Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion

Brisbane have a reputation for targeting our young players with ugly off the ball incidents. Murph, and Kruezer have been targeted in the past. Expect Yarran and Gibbs to be on the end of some "Voss instructions". They've always been intimidated by our large list talent advantage

:)

Haha, when's the last time the blues finished higher on the ladder than the lions?

Parrot, you've done it again!

Parrot wasn;t suggesting we had finished higher, but our list talent, a perfect example is Marc Murphy

Some merit in parrots post I reckon...we have a mass of 'young' talent :)

I think Kruezer will have his hands full wth Mitch Clark ;)

Dont you think?

Who is Mitch Clarke?? and don't you think this Mitch Clarke will have his hands full trying to cover the 206cm very athletic Warnock and the exceptionally athletic and mobile Kruezer??

Kruezer is only half ruckman, the other half is full on machine around the grounds, his fitness, endurance, mobility and ground work is unmatched by anybody his size.

So your logic is that your midfield ran out of legs and couldn't keep up with Brisbane last year so that means that Carltons midfield is superior to the Lions :confused: and that's not going to happen tomorrow night because???

Yes our midfield is superior to that of the Lions, for the second part of 2009 we copped injuries and our midfield had to bare a lot more workload to cover the injuries down back, plus we had a copuple of midfielders returning from injury, and come the last quarter they ran out of steam and your midfield got on top and were able to get in into your forward line more. This won't happen again as our backs are pretty stable and injury free, so the need for our mids to act as defenders and midfielders is required.

Merrett, Patfull and Maguire have O'hailpin, Waite and Henderson covered easily and Carltons taller forwards won't stretch the Lions in any way.

Easily, funny stuff....Maguire is returning from 2 years of no senior footy after a broken leg and is not match fit, plus has lost his speed and won't keep up with any of these players on the lead and is shorter than all of them.

Merrett i like as a defender, but he is more of a body defender, Setanta, Waite and Henderson are all your pacey leading forwards and maybe this will not suit Merritt.

Patful...can't really say anything about him as when i've seen him play against the Blues he really hasn't done anything.

Brown won't match Kreuzer around the grounds and in the lungs??? Brown's fitness is years ahead of Kreuzers...idiot

Browns experience is years ahead of Kruezer not his fitness, how does Brown go with your club time trials?? Kruezer from memory is top 5 or 10 at Carlton. He also won a cycling comp around the hills of serrento in the pre season (you migth say its only cycling) but for a 200cm big man to beat many midfielders is amazing.

Kruezer for his size has an amazing arobic tank, can run all day, play like a midfielder, like to see Brown do that.

In some of your later posts you suggest maybe Kruezer should play on Brown, well that won't happen, but if it did i would expect Kruezer to match him, maybe n strength he would loose but Brown still wouldn't be able to match it with him for the entire contest.

But my point was that Kruezer could and may play the player in front of Brown remembering if the ball comes to ground Kruezer is as good as any midfielder below his knees, so while Browns direct opponent covers him Kruezer can clean up and Brown won't be able to keep up.

Lions won 2 quarters and the Eagles won 2 quarters, hardly a struggle.

Well that is even so you struggled to win the game, probably lucky the Eagles ran out of legs after 3/4 time

Fev's proved he works in the forward line with Brown already. It works both ways, the defenders might be able to get to him more than others but he will be sharing a lot of information about Carlton to the Lions.

Fev has shown nothing in a Lions jumper, anybody can stand in the same forward line, doesn't mean they share.

Sharing of information, since Fev has left we have created a whole new game plan and style. Our forward line structure has been completly changed, our midfield group had changed its dynamics with the inclusion of Mclean.

Our setup has changed with us going more defense and controlling of play.

So how can Fev share any of this as he wasn't at the club.

Fev might know player strengths etc but thats about it, as for our game plan and structure he knows as much as Lara Bingle does....not bloody much!!

Merrett i like as a defender, but he is more of a body defender, Setanta, Waite and Henderson are all your pacey leading forwards and maybe this will not suit Merritt.

Merrett is lightning. Close to the fastest bloke at the club. Does 20m sprints in the 2.7 second range. He's a freak.

That Jamison comment was post match last week when we all thought he was injured, if anyone, it appears to be Bower...we'll see,
bring it on, in the words of a famous coach, if it bleeds we can kill it.

Blues by 8

I can't believe we've picked Anderson again.
Anderson likes playing at the Woolloongabba.

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/74228

Picking Anderson won't cost us the game.

Another game will only give Anderson more game time so he can develop and improve his awareness at the highest level. Bower and Russell used to run around like headless chooks in their first 20 games.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Browne and Armfield will play when they're ready.

Ratten usually plays the younger players for a month or so before dropping them back a grade.

Was very pleased to hear that Carlton had gone in unchanged for tomorrows game. I'm just hoping that Bower might have only had some tightness in his quad, and that has now been rectified. Hell, he could have just been sore after Thursday nights game.

Really hope we can have a win up at the Gabba, and that ODN and MS can sing we are the navy blues long into the Brisbane night.

Hendo is fast once up to speed but do you think he could stick with Fev/Brown on a lead? In a stand up muscle fight Hendo will hold his own and with those long arms could be ideal. But he could be exploited

Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion