Autopsy Round 23, 2021: Hawks draw with Tigers - end of an era!

Hate to say it but Kosi’s injury was very much self inflicted. He was totally off today in every aspect. Long season but I hope he is okay. M Lewis wasn’t much better today either. They need to learn to not get in each other’s space because they are giving themselves no chance at all and not even making a contest as a result.

really shit finish to the game and season. Let’s hope Mitchell cuts the deadwood. None of this depth bullshit.

Clarko has contributed one of the most outstanding careers in footy history. Seriously well done to him. Sad days to see the exceptional ones move on from their post of significant elevation. Again, really well done to him.

I think I speak on behalf of the Hawthorn supporter base that we share that sentiment regarding Houli (and Astbury)

Well, last week we essentially fielded a midfield group with the experience of Richmonds today. The only constant was Tom and Chad, who both had good games.

So does this suggest that Worps and JOM are the problem? Ceglar? lots of work needed
I need to watch that last quarter again to digest it fully, but I thought our last quarter centre work was poor, especially the last play.
I thought Cegs was ok though.

Awful capitulation. Poor ball handling and poor decision-making. Ceglar had his moments earlier in the game but his inability to control the centre bounces in the last quarter was telling. The only rational explanation is that they were so desperate to get the win for Clarkson and Burgoyne that the pressure got to them. There will be a lot of gutted players. I hope it does not do lasting damage.

Well, the empty feeling of the final siren is still there.

So much has been said over the last few weeks about Clarko and about Silk. So many memories have been brought to mind of one of our Club's greatest eras. We should be very thankful. But, this week, so much passion has been wrung out of our players and supporters. Possibly, too much. The last five or six minutes of that game flew by and out of our hands. Silly mistakes. Players out of position. Trying to gift lasting memories to certain players. In the end, no last Club Song with Clarko and Silk. No loss, but nothing to slap anyone on the back about, either. And that's what seems wrong about the afternoon. Emptiness where it could've been glorious. I can't see any draft pick (unless it's the next Luke Hodge) being worth this emptiness. No, I don't think they 'went the tank'. But, was it too much to expect to wind down the clock in that last few minutes? Possessions. A few more uncontested marks. Keep the clock going in the right direction. In the past we have had the opportunity to farewell Hawthorn greats. Apart from the '85 GF where there was nothing left to give, I can't think of many occasions where each and every player on the ground hasn't busted a gut to get a fitting farewell for a champion nor a coaching great. For most of today's game the players gave us hope. That last five or six minutes were gut busting for all the wrong reasons and it hurts. Actually, at the moment there is only emptiness. But, in some way it is also symbolic of this last season for Clarko's Hawks. It also seemed appropriate that the last meaningful act on the field was Silk doing what Silk has done for us for 250 games. Gosh, we've been blessed over this era. But, gosh, it could've been better today. I think a few good night's sleep ... or a few good vodkas ... Nope, still emptiness.

Well, the empty feeling of the final siren is still there.

So much has been said over the last few weeks about Clarko and about Silk. So many memories have been brought to mind of one of our Club's greatest eras. We should be very thankful. But, this week, so much passion has been wrung out of our players and supporters. Possibly, too much. The last five or six minutes of that game flew by and out of our hands. Silly mistakes. Players out of position. Trying to gift lasting memories to certain players. In the end, no last Club Song with Clarko and Silk. No loss, but nothing to slap anyone on the back about, either. And that's what seems wrong about the afternoon. Emptiness where it could've been glorious. I can't see any draft pick (unless it's the next Luke Hodge) being worth this emptiness. No, I don't think they 'went the tank'. But, was it too much to expect to wind down the clock in that last few minutes? Possessions. A few more uncontested marks. Keep the clock going in the right direction. In the past we have had the opportunity to farewell Hawthorn greats. Apart from the '85 GF where there was nothing left to give, I can't think of many occasions where each and every player on the ground hasn't busted a gut to get a fitting farewell for a champion nor a coaching great. For most of today's game the players gave us hope. That last five or six minutes were gut busting for all the wrong reasons and it hurts. Actually, at the moment there is only emptiness. But, in some way it is also symbolic of this last season for Clarko's Hawks. It also seemed appropriate that the last meaningful act on the field was Silk doing what Silk has done for us for 250 games. Gosh, we've been blessed over this era. But, gosh, it could've been better today. I think a few good night's sleep ... or a few good vodkas ... Nope, still emptiness.

nah trust me mate the vodkas will do the trick

People are complaining about the midfield and the mix. We get in 2 mids this draft, lets say it's Erasmus, Goater or whoever with Clarke or whatever. Just class to go with Worps, Jaeger, Mitch and Wingers.

We did really well last week no doubt but our mids this week weren't even bad, yes the Tigers had a shocking midfield but we still comfortably beat them and were basically running mostly in 2nd gear all day barring 1st gear patches.

Biggest issue i saw today was merely our intensity.

Titch had 36 disposals 14 kicks 22 handballs
10 contested at 83% DE
5 score involvements
6 marks 300 metres gained
4 clearances
5 tackles
3 inside 50s

Had a good game.

Jaeger 36 disposals 20 kicks 16 handballs
15 contested at 75% DE
2 behind 6 score involvements
7 marks 425 metres gained
6 clearances
5 inside 50s

Worpel 25 disposals 14 kicks 11 handballs
7 contested at 60% (only 5 turnovers and 2 clangers)
5 score involvements
7 marks
377 metres gained
3 inside 50s

And Wingard
30 disposals 15 kicks 15 handballs
11 contested at 63% DE 4 turnovers and 4 clangers
2 goals 2 goal assists and 8 score involvements
377 metres gained
6 clearances
5 tackles
4 inside 50s

They all i thought used the ball well, played well but my main issue was just intensity through tackling and overall pressure. Don't think our defense was good at all but they'll be improved heaps with returning Sicily, Impey, Jiath and Day.

Move some up the ground replace some plodders etc

And then forward like Breust, Moore and Gunston all to come back.

Brocky had a good game his best so far and i was impressed. Thought Lewis was good too.

Plenty to look forward to and personally it's all looking up. Get keen for the draft and off season and into 2022 lads :D

Loved Mitch’s work in the last month. However, the one that copped all the criticism earlier in the year turned up today. Thought his possessions were generally poor and his handballs missed the mark all day.
Ah well, Clarko and Dimma will have a bit of banter for years to come over this one.😳😂

Internet connection dropped out with about 6 minutes left. Came back with 34 seconds to go at the centre bounce they got the drawing goal from. Glad I missed those 5 and half minutes, as it must have been mighty frustrating to watch.

Such a pity Burgoyne couldn't get his finger to that ball. Going out with a win, where his last act in footy is a desperate clutch act to save the game would have been so fitting, given how clutch he'd been in so many games. Going to take a few days to get over the disappointment that we couldn't get the win for both Burgoyne and Clarko. Still, in the schema of things it means very little compared to all the glory those two have helped us accumulate over their time at Hawthorn.

Hope Burgoyne's ongoing footy career is a role with us, seemed to be holding his cards pretty close to his chest in the post-game interview.

I'm actually sh*t-house about footy knowledge, but I thought the forwards did pretty well. For me, it was more about the delivery, but it is so hard to tell on TV if it is the forward structure or or the delivery coming in.

Having said that, Hanrahan needs to shave those sideburns.
Nah it was the forwards today. They were horrible no other way to put. Listless and dumb in the process.

someone needs to teach them the art of leading at the kicker and the timing of that run. Lewis is a tad better at this but the only time they looked like getting the ball was when they led up. And then slowed down to allow a spoil. Did my head today

I saw Clarko almost punch the wall again.
I hurt my hand with that quick goals in the dying second.

Really really desperate to send off Clarko and Silk with a win but what happened?

Anyway Thank you Clarko and Burgoyne ❤❤❤.

I will be honest. I thought overall we were poor.

we played a depleted side and we got smashed in the middle by a few Juniors while we had our A Graders in.

Our first qtr was diabolical and reminded me of the game style that probably cost Clarko his job over the last 2 years . Backwards, sideways, backwards and then leak easy goals out the back.

the last 10 minutes of football were as bad as anyone could possibly see and had a bad stench of bulldogs at the mcg game .

To not be able to hold onto a 25 point lead with 10 minutes of footy is beyond a joke .

A real shame for Clarko and Burgoyne to finish off that way to be honest.

We've had last quarter fade outs in both the Brisbane and Collingwood game.
Faded out at the end of the Crows game as well. Our poor starts earlier in the season look to have transitioned to poor finishes in last few games this season.

But realistically, unbeaten in the last 4 rounds and we had a tie against the Demons a couple of weeks before that. We beat the Lions and we beat the Bulldogs. Plenty of reason for optimism.

You can put the cue in the rack at 31 points up with 5 and a half mins to go and still not expect to lose. EVERYTHING had to go just right for the Tigers and it did, including some very nervous and twitchy umpiring.

Will miss Clarko and Silk, greats of the game. Let's see how we fare under Sam next year.

I'm actually sh*t-house about footy knowledge, but I thought the forwards did pretty well. For me, it was more about the delivery, but it is so hard to tell on TV if it is the forward structure or or the delivery coming in.

Having said that, Hanrahan needs to shave those sideburns.

haha yeah those sideburns are questionable for sure

I just thought they didn't impact the game at all. it was a common theme earlier in the year too, poor work rate or inability to get into the contests up the ground. A lot can be made about the midfield capitulation in the last five minutes but the reality is we should've been up by ten goals if our fwds bought the same intensity they did last week

Autopsy Round 23, 2021: Hawks draw with Tigers - end of an era!