Reid or Brown as FF.. Thats probably critical to our flag hopes, we need another tall forward kicking 30-40 majors.

For all of those people who left Toovey out of their side - did you live in a closet during 2009?

FB:- Harry, Presti, Maxwell
HB:- Jono, L Brown, Shaw
C:- Fraser, Didak, Beams
HF:- Davis, Cloke, Thomas
FF:- Anthony, Rusling, Dick

Foll:- Jolly, Swan, Pendles

Interchange:- Lockyer, Ball, Toovey, O'Bree

Emergencies:- Goldsack, Sidey (unlucky), Wood, Medhurst, Blair, McCarthy, Nathan Brown

F*** this is not easy at all... I can't fit them all in!!!

FU****G AWESOME!

It's amazing looking at all the different teams people have picked and all the players that aren't in their teams. Absolutely amazing depth we just need to keep them together. Need to tell Gold Coast and Western Sydney to **** off because I think they'll try to target a few of our younger players.

This. We're too good.:thumbsu:

It's going to be a classical round one match-up. Should easily be match of the round. Both the Pies and Dogs are extremely evenly matched with good depth. We haven't lost a round one game since 2004, Rawlings' first game for us when he kicked seven goals. Our streak started against you guys in 2005 for Eade's first game in charge, maybe it will end with another Monday clash against the Pies.

Having said that, Johnson plays his 350th game. I certainly hope you are up for it.

round 1 v bulldogs... let's see... might not make sense, but we need a little speed through the middle and down back

goldy- presti - toovey

shaw - maxy- harry

leon - pendle - thomas

dids - cloke - dawes/dick

dawes/dick/rus - anthony - medhurst

jolly - ball - sidey

from fraser swan o'bree reid dick beams wellers

It's going to be a classical round one match-up. Should easily be match of the round. Both the Pies and Dogs are extremely evenly matched with good depth. We haven't lost a round one game since 2004, Rawlings' first game for us when he kicked seven goals. Our streak started against you guys in 2005 for Eade's first game in charge, maybe it will end with another Monday clash against the Pies.

Having said that, Johnson plays his 350th game. I certainly hope you are up for it.

Just about to say the same, should be a great game, Round 1 and already a 8 point game.

heres a Bulldogs side that might be playing Round 1 to help with match ups

FB Harbrow Lake Morris
HB Hargrave Williams Gilbee
C Griffen Boyd Eagleton
HF Murphy Hahn Higgins
FF Johnson Hall Aker
Ruck Hudson Cooney Cross
Inter Giansiracusa Picken Ward Minson

Good luck in 2010 not just round 1, ps not good to hear about Pendlebury

NAB cup and or NAB challenge are going to be vital. Lots of players vying for not so many spots. We play St Kilda on the Friday of the second week. Very interesting. Wonder if we'll give Bally a run?

O'Brien Presty Maxwell
Shaw N Brown Buckley

Didak Swan Sidebottom
D Thomas Cloke Lockyer
Medhurst Anthony Davis

Jolly Pendlebury Ball

Dick Beams McCarthy Fraser

Rounds L Brown Blight
Johnson Reid Goldsack
Toovey O'Bree Barham
Sinclair Dawes Macaffer
J Thomas Rusling Corrie

Wood Wellingham Cook

Blair Francis Reed Keeffe

Hunter Carter McNamara

Backs: O'Brien N Brown Maxwell
Half Backs: Shaw Reid Buckley
Mids: Thomas Swan Didak
Half Forwards: Rusling Cloke Davis
Forwards: Medhurst Anthony Dick
Followers: Pendlebury Ball Jolly

Interchange: Beames, Wood, Goldsack, Wellingham
Emergencies: Presti, O'Bree, Sidebottom

This is by FAR the best team we could field assuming Reid is ready to actually take on the role, otherwise put Presti in.

Willingham ahead of Sidebottom's an interesting one. Would think Steele would be ahead of him, particularly after a full pre-season. Although had it not been for his final performances i'd almost have Wellingham ahead.

I'm not sure if you saw much VFL footy this year, but based on the games i saw i'm expecting huge things from Reid next year and beyond (probably more so 2011). I know he's still young but has the potential to be an elite defender, and now he's got the size to use that potential at AFL level.

Just about to say the same, should be a great game, Round 1 and already a 8 point game.

heres a Bulldogs side that might be playing Round 1 to help with match ups

FB Harbrow Lake Morris
HB Hargrave Williams Gilbee
C Griffen Boyd Eagleton
HF Murphy Hahn Higgins
FF Johnson Hall Aker
Ruck Hudson Cooney Cross
Inter Giansiracusa Picken Ward Minson

Good luck in 2010 not just round 1, ps not good to hear about Pendlebury

Geez this is going to be a good game. Great to see Liam Picken doing well btw - always rated him.

O'Brien Presty Maxwell
Shaw N Brown Reid
Didak Swan Sidebottom
D Thomas Cloke Macaffer
Medhurst Anthony Davis

Jolly Pendlebury Ball

Dick Beams Lockyer Fraser

Great to see so much depth in the Collingwood outfit excited for the years to come with great opportunity for a premiership (not getting ahead of myself) but wanting Steele, Reid and hopfully Dawes to step it up a peg or two.

After Steeles preseason and already huge tank - expecting great things.

Ahh Go Pies!

I quite enjoy putting this team together.
It looks awesome on paper!
I have already done it a couple of times but nothing pumps me up more for the season than this.

B - O'Brien Presti Toovey
HB - Shaw Brown Maxwell
C - Didak Swan Beams
HF - Davis Cloke Thomas
F - Medhurst Anthony Rusling
R - Jolly Pendlebury Ball
INT - Fraser Lockyer Sidebottom O'Bree

Now thats a quality team. No excuses this year.

The back 6 look very stable and is one of our major strenghts IMO.

The midfield has a good blend of different types of players with skill, toughness, pace and x-factor.

For once I look at our Ruck division and have confidence.

Our forward needs Cloke to fire he is the key IMO.
Everything else will fall into place.
Davis, Medhurst & Thomas all hold that x-factot and unpredictablility and can turn a game on its head.
Cloke, Anthony & Rusling are different types of key position forwards which I think is a strength.
Rusling can bring in a new dimension.

On the bench Lockyer and O'bree are there for experience but also bring value.
Lockyer can be played up forward (where IMO will play for most of the season) which can allow blokes like Davis and Thomas to rotate trough the midfield.

Fraser is now our number 2 ruckman and will be played round 1 with Jolly.
I really want Wood in the side and hope we experiment with playing all 3 ruckman with one in the forward line but this cannot be done against the doggies they are too fast.

Sidebottom is a gun and was the first selected on the interchange and stiff to miss out on starting 18.

A few unlucky names.... Wood, Wellingham, Goldsack, Macaffer, Reid, Brown.
But i expect all these guys to be regular features in the side throughout the year as depth players and looking at these names im rather excited with the depth that we have produced.

PUMPED IS ONE WORD TO DESCRIBE HOW I FEEL ABOUT NEXT SEASON

Round 1 Team