Toast Round 13 = Collingwood 89-51 Melbourne

bob marley smoking GIF

That Melbourne strain hits different

Nick well tagged, extensive injury list, that’s up there with our best win of the year!

Always happy to win, even happier to do it when it’s as a result of 100% buy in from every player in the 23, regardless of where they sit in the pecking order!

Feel like Krueger has been threatening to have a game like that for years now, just couldn’t ever get through a game lol.

Harrison and Lipinski are flying in that half forward role. Crisp and Jaicos lifted in the absence of personnel and Nick’s tag. Entire backline is gelling well, Dean looks good in the system.

Every player played their role, pressure was elite again and we set ourselves up nicely for the next month now. Huge win
Until Naicos copped his knock I was all for subbing Freddy. He’d done enough, lots of confidence to take forward, not wanting to tempt the injury gods.

Glad he got through!

Fly's presser

Last week after the Dogs loss you said you would learn a lot about this group in terms of being able to respond and they did today.

Do you feel the team has taken another step forward in their growth after Nick Daicos' influence was nullified today?

Is Nick Daicos in doubt for the North Melbourne match?

Brayden Maynard played a very good game particularly after all the fallout from last year's final and the emotion around that. What did you speak to him and the group about going into this match?

When you say stuff going on off-field, what do you mean?

With his on-field, did you have to discuss with Maynard in terms of controlling his aggression because you would have expected the crowd and the opposition to come at him?

Do you think the crowd reaction was over the top? He was copping boos pretty much the whole game?

You say your a system-based team, but how much better is the system when you have a target like Nathan Kreuger?

So many times when the game was in the balance, Melbourne would successfully find a Collingwood player in the clear with a turnover pass. How much of that is your system, discipline and pressure and how much of that is playing a team low on confidence?

Can you let us into the "three little pigs" theme?

Harvey Harrison looks like he took another step forward in his development?

Steele Sidebottom had another solid performance. He really enjoyed the occasion.

How symbolic was it that Jack Crisp frequently went up against Clayton Oliver and put him under pressure and had him do undisciplined things at times?

The impact of Jeremy Howe especially in the first five minutes with that amazing smother on Bayley Fritsch when Melbourne had two free players, which then led to a Collingwood goal.

The impact of Jeremy Howe seemed to be integral. How did you see it?

In your mind, what is the Collingwood house. What is that structure made of?

You've got a well-documented long injury list, how pleased are you with your team to be able to withstand it and thrive on it?

Thanks mate, cheers

Funnily enough, I've played golf a few holes behind Steven May... and he cheats. Used the foot wedge to kick it back into a decent lie from behind a tree while his mates (including Dom Tyson) weren't looking. Twice!

Garbage bloke all 'round is ol' Steve
He also uses hand wedges to get out of bunkers, moves balls out of divets, picks up other peoples balls from the 1st cut and keeps them without checking first, cleans his ball on every fairway, picks the ball up from the green after calling a 3 ft putt a "gimme" and always plays a second driver after spraying the first with no penalty. This guy is just the worst piece of garbage imaginable!

A very satisfying team result - including Kreugs' very solid contribution, Hyphen's important return & H's continued excellent development.

Howey back to doing Howey things is huge for us; & Crispy really lifting with Naics getting restricted. Plus, an underrated Darcy C effort vs Gawn.

BUT my highlight of the day?
No, not the admittedly high-flying of Howey & (checks notes) Sidey.
It was Brayden Maynard - very good all day - running right through itsy bitsy Fritzy's 'tackle'! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

P.S. Love ya, Bruzz!

P.P.S. Kudos to the Pies' crowd for drowning out the pathetic rabble's boos.

Yeah well observed, out of all the different aspects of this win, the way we prepare blokes is amazing.

Still thinking about Harvey Harrison. They've given him enough time in the twos, now he's slotted into the midfield and seamlessly plays a midfield role: not a bit part, the whole shebang. I felt he exploited the attention Daicos was getting (lke others, they really share the load) and hurt them with running and goals. He's 20, and from memory he was a third round pick.
He didn't seem to get a lot of possessions - I'd be interested to see his stats. But three goals was important and he kicked them with skill and confidence. Fly acknowledged in his presser that HH wasn't as prominent the week before but praised his contribution against Melbourne. He is a keeper and one who has truly grasped the opportunity presented by injury.

Nice to be back on the winner's list. Somehow the B team manage to plug most of the holes. Really looking forward to getting a few back after the bye. I'm usually a Beau fan but he was flat today -not his usual impact.

7 tackles suggests otherwise. He was super once again and made Dees players crap themselves all arvo.

Also I really hate taggers. Especially ones that hold a player at every stoppage. Umps need to pay a couple of frees against them early so they don't do it all game. Guaranteed they'd stop holding if they get pinged a few times.

Regardless, it was the most ineffective tagging performance of all time. They wasted their best half forward to tag our best player. Meanwhile, Jaics, Crispy, Lippa and our entire defence took them to the cleaners. Naicos still with plenty of clearances and a brilliant goal.

Yup.

He didn't panic and crap his pants today.

He had 3 good consecutive defensive plays. Then was composed the rest of the game.

He needs to learn poise and he showed some of that today.

People have been way too harsh on Chaz Dean. The bloke missed 2 years of footy, yet everyone was expecting prime Matty Scarlett from him. He's a serious footballer, unfortunately he may lose his spot though when Billy F rightfully returns to the backline.

I hope their Docs get put under the microscope. It was obvious that was a serious injury and they should never have let him back on the ground.

4 cracked ribs and a lacerated spleen that needed surgery. But that's ok Melbourne, beating Collingwood means more than player welfare, so send the bloke back out to play.
Melbourne FC trying to end another career all in the pursuit of beating us.

And somehow they'll blame Moore. Haven't read their thread yet, but I wouldn't be surprised if they're not accusing another Pie player of ending a Dee's career.

Hopefully Trac makes a speedy recovery, poor form from the Dee's medicos & no doubt Darcy is feeling awful today too.

Didn’t they already beat us there by 33 points when we had a relatively full strength team?

We were going half rat power in the first 3 games. We're building towards the finals. Sydney needed to fly out of the blocks, we didn't. Going to be great to see how we're going when we play them up on their shithole in a few weeks.

Just on SEN
Petracca has 4 broken ribs, a lacerated spleen and a small puncture to his lung.
And he came back on!!
I enjoyed the heated discussion between Dunstall and King yesterday evening. King was saying that Melbourne had a duty of care to protect Petracca and should not have had him play on. Dunstall disagreed because 'we have the best medicos' and if they thought he was good to go, then they shouldn't be questioned.

Which brings me to the question. How are the club medicos selected and are they equipped to make a decision on a player's wellbeing in a very short time? If this wasn't an AFL game, would a medical decision be different?

A great win, but we were fortunate at times, could have been much closer. Had a lot of things go our way. Dees missing goals, or having them overturned, our players intervening at just the right moment defensively, then at our end we had several flukey goals.

This is contributed to by pressure and team defence, most of their shots came from wide, but in the first quarter especially it went further than that. We were being outplayed but nothing went right for the Dees.

We eventually turned it around and got well on top. The Petracca injury clearly helped but will take that as some overdue karma given our injury list.

When you keep having pot shots from 40 out on the boundary, you aren't kicking too many goals. Their forward system is diabolical.

Hosk return was a big boost today. Hands were great, held some tough marks.

Look forward to a time where Frampton does not need to play forward. Better this week, but still didn't offer much. Guess he may stay there until Cox returns.

Once Checkers is fit then he and Kruges can hold up the Key Forward posts. Frammers goes back to defence, he definitely aint a forward.

Toast Round 13 = Collingwood 89-51 Melbourne