Review Round 2 Vent/Roast thread. Post away.

I thought on that for ages and hope it happens through the year, even if it means we have to play some younger bodies
I thought Boyd held up the ball too long when he got his hands on it and the opposition would position players in front of the ball and he didn't have an option to move the ball forward because he is just not skilled enough by foot to hit up a target

I agree Boydy is the main offender, he also let the older, lighter and shorter Harvey beat him in the air on our Half Forward Flank then burn him off for pace and it ended in Harvey goaling

I hope Clay Smith is close to a return and perhaps Bontepelli should be considered for next week.

I agree with others about Talia returning also

I agree Boydy is the main offender, he also let the older, lighter and shorter Harvey beat him in the air on our Half Forward Flank then burn him off for pace and it ended in Harvey goaling

I hope Clay Smith is close to a return and perhaps Bontepelli should be considered for next week.

I agree with others about Talia returning also
I actually mixed up Jong with Boyd a couple of times, because of the way they go about it
I think with some work on his skills and increased fitness he has a bright future

I remember someone was angry that Jong missed a tackle I believe after Murphy kicked the clanger from the kick out and I thought it was impressive a lot of the game that he even got near some of the players, great closing speed :thumbsu:

Would be exciting to see Bont get a go, wouldn't want to play too many young players all at once just yet though

People being harsh on Jones. Being at the game he did work hard. Also i can't blame him waiting for the hanger because he has no where to lead to as both Crameri and Stringer for most of the game just stood still and failed to lead which meant Jones had nowhere to run. Crameri worries me. For a guy who is meant to have massive endurance he looks gone 5 mins into the game and doesn't lead. His got a few weeks to turn it around otherwise his got to be dropped.

We overate our players too much. They try hard put in effort but a lot just aren't good enough. Even our champions are not true champions.
Look at our past captain. A good player with limitations with his skills. Compare that to Harvey from North. Not in the same class.
Now we have a Boyd clone in Wallis. Another good goer but will never be really good enough. Too slow and can't hurt you. Again will not win us games like Harvey did yesterday. If Wally want to be a good tagger he has to also hurt his oppenants. 8 meaningless possessions, not sure how that is truly making us a great side.
We need to become more cut throat and advance our progression as a side. Murphy probabaly the only player who would beat his opponent for skill 90% of the time. Where are our game changing players. They are not there. Hanging on to good people may get a competitive team but they are not winners. Story of our history really.

We overate our players too much. They try hard put in effort but a lot just aren't good enough. Even our champions are not true champions.
Look at our past captain. A good player with limitations with his skills. Compare that to Harvey from North. Not in the same class.
Now we have a Boyd clone in Wallis. Another good goer but will never be really good enough. Too slow and can't hurt you. Again will not win us games like Harvey did yesterday. If Wally want to be a good tagger he has to also hurt his oppenants. 8 meaningless possessions, not sure how that is truly making us a great side.
We need to become more cut throat and advance our progression as a side. Murphy probabaly the only player who would beat his opponent for skill 90% of the time. Where are our game changing players. They are not there. Hanging on to good people may get a competitive team but they are not winners. Story of our history really.
They are like opposites. Harvey's weaknesses are stuff like inability to win his own ball, selfish etc. Still a champion but has as many weaknesses as Boyd, just different ones.

I reckon we lack one player with a bit of X-factor in the forward line.
Last year when we had a late run of wins we had Jarrad Grant running rings around opposition backmen and i don't think we should underestimate how important he was in those wins.
The only other player we have with that X-factor is Murph.
We look shithouse at the moment - I think it's going to be a long year.

Dont see how people can blame macca for not playing Talia, if we knew the reason and you didnt agree well fair enough but we don't, for all we know he might have ****ed maccas daughter...

Stevens proving to be a handy pick up, another 24 touches and played pretty well.
Stevens has been very good. Going well. I actually like that he takes the game on. We've got too many "quick give to bloke standing still, or chip sideways" guys.

Hmmm ok
2 rounds in and already frustrated, how did we run out of legs so early into the season?. I hope we can show a bit more for Sunday against Richmond
:)

All due respect to BMac but Eastern Wood is and never will be a good defender. His athleticism and speed are his best attributes. His first instinct is to be attacking. His defensive football nous just does not come naturally to him. Of course he and the club can work on this but as sure as night follows day, by the time he is any good at it, there will be someone just as good readily available who is naturally defensive. To be frank, Jong is already more suited to the role Wood is playing.

Wood's most natural position is the wing, playing Hawthorns Isaac Smith type role. Then he offers some real offensive running and even X factor.

And whatever is up Bmac regarding Talia? His reaction clearly indicates there has been widespread rumblings about Talias non selection. I am convinced whatever it is, Bmac is being pigheaded about this and its going to require some humble pie on his behalf to repair relationship. There is simply no fair justification for not playing Talia.

And if it is about teaching him some kind of lesson than he had to play Austin, or Redpath - but he can't because he knows Talia is well ahead of them. This is as mysterious as the missing MH370. Someone said something about Talia and the lack of body contact, well until yesterday's game, Shaun Higgins has managed to avoid body contact for 8 years. JJ s body contact is erratic. Every player has weaknesses. Currently the amount of senior players and their continuous plain lazy disposal is driving me mad.
I love ya yebiga but the bolded is a load of crap. The coach shouldn't cow tow to fan's opinions if he believes a young player hasn't worked hard enough to get a game. That's exactly how you breed unrest in a team and it's also how you get a young bloke to pull his head in a become a star rather than a player who coasts along having an okay to good career. Our club has let the inmates run the asylum for too bloody long. Talia will get a game when he deserves one, and that's how it should be. Austin and Redpath are rookie listed. Fletcher Roberts is in the same boat as Talia and Williams isn't ready. Wood or Young are our best options, and Wood played well defensively, his problem yesterday was his offensive game. I'm actually not sure where the myth of him being any good offensively has come from. One Collingwood game where he was injured at 3 quarter time.

Higgins line was an undeserved cheap shot.

After just watching the replay, loved the effort from the boys and I certainly agree there has been an improvement defensively. Our ball use and ball movement not so much. I've left out the forward line because it hardly seemed like we got a clean entry inside 50 and there really wasn't many quick breakaways. I thought while Jones didn't have the greatest of days he still put in a lot more effort then he has in the past. He chased hard defensively, impacted the contest and gave us at least something to kick to. It would be disappointing to see him dropped after that effort. Stringer I thought tried hard, gave us something, just looked spent. Crameri was the one that really needed to work harder today. His work rate over at Perth was very good I thought, so not sure what happened here (gastro maybe?).

To our ball use/ball movement. Shocking, shocking, shocking. We look anything but assured and confident with the ball in hand with the exception of a few players. We carried too many poor users of the footy last week, then we brought in Jong this week. I could accept playing all of Boyd, Picken and Wallis in the team this week because I felt our guys in the VFL were either underdone or needed some form. Not sure why we had to bring in Jong as well. Bontempelli sounds ready, he needs to replace one of these guys for mine.

Some positive news, our back line held together well and our matchups were good with what we had. Macca clearly wants another tall defender down here, but is taking the hard line approach. That's fine with me. I have to applaud the Picken on Thomas matchup as well, Picken I thought would struggle.

Anyway I was expecting this kind of start to our season, so I'm not too worried yet.

After just watching the replay, loved the effort from the boys and I certainly agree there has been an improvement defensively. Our ball use and ball movement not so much. I've left out the forward line because it hardly seemed like we got a clean entry inside 50 and there really wasn't many quick breakaways. I thought while Jones didn't have the greatest of days he still put in a lot more effort then he has in the past. He chased hard defensively, impacted the contest and gave us at least something to kick to. It would be disappointing to see him dropped after that effort. Stringer I thought tried hard, gave us something, just looked spent. Crameri was the one that really needed to work harder today. His work rate over at Perth was very good I thought, so not sure what happened here (gastro maybe?).

To our ball use/ball movement. Shocking, shocking, shocking. We look anything but assured and confident with the ball in hand with the exception of a few players. We carried too many poor users of the footy last week, then we brought in Jong this week. I could accept playing all of Boyd, Picken and Wallis in the team this week because I felt our guys in the VFL were either underdone or needed some form. Not sure why we had to bring in Jong as well. Bontempelli sounds ready, he needs to replace one of these guys for mine.

Some positive news, our back line held together well and our matchups were good with what we had. Macca clearly wants another tall defender down here, but is taking the hard line approach. That's fine with me. I have to applaud the Picken on Thomas matchup as well, Picken I thought would struggle.

Nice contibution Chris Grant .

The actual effort from the players was better than OK, just the decision making and last quarter fitness was concerning. Defensively a big improvement from the corresponding 2 games last year against West Coast and North, albeit with lower scoring from our side. Both Richmond games last year were 10 goal drubbings so we're most likely in for more pain this week. The following three games, we won last year (GWS, Carlton, Adelaide). If we're still playing badly by that stage, then I'll panic :eek:

I reckon we lack one player with a bit of X-factor in the forward line.
Last year when we had a late run of wins we had Jarrad Grant running rings around opposition backmen and i don't think we should underestimate how important he was in those wins.
The only other player we have with that X-factor is Murph.
We look shithouse at the moment - I think it's going to be a long year.

Great post.
I think its time the coaches start taking a few risks and throw Murph up forward at least until Grant is fit.
Now alot of you are thinking noooooo we need him down back to create and run out of defence..... ( and duff a kick out at a crucial stage of the match which by the way anyone could do and don't get me wrong, I love Murphy and how he goes about it ) but really, wouldn't we rather have him creating up forward and impacting on the scoreboard and bringing our inexperienced forwards into the game.
Higgins can cover that running back role perfectly and his kicking skills are not too bad either.
The boys are doing all the hard work with little reward for effort so a little polish needs to be added in the right areas.

O

Let's be honest I did watch and was impressed with a few things late last year but I expected immediate progression again this year. That doesn't mean wins but no one can tell me honestly they have been happy with the first 2 weeks.

Everyone talks about the progression they see well why not the negatives? Not allowed to coz that demeans our passion?

I see more regression than progression and I'm honestly astounded people are still 100% sure bout this bloke but as I said they are entitled to.

I pray you blokes can laugh on my face when he takes us to finals but I HONESTLY. Believe we won't even do that let alone get is to challenge
Just want to point out that just because others do not think it is all doom and gloom after two losses does not mean they are 'happy' about it

Fall into a coma late last year did we?
That's exactly what Wallis was doing to his opponents, he was taking them to the cleaners defensively while getting much more of the ball than them. But some supporters and media have memories like goldfish.
Also nice comparison, yeah let's compare one of their all time greats in Harvey, with a quality clubman like Boyd. While we're at it Carey was a better player than Jones too.

Anyone know where this speak of gastro has come from? Brad Scott mentioned a couple of his blokes had it in his presser, but I've heard nothing from the bulldogs. If it's true, then yesterday's game was a truly remarkable effort.

Mutt, how you going mate? I feel for ya.

I said some things during the game which have compounded the negative effects of losing - for example, calling Daniel Wells a soft **** didn't help.

Stupid, stupid boy. :(

Review Round 2 Vent/Roast thread. Post away.