Game Day Round 15, 2022: Sydney v St.Kilda

Yep - if you bring effort and intensity to every game you're rarely far away from "form".

But if fail to turn up (like last week) then that's a much bigger problem.

Because that can only be put down to the coach not inspiring the players or the players not inspiring themselves.
Yep but one bad loss doesn’t mean you have played that way all year or will continue to play that way. Last week has been nothing like we have played this year. If it had been then I’d be calling out effort and inspiring players. I’d say effort has been a huge positive this year. Look at the Melbourne game. We were smashed early but not once did we throw in the towel. Last week if you look at the year as a whole was an abbreviation

The way the team is playing, no chance tonight.
Jones is like a headless chook, King gets triple-teamed and cannot lead.
Gresh runs in circles. Ross has lost form and confidence. Crouch is unsighted. Howard is currently the worst full back in the league.
Dogs and Pies have an easier draw than us, they'll win more games than us, which means we'll be in 10th or 11th on the ladder.
The team can't get their sh1t together so it's game over for this season

Gresh runs in circles. Ross has lost form and confidence. Crouch is unsighted. Howard is currently the worst full back in the league.
Dogs and Pies have an easier draw than us, they'll win more games than us, which means we'll be in 10th or 11th on the ladder.
Good positive stuff. And bloody harsh on crouch and Ross.

Looking forward to this one. No reason why we can't win. We've been a good team this season and beaten some very good teams. This is a great opportunity to do it again. Last week was terrible but that doesn't erase the good football we have played or take away our ability to play good football this week.

Steele back is huge and should give the entire team a lift. The entire backline will be looking to respond after they didn't function last week. The forward line has been put on notice and should be manic with their pressure in response.

Saints by 22.
Membrey to kick 3.
Jones with a season high 32 disposals, 10 clearances.
Long with a huge tone setting, legal bump in the first quarter.

Yep but one bad loss doesn’t mean you have played that way all year or will continue to play that way. Last week has been nothing like we have played this year. If it had been then I’d be calling out effort and inspiring players. I’d say effort has been a huge positive this year. Look at the Melbourne game. We were smashed early but not once did we throw in the towel. Last week if you look at the year as a whole was an abbreviation
Yep that sort of game is excusable and can be dismissed as an aberration - but only if you sitting in the top 4 heading into the finals well clear of the opposition and you are getting ahead of yourself.

We did it when a win would have pretty much put us into the top 4, not 9th as we now find ourselves.

Inexcusable and shows some fundamental issues with coaching and the players that will prevent us from being a genuine contender.

We don't have a forward line so doesn't that cancel out?
Sort off unless Higgo can get back to his best today and Sharman finds it a bit , the reason we started the season well was most weeks we had Max and Jack kicking 3-4 each but there lies the problem , we have relied on Two blokes most weeks to kick a winning score which isn't going to happen too often , Members has been down on form and it was only against the hawks where we had a decent spread of goal kickers and wow look what we did , kicked nearly 150 points .

Yep that sort of game is excusable and can be dismissed as an aberration - but only if you sitting in the top 4 heading into the finals well clear of the opposition and you are getting ahead of yourself.

We did it when a win would have pretty much put us into the top 4, not 9th as we now find ourselves.

Inexcusable and shows some fundamental issues with coaching and the players that will prevent us from being a genuine contender.
Or it’s an aberration of a team that only has the ability of a bottom 4 of the 8 team. Unfortunately I think you like some others have overrated our list. If that’s the case no wonder you refuse to call it an aberration and blame coaches as players. I look at the year as a whole and the current list and think it’s an aberration.

Say we're on a ship together. 8 weeks ago I say I can see land. You and most others
What you said contains very little logic. Perhaps lay off the keyboard once in a while, grab a refresh. And btw the whole idea of getting ahead in most areas of life is spotting things before the wisdom of the crowd. Harks back to survival of the fittest I believe.

Go Saints.
Pretty patronising statement.
Everyone has a different opinion - which is what a forum is about.

It appears you think yours is more relevant, oh and of course correct, than others. Your abrasive style may be the reason a few posters on here strongly disagreed with you when you first posted here.

I don't think many pundits believe we are capable of top 4 in 2022, we started the season as a middle of the ladder list, and a final 7 to 8 at best if we had an incredibly good run with injuries. Isn't it playing out that way?

Agree last week was so different to what we’ve seen every week you have to see as a one off. You’d hope anyway. I’m a little more positive about our ins. I think with the exception of losing Hill’s run the team looks pretty balanced.

I don't think many pundits believe we are capable of top 4 in 2022, we started the season as a middle of the ladder list, and a final 7 to 8 at best if we had an incredibly good run with injuries. Isn't it playing out that way?
As last year proved, the "pundits" have as much or less idea of where the clubs will finish as any half informed one eyed rabid fan.

Until last week I've always thought we were capable of Top 4 this year.

Always believe. In 1985 we lost our first 3 games in a row by 100 points. 110 140 120. On the Monday myself and 3 mates went on a cruise on the fairstar the fun ship. By day two I’d ran into about 50 saints supporters and told them we would certainly win the next week. They thought I was crazy. Proves it only takes 24 hours to really know me. Anyway the saints showed them. We lost of course but we broke our 100 point losing record. And you know what actually happened. We won the second week of our cruise in round 5. Didn’t look as crazy then. My point is never give up hope with our club. The more vital point is never expect to much with our club.
Absolutely spot on plugger. There's been a heap of games over the years where I wasn't sure if I should go and then ended up seeing some amazing wins.
You never know what you're going to get with the Saints but that's just another reason to jump on board each week.

As last year proved, the "pundits" have as much or less idea of where the clubs will finish as any half informed one eyed rabid fan.

So a list you thought was top 4 suddenly has uninspired coaches and players. If I had and worry about that at all they would never be a top 4 lost to me or did it just happen in one game? If it’s just one game surely that’s an aberration? The true meaning of it. The departure from the normal.

I hope you're not giving the players their pre match address tonight.

Mate , i think there are more than a few on here who really believed we were a top 4 team , some sooking because media people didn't put us in their top 4 , we are not a bad side but are still a work in progress with a few areas to fix before we are a real top 4 , not a BF top 4
We are going to need a lot go right to get back into the 8 and stay there , loose tonight and its all over IMO

The more i look at the teams on paper the more I'm convinced they are going to have their way with us , I said the same thing last week against the bombers , I hope I'm wrong this time

Is that a positive then from last week if your expectations are now back in alignment with the pundits

Mate , i think there are more than a few on here who really believed we were a top 4 team , some sooking because media people didn't put us in their top 4 , we are not a bad side but are still a work in progress with a few areas to fix before we are a real top 4 , bot a BF top 4
We are going to need a lot go right to get back into the 8 and stay there , loose tonight and its all over IMO
Our list is still fragile and lacks some depth of quality. Every game we get from Paddy is a bonus, I think the plan was to get 14 games from him this year and it looks like he wants to go one more year so say 14 games if he's lucky in 2023. Then there's an urgent need for another key tall forward, maybe Jack Hayes will fill that spot in 2023, Sharman is way off the pace but could come good long term. We are still a couple short in the midfield. And I'm not sure Howard is our Steven May so we could still be short of a flag type in the backline. I think we are one or two years away from a list that is a sustainable top 4 side but we are trending in the right direction if we keep getting some success with recruitment

Same ones didn’t have Tigers in the 8 the year they won the flag or Melbourne last year. Most had Collingwood bottom 3 as well.

I'm not sure how you thought we could finish top 4 , we have only kicked a decent score once and just about every time we played a good team we shat the bed, I have said it for the last year or two i expected us to be in the 8 or very close to it this year and next year i expect up to be top four and hope im right as this club is draining me

Because everyone else was shit too. We had an opportunity after an easy run in the first half of the season but instead of momentum we fell over.

Good to see everyone up and about. I’m going to stay away from this place for a few days. God speed everyone