Round 12 Carlton V Hawthorn With Live Chat

No, we are not that good a side. That's why a poor umpiring run hurt us. We can't afford it.

But a good side can cop a lopsided free kick count and still beat you. That's why the Swans are the reigning premiers and Hawthorn isn't.
Hawthorn played their worst game of the season tonight and the Blues tried their best.
Oh well... :D

Cheer up. You can still salvage something from the year. At least Garlett will be the All Australian forward pocket. He was awesome tonight. :oops:

Good game. Carlton are starting to look a better side with Malthouse at the helm. Better sustained effort and more accountable. Just lack a little class at the top end to trouble the very best. Still carrying stupid players like Armfield, Robinson and McLean. List needs a little tweaking still.

Agree. They had Hawthorn under the pump for large sections of the night. They just need to optimise their finishing.

If the AFL didn't introduce the stupid sliding rule I dare say Murphy would have played out the game

Mick Malthouse is apparently filthy on the umpires

I reckon he needs to have a look at himself

As a Hawk fan, I was thanking our lucky stars he left Chris Yarran out of the side
(I was hoping like hell he would)

I reckon Yaz probably would've made the difference tonight. He just needed the chance to make amends for last Friday.

I guess we'll never know... :D

lol, nope.

Yep.
So what you are saying is the umpires actively favoured your opposition? They were all there pal, your idea of 50/50 is 5/95 as the game was on the line. There was probably one where I think it was Lake.. can't remember specifically who crumbled at the knees but your bloke was in his back in any case.

They get em wrong (like a missed high tackle on Gibson in the 2nd I think it was which Carlton got away with), but really not much else that wasn't balanced out. Look to your own side crumbling before turning to the umpires :thumbsu:

Mick Malthouse is apparently filthy on the umpires

I reckon he needs to have a look at himself

As a Hawk fan, I was thanking our lucky stars he left Chris Yarran out of the side
(I was hoping like hell he would)

I reckon Yaz probably would've made the difference tonight. He just needed the chance to make amends for last Friday.

I guess we'll never know... :D
I thought you were the Hawks bloke I had some banter with in the AA thread.. why you got 'Melbourne' as your club?

Not happy about the Murphy jaw break and the Hawks runner on the field getting a couple of kicks to him. Also alluded to questionable decisions by umps from what I can remember.

Poor Mick. All the toys come out of the cot then?

Don't blame the umpire for Waite (I'm fairly sure he was the guy) giving away a free kick. It was there.

When in doubt it's always safe to assume it was Waite, probably the most ill-disciplined player in the league and does as much harm to his side as he does good things. Grade-A moron.

LOL. This is the same shit Jade was saying last week about the Dons. Nah, you played as well as the Blues allowed you and even then they didn't even play their best footy.
Haha-Yep apparently everyone plays their worst game of the year against Carlton.
Thought Carlton played well enough to win both matches but didn't play well enough for long enough. And I also thought that was as much to do with their lack of fitness or whatever it is, as the opposition lifting etc.
Not far off it.

LOL. This is the same shit Jade was saying last week about the Dons. Nah, you played as well as the Blues allowed you and even then they didn't even play their best footy.

The Hawks have had the past month off (GWS, Gold Coast, Melbourne, Bye)
They were cherry ripe to get knocked off tonight

The Blues won everywhere but on the scoreboard. Oh well..

Gibbs played well, I thought. He has a bit of talent.

Carlton must have a heap of injuries. It would be hard to see the likes of Curnow, Cachia, Lucas, Bootsma, Armfield getting a game at many other clubs.

Look harder. Plenty of gritty role players at other clubs. Curnow and Cachia are proving to be good stoppers and Cachia gets a bit of the ball as well. Armfield has been great most weeks, has pace to burn, sticks his tackles and now kicks goals. I reckon you just picked the least household names in our side and looked for a cheap possession yourself.

Carlton must have a heap of injuries. It would be hard to see the likes of Curnow, Cachia, Lucas, Bootsma, Armfield getting a game at many other clubs.

I can see redeeming qualities for most of those players except, Bootsma. How that guy keeps getting picked I dont know. Feeding him a couple of cows might fix his size but his dumb footy brain is another matter.

And yet they play a role in Carlton almost knocking off the ladder leaders. They play a role in a team that hasn't lost a game by more than 3 kicks all year. Cachia in particular has played some immense roles the last couple of weeks.

So what you are saying is the umpires actively favoured your opposition?

No, but in no universe were they 'fine' tonight. Fairly amazed anyone could come to that conclusion to be honest. o_O

They were all there pal, your idea of 50/50 is 5/95 as the game was on the line. There was probably one where I think it was Lake.. can't remember specifically who crumbled at the knees but your bloke was in his back in any case

They get em wrong (like a missed high tackle on Gibson in the 2nd I think it was which Carlton got away with), but really not much else that wasn't balanced out.

Suggest you watch again. Your opinion and you're welcome to it, just recognise that you are in the vast, vast minority. Exhibit A: overwhelming assessment from neutrals in this thread.

Look to your own side crumbling before turning to the umpires :thumbsu:

I thought I did :confused: (my 'yep' response above)

No, sorry bud, on the money, the umpiring was indeed a farce.
They missed at least 20 free kicks to Hawthorn

I'm not sure how many Carlton frees were missed. Probably heaps as well.

Yeah, it's a farce when they put the whistles away and don't follow the rules

Idiots in the media such as Brereton, Lloyd, Lyon, Whateley and Mark Robinson think it's good when umpires don't pay free kicks

When in doubt it's always safe to assume it was Waite, probably the most ill-disciplined player in the league and does as much harm to his side as he does good things. Grade-A moron.

Has half the frees against average as Lance Franklin. Yet another cheap shot with no substance. Just buying into the media crap because you don't want to look it up for yourself. It was a desperate tackle, that's all. He never tried to bury the bloke.

Round 12 Carlton V Hawthorn With Live Chat