Autopsy Round 13, 2024 : Hawks slay the Giants

Probs for another thread, but;

The 2013 Hawthorn forward line was the best forward line ever assembled.

Breust - Buddy - Puopolo
Gunston - Rough - Cyril

No one can convince me otherwise. The career goal output is insane and the defensive pressure is off the charts.
That forward line is all killer and no filler 😍

Worps has become such a great decision-maker and damaging midfielder this season. His raw disposal stats are down but his impact is way up. His ball use and connection with our fwds has been superb this past month or two.

He's added a new dynamic to his game and has evolved beyond what I think many of us thought he could be as a ball user. Awesome season to date

Great win but some of the worst commentary ever. Imagine if young courageous dermie could see this bitter pathetic old version of himself he questions every free that gos to hawls ignores all the head high tackles we don't get and tp top it off he can't stop yapping on about sicilys free kick what a waste lf oxygen he is. But I'll always remember the old dermie not this pathetic old version.
my avatar is the version I want to remember most hawksfan71

Another fantastic game from this team as they start to grow in belief and build confidence and predictability with their team mates.
Highlights today:
Mabior Chol was incredibly influential in the air and on ground level. What he is able to do is absolutely unreal and love the way that he gives our forward line a focal point.
Calsher Dear keeps leaping at everything and his tackle with a minute on the club sums up this young man. He refuses to give up and be beaten.
Connor MacDonald kicks a fantastic goal on the run and hits a beautiful pass to Chol for his second. Has been in the gun from many Hawks fans but Sam loves what he brings and it is clear to see why.
Josh Weddle and Conor Nash were called upon to ruck the last half of the game. Both were absolutely fantastic in what they did - gave a contest in the ruck and then were able to add so much more around the ground and at ground level.
Will Day continues to show why he has the hallmarks of a potential multiple PCM winner - clever with the ball and tough as nails.
Backline of Scrimma and Frosty continue to just get the job done with little fuss - love their combination and their ability to stand up week in and week out.
Massimo D’Ambrosio takes risks with his kicks that others wouldn’t have the confidence to and hits those kicks effortlessly. Love his work rate.
Sounds trite but loving the culture right now. We have a lot of players who love playing together and having a blast. You can see it - drink up!

and the best part...

Watson and Meek weren't playing

Our best forward is still out injured,

Wingard is improving every week - Ward and Hustwaite are 20 year old mids

From the game

Day is a champ

The rascal pack is most definitely a thing now

Dear is the find of the year and surely must be in the talk for the Rising Star,

Weddle could be the next big thing

Mc Donald is showing what the future could be along with McKenzie and D'Ambrosio

Chol is an absolute steal -

CJ people forget is still finding touch after a long time out of the game -

Impey is heart and soul of this club (along with Moore)

Let's enjoy the ride (some of the comments on the match day board during the game are just plain embarrassing)

ever up and onward
Outstanding post

I've got no issue with Kelli Underwood's insight or understanding of the game, I think it's as good as most.

The thing that literally jars with me (as in, it's the first thing my senses take in) is that Uber-Ocker voice, like Steve Irwin on steroids, but in a higher register and often twice as loud.

Call me superficial, but the accent is the first thing that registers when she speaks. She's fine content wise.

Dermie's excess waffle is way more annoying. I've heard people defend his insight. I reckon about 10% of what he observes is insightful.

The rest is either a) obvious to most people, but said in a very long and drawn... out... statement...which... makes...it... appear... really... thoughtful or b) completely ficticious except for Dermie's belief that him saying it makes it true.

Looking at the scoreboard at halftime thinking with 2 goals on the board, we need to kick 10 in the 2nd half to win. Wasn’t optimistic. But little did I know what I was about to witness exactly that happen! Very enjoyable to watch this team blossom before our eyes.

Been to nearly all games at York Park over the years. That was another classic footy day there, clear and light winds..but gee it was one of the coldest days I have put in. Bloody freezing.

It’s easy to praise when the wins stack up but Kane was on the train very early on bc he liked what Mitchell planned to do and his overall approach.

Cornes has believed despite our form slumps and continued to support Mitch.
Wasn't it approximately a year and 10 weeks ago when he said we had "the least upside" of any team in the AFL, at that stage we were 0-3. He's a flog Kaneo

Looking at the scoreboard at halftime thinking with 2 goals on the board, we need to kick 10 in the 2nd half to win. Wasn’t optimistic. But little did I know what I was about to witness exactly that happen! Very enjoyable to watch this team blossom before our eyes.

Been to nearly all games at York Park over the years. That was another classic footy day there, clear and light winds..but gee it was one of the coldest days I have put in. Bloody freezing.
Yep - hawks have now become a side that can own a quarter and outscore the opposition by 4-5 goals.

Worps has become such a great decision-maker and damaging midfielder this season. His raw disposal stats are down but his impact is way up. His ball use and connection with our fwds has been superb this past month or two.

He's added a new dynamic to his game and has evolved beyond what I think many of us thought he could be as a ball user. Awesome season to date
100% worps 3rd quarter got us back on track

I clearly haven't made my point well enough.

The state of commentary in the AFL is a tragedy, and I agree that the newer generation offer a lot more.

I don't think Underwood and Dermie are good, I just find the seething frustration from people in game day threads and on social media mind numbing and uncomfortable at times. It's borderline unhinged.

This is like 5 of the first 10 tweets i found when i searched for Kelli Underwood.

View attachment 2014327View attachment 2014329View attachment 2014330View attachment 2014331

View attachment 2014323
Well, those are good examples of seething hatred and I’m glad I don’t have to watch footy with them!

But there’s room to be critical in a more measured way. As far as Derm goes, he’s a champion of our club and I’d never forget that. i’m glad he’s in the media and I even enjoy his radio interviews. But he overcompensates when he comments on our games. Gets annoying. Underwood I don’t find any worse than James Brayshaw - I am always disappointed when they are lead commentator (dreadful voices and cliched, conventional input). Some people are just better at it than others. But it’s a subjective thing. No doubt they have their fans otherwise they wouldn’t still have a job. I just wish we had a few more pro commentators like Anthony Hudson, special comments like Jack Riewoldt but they are sure to have their detractors too.

Anyway, it’s a very minor thing. Today we BEAT THE GiANTS and it was bloody brilliant.

Probs for another thread, but;

The 2013 Hawthorn forward line was the best forward line ever assembled.

Breust - Buddy - Puopolo
Gunston - Rough - Cyril

No one can convince me otherwise. The career goal output is insane and the defensive pressure is off the charts.

So fitting to have Breust and Gunston around as the team rises. Luke the stalwart and Jack returning home - bookending amazing careers by shaping the future prospects of this club. Legends.

This might be a bit petty.

But this is why I will always hold these blokes in a higher esteem at the club than Issie.

I love everything that Issie did for our club, but felt he won flags and was an opportunity to give back to the club but went to the arch enemy. Broke my heart. That’s why Breust will always be Hwathorn royalty in my eyes. Could’ve left multiple times but didn’t. He won’t be there for the next one, but his knowledge has been passed on to the next generation.

Autopsy Round 13, 2024 : Hawks slay the Giants