Autopsy Round 20, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

Some here are way too harsh on culley. Did ok being the 5th best mid.

Not everyone can be the main man.

Main man?

Bruv, I like Culley I'd like him to come good as much as anyone, but 7 touches doesn't really cut the mustard. Not sure he's gonna keep his position after that, Trew being dead might save him.

His lack of impact wasn't the problem, it was the fact the oppo mids ran off him constantly, then he was moved forward and the oppo defenders ran off him once again.

Once again, like Chesser, I'm not sure the club has any idea whatsoever how to develop him properly, let alone get him settled in a role.

Some here are way too harsh on culley. Did ok being the 5th best mid.

Not everyone can be the main man.
Sorry gotta disagree after watching him live

He ain’t AFL level. Serong shredded him so badly that at one point Jai was FF

Perhaps his ACL robbed him, but he was never fleet of foot to begin with

It sucks, I really wanted him to make it

Imagine being a supporter base that's so mentally fragile that a 19 year old kid from a bottom 3 team gets in your head.
Absolutely pathetic bunch of campaigners.
All of the Eagle fans in attendance cheered him as he was booed. Was quite surreal to watch a young kid take that all in and go even harder at the Freo mids.

While he had a brain fart and still had some maturing to go, he’s a beaut.

I’m not convinced he’ll stick around (honestly who would that isn’t from here) but gee I’ll enjoy the time we have with him.

i dont know if stats back this up, but it felt like tk went missing in the 3rd when the heat was dialed up.
granted he wasnt alone.
Whole midfield group was torn up that 3rd qtr. We couldn’t win the ball.

I can’t point the finger at one player for that, it was all and sundry. Even Reid struggled

Far out there's some posters on this board that offer absolutely nothing except woe is me negativity. I'd love to quote your posts and tell you how much of a d*ckhead you are and to f*ck off.

We battled but were out run and out classed in the end.

A heap of positives to take from this game, and most of the negatives came from known sources or veterans:

Darling - bye. Shouldn't have even come into the side.
Cripps - need a break at the very least mate. So much poor decision making and fumbling.
Rotham - he's not a defender, stop playing him there. Either he's in the team on the wing or not at all.
LEdwards - a couple of nice Crow throws and an inside 50 to JWilliams but he's just not offering enough. Sorry.

Outside of that I'm relatively happy with what they produced tonight for a loss.

Just a note - really interesting how the Fremantle board went to the admins after the whole Carlton loss debacle and got Chief to send out a warning about liking posts on opposition boards after a loss, yet they're here immediately after a win doing the same thing and always have. Massive weak campaigner behaviour.
Yeah Madmundy was all over the game thread

What I really liked was how there was mucho heat in the game, melees breaking out and Reid getting close attention - yet at end of game both teams were hanging out together laughing and chatting and backslapping, including Reid. There's mutual respect amongst players, not so much supporters?

It's just corporate branding at the end of the day and we're all consumers, sometimes sheeplike; we all believe in a brand and we purchase product with symbols and logos on it and worship them not unlike a cult or a faith.
The players don't hate each other.

Freo when they click have really sorted out their transition style - fast, slick and clean.
They'll play finals and might go deep into finals and deserve to, they play good footy!
It's possible they might even get to a GF.

Schoey is an ex footballer in a two horse town, so as a person trying to make a living out of commentating and media, it pays in the long run to be neutral or unbiased; it's also professional. People seem to expect him to be on the side of the Eagles yet slam Pav because they think he's biased?

Harley is still learning the ropes, he seems to let his emotions get the better of him, some immaturity perhaps. He could be called a hot head as opposed to a cool calm and collected one. He will work his way through it all and be a better player for it hopefully. The only thing that bugs me is his constant appealing to umpires. The more he does that the less they listen to him. Focus on footy and what you can control.

Can't be bothered with pos+neg, only a few games to go that don't mean much now; well not as much as the draft, turning our list over and another preseason...(and a new coach)
(also fwiw they didn't beat us by more - WC by 37 points. Freo by 35 points)
Schofield wasn’t neutral, he was so biased for Fremantle that he was swinging off the pitch.

Wonder whether he has a bee in his bonnet about his mate Barrass trying to renegotiate his contract.

Don’t like ex WC players who are rats.

Positive - just watched Jarrad Schofield’s presser. Man he spoke so passionately about Harley and how proud he was of how well he played and that he played right on the edge.

Legit looked fired up and ready to fight campaigners right there in the press conference room!

Edit - from 3:40 mark

Positive - just watched Jarrad Schofield’s presser. Man he spoke so passionately about Harley and how proud he was of how well he played and that he played right on the edge.

Legit looked fired up and ready to fight campaigners right there in the press conference room!
A change from simmo who dubbbed Waterman insane form as just a role player

I'm more upbeat than many of us after that. I presume none of you were at Docklands last week. This was a far better effort and plenty of green shoots.

Positives:

• Harley Reid awesome. Yes he needs some restraint and has to learn not to give goals away, but his competitiveness is elite. Gotta do whatever it takes to retain him.
  • Jack Williams showing heaps of promise.
  • Hutchinson showing great signs
  • H Edwards and Ginbey progressing well
  • One of Cole's best games
  • Great first half, shame we got so badly outrun after half time
  • Was at the game, so didn't have to listen to Will Schofield.

Negatives:

• Zane Trew's game over before it started. I'd love to see him have a good run at it to maybe keep his spot on the list.
  • Selecting Jack Darling. He tried his hardest, but Father Time catches up with everyone in the end.
  • Disappointed with Oscar's game.
  • Is Culley even slower after his knee reco? I really want him to make it, but now more than ever the AFL is a fast man's game.
  • Umpiring. Is it an AFL vendetta against us for not trading our No 1 pick with North? Different rule books for each team. And we should be publicly calling out the lack of protection given to Harley.
  • Freo fans booing Harley because he plays football well against them and is a competitor. And it wasn't just a few, it was half the stadium, kids included. Beyond pathetic. The Eagles may be in a big hole at present but I hope we never the loser mentality of FFC. I wish them every failure.

That was the last Eagles game I'll attend this year because I don't hate myself enough to go to Kardinia Park in R24. I love this club, I envy you WA fans who get to go to that amazing stadium regularly, and I hope we make all the right calls with coaches, list culls, trades and drafting for a better 2025 and beyond.

Main man?

Bruv, I like Culley I'd like him to come good as much as anyone, but 7 touches doesn't really cut the mustard. Not sure he's gonna keep his position after that, Trew being dead might save him.

His lack of impact wasn't the problem, it was the fact the oppo mids ran off him constantly, then he was moved forward and the oppo defenders ran off him once again.

Once again, like Chesser, I'm not sure the club has any idea whatsoever how to develop him properly, let alone get him settled in a role.
The club can’t really make culley quicker. I don’t think his development is really on the club.

Probably just delist him at the end of the year and be done with it.

A lot of positives out of that I thought.

• Great game from Harley and Yeo, good stats from Kelly too.
  • Harry Edwards, I've always been a fan but he's low key exceeding my expectations. I wanted him to finish the year strongly and pump up his trade value and swap him out for Busslinger. For all we know that'd be a mistake, looks perfectly comfortable as a key defender at the level.
  • Jack Hutchinson, still pretty low stats but did so many smart things. It's about to click in a big way you feel and all the winging about giving him and entire 4 games for free to bring him up to speed is going to look silly in hindsight.
  • Jack Williams. He's still improving which is impressive, could possibly finish the year as our number #1 ruck at this rate.
  • Jake Waterman, has had his opportunities limited with Oscar returning but proves once again that there is no substitute for hard work. 3 goals a good return today. Probably be kicking 5 or 6 every week still if he was more of a stay at home full forward.
  • Pretty good game by Ginbey this week, I've not been overly convinced he was worth pick 8 [that deal was more about getting Hewitt at #14 so it's never really bothered me] but defence is a good fit for him and he's starting to shine.
  • Bailey was good today I thought, seems to play his best games against Freo and Melbourne who ironically are highly rated for their ruck division. Clunked more than a few around the ground today and there wasn't much to complain about except him probably ending Trew's career.

Negatives

• Really sucks for Trew to get a concussion like that today. Now has to sit out another week and who knows maybe gets dropped back to WAFL. All the tougher now to prove himself after a pretty good showing last week. Would have been a significantly better option for us than Culley today.
  • I know he's got his fans but I don't see it with Culley. He's got good goal sense and his snap today was a beauty but surely he's way too slow for AFL football. Considering we got Maric and Hutchinson out of the mid season drafts I'd say we can make peace with the fact that 2 out of 3 best 22 players is a great return from that draft over 3 seasons.
  • What exactly did Darling do to improve us with this recall?
  • Jamie Cripps kicks one of his all time better snaps for goal 15 out and then proceeds to be absolutely terrible for the remaining 3 quarters and finishes with 1.3. As is so often the case just an extremely wasteful return from his chances to take possession [fumbles more than he doesn't] disposal and conversion. Imagine having a highly skilled 20 something on the end of all the opportunities Cripps gets taking up the #1 small forward space.
  • The way the umpires treat Harley is disgraceful. He's a combative young man and his chirp at the maggots is a bad look but end of the day in 90% of cases they are reaming him and it's a blight on the game. He's a generational talent and the competition needs Harley highlights, can't have umpires ruining his game out of spite for the fact he was drafted by us. Schofield needs to say something.
The club should do a press release every week highlighting all of the umpires bad calls or non calls against him. AFL would probably fine us which means **** all as we have cash, or try and screw our fixtures, which means **** all given they already ream us.

The club should do a press release every week highlighting all of the umpires bad calls or non calls against him. AFL would probably fine us which means ** all as we have cash, or try and screw our fixtures, which means ** all given they already ream us.
We literally have nothing to lose and everything to gain by calling them out yet the club still won't do it, it's so infuriating.

What I really liked was how there was mucho heat in the game, melees breaking out and Reid getting close attention - yet at end of game both teams were hanging out together laughing and chatting and backslapping, including Reid. There's mutual respect amongst players, not so much supporters?

It's just corporate branding at the end of the day and we're all consumers, sometimes sheeplike; we all believe in a brand and we purchase product with symbols and logos on it and worship them not unlike a cult or a faith.
The players don't hate each other.

Freo when they click have really sorted out their transition style - fast, slick and clean.
They'll play finals and might go deep into finals and deserve to, they play good footy!
It's possible they might even get to a GF.

Schoey is an ex footballer in a two horse town, so as a person trying to make a living out of commentating and media, it pays in the long run to be neutral or unbiased; it's also professional. People seem to expect him to be on the side of the Eagles yet slam Pav because they think he's biased?

Harley is still learning the ropes, he seems to let his emotions get the better of him, some immaturity perhaps. He could be called a hot head as opposed to a cool calm and collected one. He will work his way through it all and be a better player for it hopefully. The only thing that bugs me is his constant appealing to umpires. The more he does that the less they listen to him. Focus on footy and what you can control.

Can't be bothered with pos+neg, only a few games to go that don't mean much now; well not as much as the draft, turning our list over and another preseason...(and a new coach)
(also fwiw they didn't beat us by more - WC by 37 points. Freo by 35 points)
Lol - Freo aren't going deep into anything. Will drop out of top 4 and finish top 6. Probably win week one against some spud Vic team (ie hawks) and then get reamed in the semi.

The club should do a press release every week highlighting all of the umpires bad calls or non calls against him. AFL would probably fine us which means ** all as we have cash, or try and screw our fixtures, which means ** all given they already ream us.
Should be sending out a compilation and massive ****ing please explain of all the sling etc tackles against our players that havent even garnered a free kick.

Autopsy Round 20, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle