Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion

I'd be amazed if Adcock played on Thursday night. He could barely put any weight on that ankle, and with a 5 day turnaround, the Brisbane medico's would have to be miracle workers to get him on the ground Thursday night. Not good news for Buchanan who misses, but one less dangerous small forward we have to concern ourselves about.

I truly believe that the very humid conditions that Brisbane played in on Saturday night will impact their ability to run out the second half, particulalry since most sides have trouble getting through games early in the year when they are trying to build match fitness.

Adcock was doing sprints along the boundary in the last half, so I assume it wasn't anything major. However given the short break I doubt Voss will play him, although I'd expect him to be named.

Wow, that's a real surprise. I was flicking between the two games, so I must have missed that. Just looking at the incident, and that pain he looked like he was in, I thought he'd be missing this week no doubt about it.

Does anyone think we may set up for two sets of double teaming in marking contests?

Jamison & Thornton for Fev.
Bower & Russell for Brown.

Russell is quite a card for us these days as we now have another backman along with Bower who can muscle up and jump with the talls as well as run with the smalls.

It just feels to me that Ratten may use an interesting type back structure for this game

Might do Harks, what do you think about maybe Henderson rotating down back and Thornton going forward ... like to see Henderson on Brown.

We have the talent to do this

If you drop Anderson now, he won't develop and learn by running around with some hacks at VFL level. More games and time at the highest level will only see if he is up to it.

I'd have to say I agree with this. He had a career high 16 possessions last week. We can't read too much into that except that Brisbane are a tougher opponent than the Tiges.

Now that we've given him the opportunity, give it a little while longer. I don't rate Joe one iota. Clearly the MC do; let's find out once and for all long before the business end of the season whether he's worth the investment.

You've seen Bradshaw taken to the cleaners enough times by Jamison the last couple of years to know this is BS.

Glass was one of the best FB's in the league, and on bigger lumbering FF's (if they exist?) will do well still, but since his groin issues has lost a yard over the last couple of years and hasn't played a good game on Fev since.

The issue for you is that despite having two forwards "on fire", we have seen this before........its the other forwards and other avenues to goal that have hurt you. Substituting Bradshaw with Fev doesn't change this.

If Jammo beats Fev I think we can win this game, because I think we have you covered in the midfield and you jave no good match ups for our small forwards. Tough ask going up there so early in the year, but your 5 day break will help us.

Hmm. Maybe I've got outdated views on Glass? I'll have to watch him a little more.

That has been an issue for a while, but of the new recruits, Staker can snag a few as the third tall (1.3 on the weekend), Buchanan...well, he's not playing. Poo. Banfield kicked 1 on the weekend, and should've had two (nerves if I ever saw them). Him and Rockliff (if replacing Buchanan) could each very well pop up for 1 or 2 goals. And of course, I haven't forgotten Power. He made his name as a small forward, and his 3 goals from last week suggest he might be spending a lot more time up forward than in recent years. He's no doubt a very formidable small forward.

Yep, if Fev only kicks 1-2, Brown will have to kick a minimum 6, or we'll likely lose the game. McGrath is the best small defender we've got, and he's pretty good as far as small defenders go. I'm predicting he'll get the first crack at Betts (who's been in pretty hot form). With adcock out, we do struggle for quality after that, and might be relying on Raines' speed to follow Yarran around, or maybe a youngster in Hawksley. Definitely not the preferred options, though.

Should be a cracker, as games between these two sides normally are.

Lions by anything.

EDIT:
Read a few comments from a few different supporters saying the blues have better rucks. How many of you actually agree with this?

I don't think it's even arguable that Kreuzer is better than Clark, and it certainly seems as though Leuenberger is ahead of Warnock.

Would've thought it went like this:

Clark > Kreuzer > Leuenberger > Warnock

Agree/disagree?

Some of you guys actually want to start looking at walkers inside 50 accuracy, was very ordinary against the tigers, sorry, was woeful(corrected for accuracy). Read the comment(couple posts back) that it was no worse than Carrots and Waite, may I add Scotland to that list as well. Now add all the inside 50's up that these guys butcher, it aint pretty.

You have to make the most of every inside 50, some of these guys are less than a 50% to hit a target when going inside 50. Not suggesting its easy, it obviously isn't, but I cringe everytime walker looks to do it. TBH, on the basis of the richmond game, walker could not get near a target when going inside 50.

I dont care what pick he was, just hit the bloody target sometimes.

He is a great athlete and has plenty of guts, but unless he is doing a run with role I would not have him in a creative possie, he does not have the quality to pull it off.

Flame away if you like, but for christ sakes denial is not a good thing.

"Read a few comments from a few different supporters saying the blues have better rucks. How many of you actually agree with this?

I don't think it's even arguable that Kreuzer is better than Clark, and it certainly seems as though Leuenberger is ahead of Warnock.

Agree/disagree? "

Right now would agree mate, end of the year tho we could revisit this and it may have changed.

Agree/Disagree?

After watching a replay, I thought Anderson was solid and a bit more attacking than he has been in the past. Made a couple of errors, but he didn't have any support when he was caught holding the ball. Kicked well on the run after taking them on like Armfield and spotting up his target.

Might play on Banfield because he's quick enough.

Anderson did everything asked of him, so we really live by the perceptions we've already formed of a player.

Walker played his role in a win and tackled hard without spending a lot of time in the middle.

What more you could want from a guy who has been to hell and back since 2007?

It's a positive that he's out there again.

They'll push up harder than Richmond, but we should be able to respond to an increase in tempo.
I'd like to see Robbo run through Fev and knock his lights out ..thats how much respect i have for the moron.
I'd give Robinson five red bulls before the game and tell him he's drinking Powerade.
Brennan's capabilities terrify me.
Give the challenge to Walker to man up on a player with size, athleticism and endurance.

I think our mids have to get first use of the ball & deliver it quickly & effectively into our forward line for us to have any chance.
Our forward line is still a piece in progress so to speak so it is going to be tough.
I think it is hard enough stopping one forward (Brown) let alone adding fev to that now....what a job our backline have.

I think this will be a close game & they are saying there is going to be rain during the day & storms at night (on the brissie board) so expect wet conditions.
As much as I hate to say this.... I am seriously finding it hard to say who is going to come out on top in this one .... heart says Carlton ... but mind says brisbane (sorry)

Walker played his role in a win and tackled hard without spending a lot of time in the middle. Did that, did it well.

What more you could want from a guy who has been to hell and back since 2007? Has been tough for him, no doubt. What do I want? I want him to show some basic kicking skills and hit a bloody lead, if he can't, there is little point him being out there unless it' to run with someone.

It's a positive that he's out there again. Not if he can't kick when it matters it isn't.

Give the challenge to Walker to man up on a player with size, athleticism and endurance. IMO this is the most effective way to use him, its playing him to his skill levels, his handball is good, win it and dish it off.

Thats what I reckon.

Its death by a 1000 cuts, walker shanks one, then Carrotts, then scotland, every shank or floaty punt is a lost opportunity, whilst the amount of inside 50's is important, its that stat combined with the amount of effective inside 50's that count.

I think we were annoyed with the kicking in the preseason to an extent where we are looking for bad kicks now to complain about. Our kicking against the Tiges on thursday was much better than usual, I'm happy with it

Some of the kicking was great, but inside 50 from walker was woeful on 3 occassions (3 out of 3), Carrots was okay on his right, his left was woeful, and Scotland was ordinary on a couple of occassions.

You say "complain", I say state the obvious. You may choose to ignore that however, god knows, we all have for years.

Carrots looked better than the crows preseason game. Now that was shocking..

Has been tough for him, no doubt. What do I want? I want him to show some basic kicking skills and hit a bloody lead, if he can't, there is little point him being out there unless it' to run with someone.

It's a positive that he's out there again. Not if he can't kick when it matters it isn't.
Who put the ball out in front of O'hAilpin with a perfect kick from a stoppage?

Carlos fumbled the mark after taking front position.

CP would have blamed Walker for that stuff up and hitting the kick perfectly.

Walker hit another leading teammate who was good enough to mark his good kick.

Crap post mate.

I love that you think this player can't kick at all.

[YOUTUBE]uZKHaslQTZk[/YOUTUBE]

Walker occasionally kicks poorly running flat chat.

And who doesn't?

Only the elite players who have Walker's pace.

Walker has a stronger leg than Carrots who kicked floaters over forty to fifty metres.

Simpson made a mess of one kick on the run, yet these players still get the pats on the back.

Is this a Carlton board or a make a mountain of a mole hill board?

Read a few comments from a few different supporters saying the blues have better rucks. How many of you actually agree with this?

Agree/disagree?

Disagree.

More than happy to compare hit-outs at the end of the night however.

Also, I know which duo Id rather have in my side for the next ten years.

Who put the ball out in front of O'hAilpin with a perfect kick from a stoppage?

Carlos fumbled the mark after taking front position.

CP would have blamed Walker for that stuff up and hitting the kick perfectly.

Walker hit another leading teammate who was good enough to mark his good kick.

Crap post mate. Really, well you probably nearly have his kicking career highlights in that 3 minute video, want me to edit together a 20 vid of shanks??

I love that you think this player can't kick at all. Love it all you want, on average, when it counts he can't hit a target inside 50, are you blind, did you actually watch the game against the tigers. 3 attempts, 3 shockers going inside 50 to a leading forward. Dont throw a 3 minute vid showing a couple of decent kicks, I love how you delude yourself.

[youtube]uZKHaslQTZk[/youtube]

Walker occasionally kicks poorly running flat chat. Is a difficult kick, I agree, but...occasionally? WTF?? Going inside 50, hitting a leading forward, more often than not, can't do it.

And who doesn't?

Only the elite players who have Walker's pace. Walker is not elite and never will be, does not have the skills, huge heart can play a role.

Walker has a stronger leg than Carrots who kicked floaters over forty to fifty metres. Agreed, still struggles to hit a target though going inside 50.

Simpson made a mess of one kick on the run, yet these players still get the pats on the back. Simpsons kicking can be terrible at times, better than walkers tho.

Is this a Carlton board or a make a mountain of a mole hill board? lol, mate, your th one with the video showing a couple of accurate kicks inside 50 from walker, hold on to it, wont see one of those every weekend :)

If you choose to ignore the obvious thats well and good, Walker will throw in the odd gem of a game because he is a superb athlete, if only he had the skills of a superb footballer.

Some of You guys make me laugh, ignore the problems and all is well, we just wont talk about them...shhh :)

Walker's kicking may have improved a little but I'm buggered if I can detect it. Pretty disappointing disposal again Thursday night. Not much has changed unfortunately except his shoulders are holding up which is great for him.

Preview Round 2 - Brisbane vs. Carlton Prematch Discussion