Review Round 3, 2022 vs Adelaide

We don't put sides away because we don't kick straight enough for goal in the first 3 quarters of games and we waste so much energy making scoring so difficult. Look at our first goal that Motlop kicked for the game and how much hard work it was, when it wasn't necessary that it was so hard.
No we stopped attacking and try to hold on for the win. We do it every time. Nothing to do with the first three quarters… we actually played proper footy for the most part.
I watched the last qtr again, we started chipping it around out of defence and slowing the game down… with 10 minutes left on the clock… losing is our own fault

We don't put sides away because we don't kick straight enough for goal in the first 3 quarters of games and we waste so much energy making scoring so difficult. Look at our first goal that Motlop kicked for the game and how much hard work it was, when it wasn't necessary that it was so hard.
I do agree with the straight kicking, but in reality we stop attacking and it kills us..

No we stopped attacking and try to hold on for the win. We do it every time. Nothing to do with the first three quarters… we actually played proper footy for the most part.
I watched the last qtr again, we started chipping it around out of defence and slowing the game down… with 10 minutes left on the clock… losing is our own fault
And why do we start chipping around? To save energy partly because we have wasted so much energy in the first 3 quarters inside 50 because we are so ineffiecent close to goals. Our players have to work their arse off because they are so ineffective and inefficent inside 50.

We need one of those EPL-style advanced metrics to calculate “expected goals” versus the reality.

We’d have to be the ‘least bang for your buck [forward forays]’ team of the past decade.

With 38 seconds to go up by 2 points anything but kick to a contest on the wing. Surely holding possession would of been priority. Basics absolute basics if you can't see that your deluded
not a single port player ran to the opposite side (left) at the kick out. pure laziness or obedient to instructions

We need one of those EPL-style advanced metrics to calculate “expected goals” versus the reality.

We’d have to be the ‘least bang for your buck [forward forays]’ team of the past decade.
Back in mid 2014 when we were cutting everyone up with our run, the AFL website put up a whole lot of stats either before the Sydney game or just after it.

We were first or second in all bar 2 of about 10 metrics, one we were 4th, and we were 8th for conversion of goals for inside 50m. It stood out like dogs balls.

Nothing much has changed over 8 years. But we are working hard at improving!. Never working smart.

Despite the talk on here that we might get Clarko, I think its bugger all chance, but if we do pull it off, I hope someone insists he brings kicking coach guru Dath Rath with him and pinch him off the AFL or St Kilda or wherever he has ended up after leaving the Hawks in 2016. He was the first person Clarko gave a job to.

Is this a club issue or a Hinkley issue tho ?

ie do we have the budget for such a role

Imagine what a supporter of an EPL club would think of the club’s stance on Hinkley’s coaching tenure. They’d shake their heads in dis-belief. Hinkley would be long gone if he we had the same standards for coaching failure as the EPL

It really is disgusting as was the laughing during the press conference. He's insane or just plain stupid. I'd wager a little of both.
Laughing all the way to the bank. Imagine how many used Hiluxes with dodgy timing belts he'd need to flog to make even a quarter of what he'll make from us this year.

Is this a club issue or a Hinkley issue tho ?

ie do we have the budget for such a role
Ben Perkins has voluntered his services. At a reduced rate several times. The club has said no. He hinted at Hinkley being the one who said no.

Egos are involved. Carl Woods was supposed to be the skills aquistion guy who was going to improve our kicking. Never did. Hasnt been replaced.

He was in the leadership group last year.
Went in at the start of 2021.
Have a look around the league and you might notice leadership and being the best player don’t always correlate.
I'm not saying you have to be one of the best players, I am asking what leadership qualities does he have because since he has been in the leadership group his form has fallen right away.

It doesn’t matter if they’ve kicked 13:15 or 14:9 the tactic is to always slow the game down, take time off the clock and hang on for the win. It’s happened at both the power and the maggies for the last ten years. It’s not because they missed shots early and are tired.. it’s literally the plan, they always to do that.. we lack the killer instinct to kill sides of. Would rather hold on. It’s ridiculous…

Imagine what a supporter of an EPL club would think of the club’s stance on Hinkley’s coaching tenure. They’d shake their heads in dis-belief. Hinkley would be long gone if he we had the same standards for coaching failure as the EPL
An EPL club would've sacked Hinkley about 30 times over by now.

I'm not saying you have to be one of the best players, I am asking what leadership qualities does he have because since he has been in the leadership group his form has fallen right away.
Isn’t that the point with leadership though, it involves what you provide off field as much as on. We have no idea of the impact he has off field.
I actually think he had been pretty good this year. He certainly made a stand when Mitch Robinson took out Duursma.
He also put his body on the line quite a few times Friday night.
There were plenty who didn’t.
I reckon we have a lot bigger issues than DBJ’s leadership at the moment.

Ken Hinkley is our version of Steve Bruce and we're Newcastle United. Took a entire regime change for them to complete the sacking their fans had been screaming out for for over 12 months.

We wouldn't be a EPL club if we existed in that stratosphere we'd have been relegated long ago and faded into the abyss like Leeds did for 15 plus years.

If it were soccer, Hinkley would have been fired after the 2017 away Showdown. [He got one of the most absurd extensions ever, instead.]

Thats what you get when you have no structure or system.

Looking at results around the traps it isnt even any sort of hyperbole to say we are playing actual spoonworthy football. Amazing fall.
Makes trading that second rounder that was pretty much an early third but now almost a late first look like a masterstroke.

Lets assume that Adelaide were smart enough to play man on man for the last 45 seconds after Houston had taken the mark and was slowly walking back to take his kick.

In fact here is the scene. Everyone is close to chip it to them and was covered with 46 seconds to go. Rachele was zoning between of our 2 players, Looks like Wines near the boundary and Amon near the T5G sign and a crows player in green boots was sprinting in and had him covered within the next second.

There were no short options. Pretty sure that is TJ to the right of screen and I guess he could have sprinted off towards their goal and boundary, Houston probably would have hit him, but the next kick would have been the issues as all players had pushed over to the camera side of the ground. I would not have trusted TJ with the next kick.

On this shot there are 9 Port players and 10 crows players. The rest are more than 40m from where Houston is standing

View attachment 1361323

Houston spends the next 4 or 5 seconds assessing his options which weren't many and he was called to play on

When he kicks, its 8 Port players vs 9 crows in screen and only the bottom right hand corner pair of players in the above shot have moved down the wing to be completely out of this shot.

View attachment 1361347

Houston's kick should have been a bit better and been very close to the line rather than 15m in from it, but as you say it got the desire result of a stoppage.

View attachment 1361348

If you count the players to the right of Mead who has the green boots on and he and his player was part of the 8 v 9 previous shot, then including the port and crows player inside the square near the centre of the ground and weren't part of the 8 v 9 its 9 port v 8 crows players - so there must be 1 pair of players closer to Port's goal.

This is the bail out kick we do to Charlie, but Charlie wasn't there.

I will start calling this the Dixon non-Dixons play, seeing we do it so often this year.

In the pack it was 5 v 4. Drew front and centre with his opponent. ROB with Lycett obscured and Marshall and Dodee and a step behind them a crowie and Georgiades and Ollie.

View attachment 1361376

Ok so we kill the ball and 25 seconds to go.

Marshall has sprinted back towards their goal and is top left hand corner of the picture below and you can see just his white shorts and a leg. Mayes is the 18th player ( I accounted for 17 above) sprinting from the forward line to defence and is in the corner of the centre square just to the right of the graphics. We have 14 players in this shot they have 12.

Close to the ball up its 6 v 5 and Mead doesn't have an opponent.

In 2020 and 2021, we had Voss at ground level barking orders to the players, and he would have been instructing them what to do. As I wrote in middle of 2020 season, Voss seemed to find his niche at ground level, talking to players, instructing them, encouraging them, barking orders etc.

We don't have the brightest group of players, they need all the help they can get.

View attachment 1361377

Below is one of the most stupid pieces of play I have seen in the last decade from a Port player. And it has to be pretty special to get that rating.

I have called Houston a flakey flanker and Matt Rendell put him in a group of 12 players in our best 22 when he summed up our 2021 season last September and said they are good when they have the ball in their hand but they aren't hard enough and are too flakey.

With 20 seconds to go Houston stupidly decides to soccer the ball blindly in as if we need a hail mary play to win the game. WTF possessed him to do such a stupid play??

Is he so soft he isn't prepared to take a hit to the body? Did he think he could boot it 70m?

All he had to do was bend over take a hit to the body, take a tackle and it would have resulted in a ball up as 2 or 3 players from both sides would have been in a pile up and it would have wiped 10 seconds off the clock.

Didn't he know everyone had cleared out of our forward line?? If he didn't, why did he guess we still had players there?? he wouldn't have seen anyone there.

We have a lot of dumb players. Look at the 2004 premiership side and how many players went on to be AFL coaches, state league coaches and long term assistant AFL coaches.

Apart from Robbie Gray being a forwards coach, I can't imagine any of our players being a coach given the way they play.

Our next coach has to be like Choco and Clarko, have a professional teaching background or has a proven track record of teaching players and educating them so they understand the game and make good decisions for 100% of the game, not just when the going is easy. Choco and Clarko have produced many coaches. Hinkley will produce SFA.

We need to get rid of a lot of no hopers for our club to progress to where we want it to end up.

View attachment 1361389
First of al REH thanks for putting all this together. It’s a great read.
I just wanted to circle back to Voss.
I’m not his greatest fan for me he was at the scene of the crime too many times from 2015-2019.
Having said that I do acknowledge that he may have found his calling in that role he played for us last year.
Therefore I ask myself is there anyone doing that “ bench role” now and if not why?
Given it was so Important and I do acknowledge that it was.
Once again things look very disorganised within our football dept which is showing on the field with our performances.

It doesn’t matter if they’ve kicked 13:15 or 14:9 the tactic is to always slow the game down, take time off the clock and hang on for the win. It’s happened at both the power and the maggies for the last ten years. It’s not because they missed shots early and are tired.. it’s literally the plan, they always to do that.. we lack the killer instinct to kill sides of. Would rather hold on. It’s ridiculous…
No side can go absolutely flat out for 30 minutes. They all play a bit of tempo footy and there are momentum changes that affect this.

Burgess might be able to make players believe they can keep running all game for the first year or two at a club, but then reality catches up with indoctrination. It will be interesting to watch the crows last quarters this year.

We do it too often for my liking and don't have the skills to get away with it.

Hawthorn did it for years but they had so many great kicks and left footers which meant the default position of defending against a right foot kick caught out a lot of opponents. Geelong do it a lot because of their ageing list, they tend to pick bigger bodied sides, who bash and crash and combined with age they don't have the energy levels to go flat out for 30 minutes. But they have a lot more smarter players and better kicking players than we do.

It's all part of the potpourri of the game and game style. It's just not one reason why we do it. But when you waste energy because you aren't effective and efficient inside 50, it stands out more.

Review Round 3, 2022 vs Adelaide