Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion

If we were playing on our home turf, with Judd, we'd win this one comfortably. But up there, without the best player in the AFL in our side, plus with a very young inexperienced side learning a new gameplan, it's going to be a lot tougher. We go into this game as massive underdogs.

No you wouldn't.
Judd isn't the best played in the AFL.
So basically, you're conceding a loss already? Poor form.

The media focus is going to be in Fev. Seems he only needs to kick 3 goals in a game for the HUN to get excited nowadays. Gee haven't they changed their tune.
HUN was far from excited. I opened the paper to see full-colour double-page reports on the Saints game, and on the Hawthorn game, yet had to skip past some crap about some irrelevant sport to see nearly half a page, black-and-white article on our game last night. Deserves much more love than he got, given he had 12 shots on goal (with his radar being his only issue.. let's hope he fixes it by Thursday :) ), and has been copping it all pre-season with the usual "he won't work well with Browny, blah blah blah nothing important to say."

We have a better midfield than the Lions - more talent, more leg speed, more upside. They'll need to perform to prevent the Lions 2 veteran KP forwards from getting easy unpressured delivery. Think the Lions other forwards are quite ordinary, so if we contain those 2 we should be fine. Do the Lions have ANY quality small forwards? Hoping Jamo is fit. If Jamo, Thornton and Bower can contain Fev and Brown, we can push Waite forward and apply the blowtorch to the Lions weak defence. Our smalls - Betts and Yarran - are top-shelf talent, and the Lions are going to struggle to contain these 2. Our new 3 KP forward structure looks promising. Setenta, Hendo, and Waite will stretch the Lions short defence, and their athleticism will expose players like Mcguire and Merrett.
You're first tier midfield can probably beat ours when Judd is playing. However, with Brennan's emergence as a top-tier midfielder, Rischitelli playing the game of his life, and up and comers such as Redden and Banfield, I don't think you'll win the midfield battle nearly as easily as you'd like, if at all.
McGrath and Drummond are more than capable of supplying Brown and Fev, so shutting down our mids will not mean the battle is won.
Jamo, Thornton and Bower can 'contain' Fev and Brown... what exactly do you mean by contain? Keep them to a combined 12 goals? 10? 5?
McGrath should do the job on Betts.
Yarran will only be 'dangerous' if left unmanned (and if the Blues are miles ahead... which I don't think will happen.)
Myth # 12947: The Lions have a weak defence.
Our defence is our strong point, and as long as Drummond pulls up (and hopefully Adcock), it'll be more capable of destroying a forwardline built up on potential rather than results (at this stage).

The AFL scheduled this game up there, hoping to get the Lions a win early on for marketing reasons. How awesome would it be if this talented young Blues side spoilt the party and knocked off the Brisbane Retreads against the odds.

That must be why the gave us a 5 day break to your 7.:rolleyes: Go on, clutch another straw, I dare you.

...HUN was far from excited. I opened..

Explain this for a 3 goal return. Do you open your eyes when you read newspapers?

The Brisbane Retreads Achilles is still their slow, predictable ball movement, one-paced aging midfield, and a weak unaccountable defense. The Bulldogs targeted those weaknesses perfectly in the final last year. They've replaced one KP forward with another one, and sold their future by trading away a heap of draft picks for recycled players for short-term gain. They haven't addressed their weaknesses, so should we expect a different result? The current Brisbane situation resembles what happened at Freo a few years back.

:)

You're first tier midfield can probably beat ours when Judd is playing. However, with Brennan's emergence as a top-tier midfielder, Rischitelli playing the game of his life, and up and comers such as Redden and Banfield, I don't think you'll win the midfield battle nearly as easily as you'd like, if at all.
McGrath and Drummond are more than capable of supplying Brown and Fev, so shutting down our mids will not mean the battle is won.
Jamo, Thornton and Bower can 'contain' Fev and Brown... what exactly do you mean by contain? Keep them to a combined 12 goals? 10? 5?
Yarran will only be 'dangerous' if left unmanned (and if the Blues are miles ahead... which I don't think will happen.)
Our defence is our strong point, and as long as Drummond pulls up (and hopefully Adcock), it'll be more capable of destroying a forwardline built up on potential rather than results (at this stage).

This paragraph is borderline trolling, but I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt, because I would rather respond to it than card it.

It should be pointed out that in our recent wins over Brisbane ie R21, 2008, R2, 2009 & R11, 2009 our defence conceded 10, 9 & 6 goals respectively to Brown & Bradshaw, so I'm not really sure that containing Brown & Fev is as important as you would have us believe.

I would be yet to label Brennan a top tier midfielder, on the basis of one game against the West Coast midfield which consists of Kerr, then daylight, then Priddis & some cameos from Masten. Perhaps we can give the same rating to Carrazzo, who collected 40 disposals (at 80% efficiency, compared to Brennan's 65%) against Richmond's midfield of Cousins, Deledio, Cotchin & Martin.

Banfield is a great little trier, but he butchers the ball something chronic (41% efficiency means he only contributed 7 efficient disposals on the night) & Redden only came into the game when the Eagles had run out of petrol tickets (sort of like Brown & Fev, who kicked 4 of their 8 goals in the last quarter, when the Eagles put up no resistence at all).

You say Yarran will only be dangerous when left unmanned. Yarran becomes unmanned because he is so adept at burning off his opponents. This was first displayed last season against Sydney, but on Thursday night, with a full pre-season under his belt, he was able to have a greater impact on the game, not only with his 3 goals & 2 goal assists, but also his 6 tackles & his chasing which resulted in turnovers.

On the one hand you want to devalue our players & then on the other hand overvalue some of your own players. You don't think that perhaps you are demonstrating a touch of bias (not to say our supporters don't do the same thing) in what you have posted?

In that case, I guess that makes Yarran no better than Rich who was given too much space in the final...

I wonder if Yarran will struggle against the likes of Raines and Adcock who aren't great lockdown defenders...

I love how you can throw up Banfield and Redden as players we'll have to watch, yet you haven't paid any respect to Jamison, Betts, Thornton, Bower and Yarran on this board.

Who said some Sydney and Brisbane didn't know anything about football?

No you wouldn't.
Judd isn't the best played in the AFL.
So basically, you're conceding a loss already? Poor form.

HUN was far from excited. I opened the paper to see full-colour double-page reports on the Saints game, and on the Hawthorn game, yet had to skip past some crap about some irrelevant sport to see nearly half a page, black-and-white article on our game last night. Deserves much more love than he got, given he had 12 shots on goal (with his radar being his only issue.. let's hope he fixes it by Thursday :) ), and has been copping it all pre-season with the usual "he won't work well with Browny, blah blah blah nothing important to say."

That must be why the gave us a 5 day break to your 7.:rolleyes: Go on, clutch another straw, I dare you.

Cmon mate, your trying to justify your midfield being about to compete with others, and you mention Banfield- the guy reminds me of Bud Bundy.

get serious.

Rich was shown up last night as well. Maybe now people will realise how overrated he is, just like Palmer before him..........

Brisbane had no bench for the second half, and over half the team cramping- Im getting on the blues as soon as they open the markets.....:thumbsu:

Like Waite on Brennan. Don't know how fit he would be to take on the task but if he can limit his influence then that's a big win for us.

Let the Lions worry about Waite, rather than us using him as a defensive role. I'd much rather someone like a JR play on Brennan, and use Waite up forward.

This paragraph is borderline trolling, but I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt, because I would rather respond to it than card it.

It should be pointed out that in our recent wins over Brisbane ie R21, 2008, R2, 2009 & R11, 2009 our defence conceded 10, 9 & 6 goals respectively to Brown & Bradshaw, so I'm not really sure that containing Brown & Fev is as important as you would have us believe.

I would be yet to label Brennan a top tier midfielder, on the basis of one game against the West Coast midfield which consists of Kerr, then daylight, then Priddis & some cameos from Masten. Perhaps we can give the same rating to Carrazzo, who collected 40 disposals (at 80% efficiency, compared to Brennan's 65%) against Richmond's midfield of Cousins, Deledio, Cotchin & Martin.

Banfield is a great little trier, but he butchers the ball something chronic (41% efficiency means he only contributed 7 efficient disposals on the night) & Redden only came into the game when the Eagles had run out of petrol tickets (sort of like Brown & Fev, who kicked 4 of their 8 goals in the last quarter, when the Eagles put up no resistence at all).

You say Yarran will only be dangerous when left unmanned. Yarran becomes unmanned because he is so adept at burning off his opponents. This was first displayed last season against Sydney, but on Thursday night, with a full pre-season under his belt, he was able to have a greater impact on the game, not only with his 3 goals & 2 goal assists, but also his 6 tackles & his chasing which resulted in turnovers.

On the one hand you want to devalue our players & then on the other hand overvalue some of your own players. You don't think that perhaps you are demonstrating a touch of bias (not to say our supporters don't do the same thing) in what you have posted?

Not at all Trolling.

At this stage, who has posted some consistent, good results, to prove they are a good forward? Betts. And I think McGrath will be able to do the job on him. All the others (Garlett, Yarran, and of course, Hendo) are great prospects. Yep, they could be anything. But at this stage, they are yet to give me enough evidence to consider them guns. Much like Redden and Banfield in our midfield, those guys can do damage, but I'm not going to expect it, and if they do any damage, it won't be of a game-winning magnitude.

The Yarran comments were possibly over the top, but I am adamant he is yet to show he can dominant when the Blues aren't already dominating. He's an exciting young prospect, but so far has not done much to suggest he'll be the one busting open a game stuck in a deadlock.

I know what Brennan is capable of, and when played primarily as a midfielder, he can do freakish things. If you saw last nights game, you'll know doubt know what I'm talking about. If he plays like his did last night, on Thursday, he'll cause a lot of headaches. He's far more likely than Carazzo to take the step into a top-tier of midfielders, imo. Feel free to disagree, that's what discussion is about.

I'm not here to convince you that it's vital you contain Brown and Fev. In fact, I was just responding to Parrot who felt it was neccessary to point out how you will 'contain' Fev and Brown. Perhaps you should direct these comments towards him.

Don't try and twist my words. I never said Redden/Banfield would be tearing your midfield to shreds (because it's fair to say they won't). All I said was that they were up and comers. I expect a a decent game from Redden, and a contribution from Banfield, and they will do some damage if you put all your focus on Black Rich etc. Banfield was actually pretty good in his first game last night, nothing overly wrong with his disposal, but it seemed his nerves were getting to him as he did butcher the ball when he was out in the clear, far too often. It was these bread and butter disposals that he wasn't nailing that caused his efficiency to plummet.

Don't think I've overvalued anyone, or undervalued anyone. (You think I've overvalued Brennan, which could turn out to be the case, but I'm expecting big things. Guess we'll have to wait and see)

To summarise... bring on Thursday.;)

Cmon mate, your trying to justify your midfield being about to compete with others, and you mention Banfield- the guy reminds me of Bud Bundy.

get serious.

Rich was shown up last night as well. Maybe now people will realise how overrated he is, just like Palmer before him..........

Brisbane had no bench for the second half, and over half the team cramping- Im getting on the blues as soon as they open the markets.....:thumbsu:

Was playing in defense for a large portion of the night, still gather 18 possies. Was handballing when he should've been kicking, seemed to be playing a different role. Hardly say he's been 'shown up'.

(Also, Palmer did have a very good first year- they don't give you the Rising Star for nothing. You do realise he was injured was most of last year?:confused:)

Wow. Did you read what I said, or did you just click reply, after reading the words "midfield" and "banfield"?

Where did I state he'd be the key to winning the game? Or one of our top mids? I didn't. So please stop pretending I did, it's a very weak response.

He's capable of doing a few good things. He's a fringe player, but will pop up and do his bit if all your worry about is Black, Rich, Riska etc.

I said he was an up and comer. Maybe I'm behind in the times, but if I had to define 'up and comer' I'd say it means "a young player who's shown some good things, and is capable of playing a decent game". I sincerely apologise if you associate "match-winner" with 'up and comer'.

Let the Lions worry about Waite, rather than us using him as a defensive role. I'd much rather someone like a JR play on Brennan, and use Waite up forward.

I thought the idea of Waite on Brennan was strange. Tough assignment trying to follow Brennan around after a knee reco?

Agree his best chance of hurting us is up forward. He wasn't too shabby for a first game back, against the Tiges.

Not at all Trolling.

At this stage, who has posted some consistent, good results, to prove they are a good forward? Betts. And I think McGrath will be able to do the job on him. All the others (Garlett, Yarran, and of course, Hendo) are great prospects. Yep, they could be anything. But at this stage, they are yet to give me enough evidence to consider them guns. Much like Redden and Banfield in our midfield, those guys can do damage, but I'm not going to expect it, and if they do any damage, it won't be of a game-winning magnitude.

The Yarran comments were possibly over the top, but I am adamant he is yet to show he can dominant when the Blues aren't already dominating. He's an exciting young prospect, but so far has not done much to suggest he'll be the one busting open a game stuck in a deadlock.

I know what Brennan is capable of, and when played primarily as a midfielder, he can do freakish things. If you saw last nights game, you'll know doubt know what I'm talking about. If he plays like his did last night, on Thursday, he'll cause a lot of headaches. He's far more likely than Carazzo to take the step into a top-tier of midfielders, imo. Feel free to disagree, that's what discussion is about.

I'm not here to convince you that it's vital you contain Brown and Fev. In fact, I was just responding to Parrot who felt it was neccessary to point out how you will 'contain' Fev and Brown. Perhaps you should direct these comments towards him.

Don't try and twist my words. I never said Redden/Banfield would be tearing your midfield to shreds (because it's fair to say they won't). All I said was that they were up and comers. I expect a a decent game from Redden, and a contribution from Banfield, and they will do some damage if you put all your focus on Black Rich etc. Banfield was actually pretty good in his first game last night, nothing overly wrong with his disposal, but it seemed his nerves were getting to him as he did butcher the ball when he was out in the clear, far too often. It was these bread and butter disposals that he wasn't nailing that caused his efficiency to plummet.

Don't think I've overvalued anyone, or undervalued anyone. (You think I've overvalued Brennan, which could turn out to be the case, but I'm expecting big things. Guess we'll have to wait and see)

To summarise... bring on Thursday.;)

....I must say a few of these Brisbane posters are coming across as over confident, I am hoping your team is as well...

Bring it on

......I know what Brennan is capable of, and when played primarily as a midfielder, he can ....

Brennan spends too much time trying to make himself look good by picking up the ball with one hand, and then fails at the basic skill execution that costs his team. He's been doing that selfish rubbish for years. Over-rated. Don't think anyone will be worried if that clown moves into the middle. Needs to get serious about his footy.

:)

Our form up at the Gabba in previous years has been great and I think that will continue on Thursday night.

Whilst we only beat Richmond, we looked pretty good. Our skill level was as good as I have ever seen it and if we continue that, a lot of teams will struggle to beat us this year.

We need to ensure we stop guys like Black, Power and Rich having first use of the ball out of the guts, but they also need to ensure they stop our guys like Murphy, Gibbs and McLean, who are just as damaging.

Give AJ a real role this week. Let him follow Power or Rich around.

I think the most important thing we can do is play our own game and not get too defensive, because if we do, we will struggle to kick a winning score. Let the Lions worry about our unpredictable forward line... if we get first use out of the guts, we won't have to worry about their predictable forward line as much.

Don't underestimate all the hype of Fev vs Carlton either. Our boys will be pumped for this game and looking to give their old mate something to really think about, particularly after his silly comments a few weeks ago. They will be out to make him hurt about his behaviour at the Blues, which lead to him being traded to a team he didn't even want to shake hands with at the end of the Elimination Final last year.

Blues by 5 points :D

I reckon our backs can hold their forwards, yes first use in the guts, just get it down there, Robbo, Eddie & Yarran are going to create massive headaches for Voss, fast, and deadly...we have so much versatility now, even Thornton can go forward and Hendo down back, maybe even on Brown ?? We can win at the Gabba and the boys will be pumped there;s plenty of motivational fodder around.

Let the big feral see what he's missing out on.

Blues by 15

Brisbane forward line is largely useless save Brown and Fevola. If we can nullify those two we are a massive chance.

I think our defence is seriously underrated. I think Jamo is worthy to keep Fev to 3 goals or less. Thornton has shown he can keep JB honest too. I think Bower will be really important going 3rd man up and running off the two tall forwards.

Regarding our forwards, i think Waite has the ability to destroy Maguire in the athletic department. Merrett should be a massive challenge for Setanta. Patfull on Hendo too.

If we can maintain our intensity as in the 1st quarter vs Richmond there's no reason why we can't win.

Hate to be on the negative, but this weeks match-up presents a hundred and one headaches for our coaching staff this week. Here are some of the bigger ones, for mine;

Black / Power / Rich can all break games apart
Do our options in Gibbs, Murphy and Walker have the aerobic capacity to be effective in their own right whilst still providing enough defensive cover to nullify these guys?

Merett / McGrath / Adcock are solid, reliable defenders
They are decent cover for any size forwards, Henderson, Setanta, Yarran and Carrazzo could well find themselves becoming increasingly frustrated throughout the night. This leads me to think Waite will be a necessity down forward (if not suspended tomorrow night), but what then to do with...

Brennan, their very own 'x-factor'
As influential as Waite can be, this bloke can be too. Do we play them head to head a la against Richardson R1 '09 or do we try and lock him down with someone like Russell. Personally, this match-up could be a real game breaker.

Brisbane forward line is largely useless save Brown and Fevola. If we can nullify those two we are a massive chance.

I think our defence is seriously underrated. I think Jamo is worthy to keep Fev to 3 goals or less. Thornton has shown he can keep JB honest too. I think Bower will be really important going 3rd man up and running off the two tall forwards.

Regarding our forwards, i think Waite has the ability to destroy Maguire in the athletic department. Merrett should be a massive challenge for Setanta. Patfull on Hendo too.

If we can maintain our intensity as in the 1st quarter vs Richmond there's no reason why we can't win.

That's the problem. ain't it?

They had 17 shots on goal between them last night, and nullifying them is something that every team will be wanting to do. Easier said than done.

You put 2 on Fev, then that leaves 1 for Brown. Brown will comfortably beat one opponent, and Fev is used to having 2 on him, anyway, and still kicks goals. You have one on Fev, 2 on Brown, Fev will have a picnic, and Brown is also used to having 2 on him, anyway.

That's the problem, teams usually have a capacity to double team one key forward, but trying to double team 2 is a much bigger issue - it means 2 oppositions are left to run loose.

If Fev & Brown have a big night, we're in trouble. The key to stopping Fev & Brown is suffocating supply, or forcing them wide. This can be done against Brisbane, but it depends on how our midfield & forwards contribute in suffocating supply

The big advantage we have on every other side in the competition is that we know Fev's weaknesses, and Jamo would have played on him a number of times at training. I know it was only a practice match, but Jamo did a great job on Fev. This is why he a must to play this week. Thornton to go to Brown, and given that these are the only two players Brisbane go to, we can pretty much use Bower to help the other two defenders when he ball goes inside 50.

I'm not sure I can handle another close game against the Lions. 3 of the last 4 games have been decided by 6, 6 & 7 points respectively. I don't know if my heart can cope. I'm not getting any younger.
I could. My worry is us sitting on our laurels after an easy win and getting blown away. Our gap between good and bad has been huge. Ratts better fire them up

Even though we've beaten the paddlepops 3 out of our past 4 meetings .. we have a secret weapon at our disposal:

84191800.jpg

He will aid us in giving our midfielders first crack at the ball.

Fev and Brown had 18 shots on goal between them, so it'll be very interesting to see how you guys cope with them. You haven't got a defender as good as Glass, though your 2nd best and 3rd best defenders would be better than West Coasts.
You've seen Bradshaw taken to the cleaners enough times by Jamison the last couple of years to know this is BS.

Glass was one of the best FB's in the league, and on bigger lumbering FF's (if they exist?) will do well still, but since his groin issues has lost a yard over the last couple of years and hasn't played a good game on Fev since.

The issue for you is that despite having two forwards "on fire", we have seen this before........its the other forwards and other avenues to goal that have hurt you. Substituting Bradshaw with Fev doesn't change this.

If Jammo beats Fev I think we can win this game, because I think we have you covered in the midfield and you jave no good match ups for our small forwards. Tough ask going up there so early in the year, but your 5 day break will help us.

Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion