Autopsy Round 22 = Brisbane 142-57 Collingwood

Questions about moderating decisions threads
There is a site wide rule against starting threads or posting moderator complaint content.

You may not always see eye to eye with moderators but they do a voluntary job in an effort to provide a better site for ALL, not the few, and they are often dealing with multiple posters.

Questions about moderating decisions in threads will be deleted by the moderating team.

Contact the moderating team via PM and query the issue directly. We're reasonable people, we'll listen to reason as long as you're not overly abusive. If you feel you are not getting satisfaction, contact administrator/s.

Gone Critical
jathanas
Anzacday

Just need to do heaps of work on skills. Even our good players are pretty bloody sloppy.
Difficult conditions up there. I’m still wondering why the AFL bothered having Qld teams.

Whish they hadn’t 😢

Not really a surprise result.

De Goey and Ginnivan the only positives

Same old crew go missing in the middle of the match and then reappear in the last quarter.

At least now we (and the new coach) can have a better understanding of our deficiencies. Jungle drums still seem to be beating over our salary cap. Not good times.

Same old crew go missing in the middle of the match and then reappear in the last quarter.

At least now we (and the new coach) can have a better understanding of our deficiencies. Jungle drums still seem to be beating over our salary cap. Not good times.
Another fire sale?

Difficult conditions up there. I’m still wondering why the AFL bothered having Qld teams.

Whish they hadn’t 😢
It's more than just the conditions. Adams, Crisp, Grundy and JDG are bloody good footballers, but none of them are particularly clean with their handling or their use. And they all seem to be getting worse. Sidey has joined them. Even Elliott is becoming a two grabber. Mihocek has forgotten how to kick. I just suspect we haven't done enough work on the basics recently.

Our VFL team not playing has really stuffed us up re selection.

I have really tried hard to see what others see in Murphy but just can't see him in our future, nor Thomas after 12 years.

The problems is how many can we let go? Mayne is retiring and I have been a knocker, not so much with his endeavor as he really puts his body on the line but his disposal. Often he is a liability but I do wish him well. Further if the rumours are true and we still have salary cap issues, think that there may still be a bit more pain ahead but hopefully not such big losses with our group of young players.

It's more than just the conditions. Adams, Crisp, Grundy and JDG are bloody good footballers, but none of them are particularly clean with their handling or their use. And they all seem to be getting worse. Sidey has joined them. Even Elliott is becoming a two grabber. Mihocek has forgotten how to kick. I just suspect we haven't done enough work on the basics recently.
I think it is more about our inability to handle pressure, and a lack of confidence in our game plan. It can turn around quickly.
Bad night.

We are very one paced through the middle and forward which is a concern.

Degoey has been impressive but hard to know how much he contributes defensively without being at the ground. Ginivan very slow, but just a natural footballer I like him.

I thought Crisp was great again tonight, Daicos was solid and Macrae is just your natural onballer so clean with his hands and in traffic. I like what he is showing, just needs to get fitter.

Ruscoe should be cut come seasons end. Murphy I feel will also lose his spot, we can’t carry so many slowtypes in the team.

Always an interesting read on here after a loss (big or small)... was just one of those games where nothing went right...apart from the first 30 seconds I guess. Footy in Brisbane at night is an interesting experience until you get used to it, a little extra humidity, dew begins to form, the ball gets damp and somehow extra slippery even compared to Melb ... anyway that may excuse the first timers but not our more experienced guys. Also it would appear 15 meters is not a measurement of length in QLD... more a guideline..

Centre clearances ? Can't hang all the blame on Grundy, his midfield mates let him down... Elliot looked OK in there but...

Contrary to what a lot of people are saying here I don't think the boys stopped trying, they played it out to the end. We ran into a confident, physically strong team on a roll into the finals...whereas we are...not so much...

Look our list is cabbage. Its a miracle we haven't had more of these this season. And we will see plenty more in the next 3 years. We will spoon up before this gets better.

Reset expectations and take the small wins. We lost by less than Carlton.

Seems that way….hence the noise about Maynard.

Grundy contract is an issue and I dare say Sidebottoms is a bad one. But that my opinion and could very well be wrong.
I’d rather lose Grundy over Maynard.

Today should be a reality check and enough reason to not go for 30 year olds.

I'm really concerned with Grundy. He is a shadow of himself and I'd be signing Lynch up. Maybe Grundy is one of those players not comfortable with a large salary. He did say he had a crap 2020 at the start of this season but also added he was on his old contract (almost justifying he didn't get paid $1m to produce that).

On the plus side, more games into youngsters and Ginnivan did some nice things as did Henry and Macrae but looks like the season can't finish soon enough.

Midfield got destroyed and it snowballed from there. 70-42 inside 50s pretty much sums up the game. The defence was constantly under siege and could do very little about it.

We were pretty good until the 10 minute mark of the second quarter, and we lost our way after that.

It was the perfect recipe for a thrashing unfortunately:
[*] Lions had everything to play for, while we were only playing for pride.
[*] A lot of youth in the team.
[*] Interstate game where we couldn't adapt to the dewy conditions.

Youngsters will have learnt a lot from that. Ginnivan looks like a good find, and it's refreshing to have a proper small forward. Henry is a very raw talent, but there's enough to remain optimistic about. Has great hands, and is a good kick for goal.

Been a tough year for the club, so we just need this season to end. Once that happens, we can finally appoint a new coach and move forward into a new era.

I think it is more about our inability to handle pressure, and a lack of confidence in our game plan. It can turn around quickly.
Bad night.
Agree. Plus some of the kids look like they'll be super clean with the ball: Macrae, Henry, Ginnivan, Bianco. Our good players are very good players, but they all have the same weakness (when Pendles and Howe are out)

That showed up all our weaknesses. No marking forward, no mid field depth/speed/skill. No defence when Moore and Howe don’t play. No heart, poor recruiting and coaching.
New coach needs to clean out Hine etc and invest in a development coach who will do their f ing job.

Pathetic
100% Hine should be in the firing line

I will mate. If you promise on your dogs life NEVER again to bring Buckley up in every autopsy thread after we lose a game. Seriously.. move on from it jmac. Give the board and the new coach some fresh air and positivity.
Not sure that I can stop myself from defending Buckley, but I too will try.

His number is in my username and he has been my favourite player ever since he came to Collingwood, oh and also, I think he can coach.

That's it, no more from me in this thread about you know who.

As for the next coach? Hmm depends on who it is.

Sadly Buckley will always divide us but we will still be Black and White.

The one positive is that we might have given Brissy an opportunity to move above Dogs and push them out of the top 4. Thus helping with Daicos points.
And a fair chance of getting knocked out by GWS if the ladder pans out that way. Unlikely but there are upsets in every round, naturally not the ones I go for in tipping but I digress.

Autopsy Round 22 = Brisbane 142-57 Collingwood