I only like Cooper Sharman
he went well on Sunday, when does Sainter of the Round get awarded?
I only like Cooper Sharman
I think we seem to have a very deliberate plan to have shots from marks and anything else is a bonus. In that Hawks match we actually had a few snaps and lower percentage shots and it opened the game up. Adelaide killed us in their match by having heaps of low percentage attempts and most seemed to come off. Shots from log range, snaps facing the wrong way etc.
Carlton nailed theirs like that too.
If we are mostly relying on set shots from marks to kick goals we won't kick many winning scores especially when our forwards aren't good set shots.
We look better and more threatening when we are kicking goals on the run in general play rather than relying on set shots at goal which we often miss.
I think we seem to have a very deliberate plan to have shots from marks and anything else is a bonus. In that Hawks match we actually had a few snaps and lower percentage shots and it opened the game up. Adelaide killed us in their match by having heaps of low percentage attempts and most seemed to come off. Shots from log range, snaps facing the wrong way etc.
Carlton nailed theirs like that too.
If we are mostly relying on set shots from marks to kick goals we won't kick many winning scores especially when our forwards aren't good set shots.
We look better and more threatening when we are kicking goals on the run in general play rather than relying on set shots at goal which we often miss.
I reckon it's what King relies on, as previously mentioned he's not working hard enough to present options other than flapping his arms and demanding a lollypop be placed just above the pack in front of him or off to the side of him. Low percentage stuff and needs to develop more strings to his bow.
He's named Winx for FFS, let's see him honour the number 12 by working a lot harder to create opportunities especially the lead up mark type.
It's about licence, I also have thought this before in games. Guys like Hill, Wood, Pou, Sincs, NWM, etc - any long fairly accurate kick we have should have licence to have a ping from around the arc if they have space and there isn't a clear better option. We do try and go for a perfect set play often. A kickout us also way easier to defend than a point. Gresh for example shouldn't be going back to have a set shot from 45 when there are better optionsAnd then they’re branded by all and sundry as selfish
Gresh is always selfish near goals- he should have passed to a running Sharman in one case, which probably would have ended up a goal rather than a point from a set shotIt's about licence, I also have thought this before in games. Guys like Hill, Wood, Pou, Sincs, NWM, etc - any long fairly accurate kick we have should have licence to have a ping from around the arc if they have space and there isn't a clear better option. We do try and go for a perfect set play often. A kickout us also way easier to defend than a point. Gresh for example shouldn't be going back to have a set shot from 45 when there are better options
Yeah, actually a lot harder than most years. The asterisk argument is very basic.Massive asterisk next to that season. Far more evidence that they don’t perform with finals on the line.
Nah asterisk doesn't mean easier, it means everything about that season was completely unique. If they could do it when it was a lot harder then other years then why have our team not performed when it was easier in the normal years? IMO the main difference was playing interstate away from the fans and media meant a lot less pressure on the players. The shorter season helped to, our form in the second half of that year was starting to unravel as well.Yeah, actually a lot harder than most years. The asterisk argument is very basic.
Gresh is always selfish near goals- he should have passed to a running Sharman in one case, which probably would have ended up a goal rather than a point from a set shot
Anyone else I would agree, however this fails to take into account the odds of a Gresh kick successfully hitting up Sharman would be = or < the odds of his kick successfully going between the big sticks.
Yeah honesty I have Gresh the benefit of the doubt in that scenario because it even seemed like he wanted to give it off but doubted himself to hit the target and didn’t want to turn it over.
Looking at Membrey and Hayes at Sandy last week, I reckon they're a way off senior level fitness yet.This week include Ross, Membrey and Hayes.
True, but always hard to gauge players at Sandy, particularly forwards, with such shitty ball movementLooking at Membrey and Hayes at Sandy last week, I reckon they're a way off senior level fitness yet.
Nah asterisk doesn't mean easier, it means everything about that season was completely unique. If they could do it when it was a lot harder then other years then why have our team not performed when it was easier in the normal years? IMO the main difference was playing interstate away from the fans and media meant a lot less pressure on the players. The shorter season helped to, our form in the second half of that year was starting to unravel as well.
Anyway the overwhelming body of evidence says this team does not perform with finals on the line. Once again backed up by the last quarter last week. Hope they prove me wrong obviously.
Maybe if you actually listen to him speak then you would know that he knows the problems and has stated that its not fixable in season and its going to be a huge preseason. Coachable group is the term he keeps rolling out.Have a look at centre bounces and stoppages in the second half against Carlton if you want to look at the replay- there's a real problem with setups around the packs and it is heavily on the coach and his assistants. Our mids are not great, but they didn't get hand on ball due to how they were being used. Lyon has a bit to answer for.
It seems easily fixable in season to me. Nominate roles at stoppages.Maybe if you actually listen to him speak then you would know that he knows the problems and has stated that its not fixable in season and its going to be a huge preseason. Coachable group is the term he keeps rolling out.
It seems easily fixable in season to me. Nominate roles at stoppages.
Surely part of that falls on the four blokes who are in the centre for each bounce. They talk to each other before the ball is bounced. I’m sure they’re not saying ‘you jump up and we’ll run around like headless chooks and see what happens’.It seems easily fixable in season to me. Nominate roles at stoppages.