Prediction Round 13, 2024: Changes vs North Melbourne

With the possibility of no Kelly, Reid, Waterman, Allen (and an underrated one for the broader footy world, no Hunt), we’re as beatable as any team Norf will face. Off a bye, this is it for them (until our game in Tassie later).

Not going to sit here and say this will be a big win and one to be proud of if we tick it off, rather it’s one that will be ****ing devastating to lose, but the fact that we might lose it is definitely something people should consider in anticipation of the team selection.

If Norf don’t win this, they should seriously just do us all a favour. Maybe they can relocate to PNG and earn a bit of cash that way?
I'd love a win but not fussed if we lose (as long as effort is there like it was worth Saints). We are rebuilding and we know we don't have depth, as young guys are still developing. If we lose, we learn from it and focus on getting better for the next wins.

1717483372952.png

This must have been an amazingly poor game of footy. Fortunately my brain has erased any recollection of it.

I'm expecting to get a refresher this week, particularly if it's pissing down. Norf are horrible and our paper thin depth is being exposed.

The bye will be just the trick to get a few sore bodies back in some sort of shape. I reckon we will play a month of decent footy out of the bye and then expect we will trail off quite badly as the youngsters slow down and the seniors perform their annual ritual of the checking out.

Thanks mate. Makes sense given he arrived on Friday, barely learned names, and played a very stripped back ‘lead out of the goalsquare’ role he’d never get at AFL level. Talk of a debut off five WAFL goals is very premature.

Would be closer to a month imo as the role he played in the WAFL is surely not how they’ll fit him into a side with Allen, Waterman, BWill, JWill, Darling, Maric all available post bye.
he cant play in the goal square...where will DeGoey play

Kelly ruled out this week, which basically means Culley has to come in.
It's over. If we lose Yeo we are playing our beagle midfield.

I'd go as far as saying our midfield is beagles quality.

We have seen what our midfield is with Sheed, gaff and Culley in wafl already.

Yeo battling a groin, TK out with a hip, Reid banged up by the MRO, Hunt not back until after the bye.

I reckon we are in all sorts this week.

Out: Reid (susp)

In: Culley

We need to win some footy so I hope it's Gaff or Sheed to the sub and a full game for Trew. Or we drop a tall somewhere but not sure who goes to sub then :/

I actually didn't hate Dom's game on the weekend but it starkly highlighted that he is a cream on the cake player. Very damaging when we are dominating possession and he's able to run forward. Without the footy it's car crash viewing.

Need a huge lift in output from Petch, JJ, Chess etc to break even.

This is not a positional team sheet so much as seeing who is available to play now -

B - Witherden Barrass Hough
HB - Cole McGov Duggan
C - Chesser Yeo Ginbey
HF - JJones Waterman Ryan
F - Cripps Darling Bwilliams
Foll - Flynn Culley Sheed
Int - Gaff Petrucelle Trew Rotham Maric
(Remaining - Jwilliams, Dewar, Hedwards, Hall?)

Out: Reid (susp), Jilliams, Maric, Trew, (Hedwards?)
In: Culley, Waterman, Dewar, Hall, (Rotham?)

Backs: Barrass, Gov, Hedwards (Rotham?), Hough, Duggan, Witherden, Cole
Mids: Yeo, Ginbey, Culley, Sheed, Gaff, Chesser
Rucks: Billiams, Flynn
Forwards: Waterman, Darling, Ryan, Cripps, Petch, Dewar, Jones
Sub: Hall
Emergencies: Maric (held over), Jilliams, Trew

Straight swaps all across the board. Doesn’t seem like they rate Trew enough to give him a full game, so he goes back to WAFL and Hall gets a taste.

Maric to be held out, allows him to get two weeks off to freshen up.

Rotham possibly for Edwards given it’s going to be wet and North aren’t very tall other than Larkey, but I liked Edwards’ game and he helps free up Gov.

Same could be said of you, not realising how bad North are.

That said, I expect us to win, but wouldn't be shocked if we don't (would be very disappointed though)
I think we should be favs but not "we're gonna flog them" favs that's all.

We "should" win but we are falling apart at the seams a bit.

Ripe for the plucking

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

FB: H.Edwards Barrass Cole
HB: Hough McGovern Duggan
C: Chesser Yeo Gaff
HF: Jones Waterman Ryan
FF: Cripps Darling B. Williams
R: Flynn Ginbey Culley

INT: Sheed, Petruccelle, Witherden, Maric, Trew.

Maric to sub.

In: Waterman, Culley
Out: JWill, Reid

Would also accept Rotham for HEdwards even though he's done nothing wrong, just because of the weather and Norf's lack of tall timber.

Wait where is this Yeo groin stuff coming from?? Was it on the injury list?
giphy.webp

Yeo probably time to move on to another club imo.

FB: Hough Barrass Cole
HB: Witherden Gov Duggan
C: Chesser Ginbey Gaff
HF: Petch Darling Jones
FF: Ryan Waterman Cripps
RUCK: Flynn Yeo Culley

INT: Sheed Rotham Maric Trew
SUB: Hutchinson

I wish someone in the coaches box would listen to me and go smaller. Starting team is small up forward and defense, need to move the ball shorter but quicker and alternate angles so it's difficult to read. Rotham to back up Ruck/Defense. Maric to rotate with Waterman Darling. Rotate mids through the forward pocket. Bring Hutch on halfway through the 3rd and stick him in the goal square.

Opposition teams have been very effectively dropping a spare man behind the ball for the first quarters and we've fallen right into the trap. We need to be a little smarter tactically by going smaller in our line-up and changing method of attack to shorter kicks. Need to be a bit more adaptive, flexible tactically. If Simmo doesn't recognise this he needs to go, can't just rely on trusty plan A, the league is moving past this.

This is what I'm hoping but we all know they'll play as many talls as they can and we'll try and just play contested footy long to the talls.

I know they are going to persist with it but BBW for me is the odd man out. He's not good enough to play as a forward over Williams and JWill is more than a serviceable backup ruck like he's been playing.

If Flynn stays fit I can see BBW being forced out due to team balance.