Autopsy Round 3 = Collingwood 91-104 Geelong

After sleeping on it, I thought is was a great game all up.
A few minor things here or there and we are spruiking now.

We have got the right coaching to take this group forward
We have got some quality young players either in the team or knocking at the door
We have finally got a decent head of conditioning
The Board looks stable and the club in general appear fresh

We have an exciting journey underway where we can see this new era move ahead.
There is going to be some interesting moments I am sure on and off the field this year.

It will be interesting to see if we get the buy in from Moore and DeGoey and settle for what they are worth and not hold the club to ransom.
If this happens we should be able to go and get a few key pieces to fast track our rise.

It will be interesting how we manage the next 12-24 months with the following players:

Adams- his battery ram style seems to be catching up with him, hopefully he can show some improvement, he was huge last week so may just be ginger this week.

Pendlebury - he looks great off the back half and need to keep as long as we can for the off the field stuff mostly.

Roughead- has been solid find for us and a huge gap at the moment, ideally he can help take Dean to the next level and eventually take his spot.

Sidebottom- has looked rejuvenated this year and was a big loss in the last quarter, maybe in his second last year if his body holds up.

Moore- solid, reliable but he needs a bigger lock down type to maximise his value, we need to not blink with the contract negotiations as we can’t afford another Grundyesque contract.

DeGoey- has been solid, think he needs some consistency in the midfield. He was great in the first 2 rounds and maybe another big unit in the guys will help him. Need him to not hold the club to ransom as well and if he is happy to repay the faith on reasonable coin it is a no brainer to retain him.

Crisp- has been a bit quieter this week. Hoping he can fully recapture his form of last year.

Grundy- been a bit meh so far, but definitely service le and getting used to the new game plan. Expecting him to build through the year. Saw Begg last week and this kid looks the goods, hoping by Grundys last year Begg is pushing Grundy out of the lineup.

Magden and Noble- these guys are serviceable, and good foot soldiers I think Noble has more future with his speed and ball use whereas in time I think Ruscoe/Dean/Johnson will push Magden out.

Still a long way to go this year and off season but so far the future is looking bright.

If Keane had stayed, he'd already have pushed Madgen out. Madge tries his heart out, but his physical limitations are clear. Good to have him on the list for times like this, but he's out as soon as Roughead is back.

And Will Kelly -- still have slim hopes for him.

Darcy Moore was the most disappointing player last night.

He has a tendency to overcommit and is very hit and miss. Happy enough to re-sign him but not at top dollar.

He is overrated not because he cant perform but because of his inconsistency.

And a lot of senior players went missing in the last quarter. Especially some who have been in the news for non-football matters.

Look I think a fair bit has got lost in translation here.

A kid called Grundy put that thug Mumford flat on his @rse right at the start of his career.

Currently Grundy is struggling to equalize with journeyman rucks.

It isn't so much how much Grundy is getting paid in isolation.

It's the stark stupidity of putting all our eggs in one basket - a 7 year contract - no matter the amount - is stupidity on a truly cosmic scale.

We are stuck with a player who is a shadow of what he was at the start of his career for another 5 years I believe?

It's not physical and it's not skill.

It's all between his ears and it's going to cost us big time over the journey and I'm NOT talking about the money.
Let’s be sensible about the history.
At the time the contract was signed Grundy was the most valuable player in the game according to Leigh Mathews.
Grundy had huge offers to leave - the MARKET decided his worth, not CFC.
We just paid the market rate.

I don’t recall mass derision at the length of contract at the time - just celebration that we’d retained a gun.

If we had a crystal ball then we may have done things differently- but this constant whining about the contract is just pitiful and completely pointless hindsight.

Which elite forward? The King brothers are not at that level yet, so would you be prepared to take that risk on them? And Harry McKay aint going anywhere, Carlton are on the up, and he'll stay put.

I'm not a draft watcher but I'd invest the high draft pick in key forward talent - getting them via draft seems the most economical way for KPF types. Then I’d look to free agency with the extra $950k for the contested mid.

Our backs seem to be standing 5-10m off their direct opponent whether that be behind or to the side more often this year. It seems we’re manning grass more.

Also at times if it wasn’t for Moore sprinting across the cats would have marked uncontested. Madgen also found himself one out against both Hawkins and Cameron in the goal square on one occasion, but thankfully Sidebottom got back.

With Moore and Howe are both interceptors it could be partly their style, so I’d to see how things look when Roughead is back.
I'm not sure if Roughy will help hugely if we're zoning hard - it's pace that is really crucial if you are going to sag off that aggressively or actually playing a full zone. Better judgement though of how much rope he can give than Madge has. He would also give us a different option with Hawkins. We probably had no choice but to play off him with the cattle we had in who he would just push around. I think zoning off Cameron is dumb though.

Let’s be sensible about the history.
At the time the contract was signed Grundy was the most valuable player in the game according to Leigh Mathews.
Grundy had huge offers to leave - the MARKET decided his worth, not CFC.
We just paid the market rate.

I don’t recall mass derision at the length of contract at the time - just celebration that we’d retained a gun.

If we had a crystal ball then we may have done things differently- but this constant whining about the contract is just pitiful and completely pointless hindsight.
As I said the money rate was not the issue AGAIN I say . . 7 year contracts are stupidity on a cosmic scale.

It's devastating to lose like that, but let's not forget we're a young team and there will be ups and downs.

It's the first time this year (that last quarter) we've had a decent team bringing the heat and keeping our hands off it.

Probably only needed a goal early and it would've been a completely different result.

But gee we've got a lot to work with.
Maybe a good learning lesson for the new coach. Should have had a midfielder a little more defensive at the centre bounce.

I also think we needed to pick up a mature bodied key defender from the VFL/WAFL/SANFL. I know we picked up Dean but he is still a kid.

I think we play finals. That's bold but the fact is we lost but 13 points and looked competitive. We're not at full strength yet with Roughie and Dean out. Both are best 22 players. And we're still gelling.

Serious 2018 vibes I think. But Dan and Roughie are not both best 22 players. Dean hasn't played a game yet and we would be very unlikely to play both of them unless we have injuries.

That was a brutal game last night, you could mug someone and get away with it. it was passionate, intense footy between two teams having a red hot crack. Unfortunately, the aging super stars out lasted the cocky up starters, spectacular game, loooved it!

The game was definitely umpired inconsistent with other games on the week end.

Serious 2018 vibes I think. But Dan and Roughie are not both best 22 players. Dean hasn't played a game yet and we would be very unlikely to play both of them unless we have injuries.
"unless we have injuries." i.e. not long before we play them both.

As I said the money rate was not the issue AGAIN I say . . 7 year contracts are stupidity on a cosmic scale.
The “market” decided the 7 years not Coll.
Just like the 10 year deal reportedly offered to McD from the swans, by the WA team. Just like the huge offers for Jackson that will come from WA.
In such circumstances the incumbent Club becomes reactive to the market, and offers a contract accordingly.

No club is risking derision from supporters in losing a gun player - which will ensure Melb pay top dollar over an extended term, for Jackson given the huge interest from WA.

The “market” decided the 7 years not Coll.
Just like the 10 year deal reportedly offered to McD from the swans, by the WA team. Just like the huge offers for Jackson that will come from WA.
In such circumstances the incumbent Club becomes reactive to the market, and offers a contract accordingly.

No club is risking derision from supporters in losing a gun player - which will ensure Melb pay top dollar over an extended term, for Jackson given the huge interest from WA.
No agreement here mate - 7 years is just bullshit.

Too much can happen.

Or all of it, like Beams!!

Or piss off a top draft pick like Stevo for chips… when we should have taken Naughton anyway…

Good grief, we’ve had some awful list management this past few years. It’s put us right behind the eight-ball.

That’s the lament of every supporter of every club - woulda, coulda, shoulda.

I'm not sure if Roughy will help hugely if we're zoning hard - it's pace that is really crucial if you are going to sag off that aggressively or actually playing a full zone. Better judgement though of how much rope he can give than Madge has. He would also give us a different option with Hawkins. We probably had no choice but to play off him with the cattle we had in who he would just push around. I think zoning off Cameron is dumb though.
Yeah, you’re onto something with the pace and ability to get across.

Pity Maynard was lacking a little match fitness as he was our best option to play a shutdown defensive roll on Cameron. Didn’t notice Maynard much, but he didn’t seem to spend any considerable time on him.

We probably needed a lost just to motivate the boys a little more. AJ is bound to debut soon, Wilson recall maybe ... we've got stacks of talent in the VFL. Exciting times lie ahead. Always remember we made a grand final after a 0-2 start. WCE, Essendon ... very winnable.
I don't think we've got much ready to play talent in the ressies - a few of the kids look likely, but Johnson, Wilson and Callum Brown are the only 3 who are knocking on the door.

I don't howl - unlike most here I try to retain some objectivity and leave the histrionics for the children and childlike members.
You don’t have any objectivity on this - if you did you’d have been protesting the 7 year term when it happened.
Hindsight is not objectivity.
Objectivity would be to acknowledge the circumstances (ie market) of the time dictated the contract.

Funny that I watched the same game and thought our more pressing need is down back.

I hope Dean can be the solution but I feel like in Checkers, Kreuger, Johnson and Henry we can put together a functional forward structure.

I’m less comfortable with what we have down back.

Agree 100% we need at least 2x Defenders- not so much KPD but more like a Grimes, Taylor or Haynes from GWS

Think our recruiting strategy has been so focused on mid size mids/forwards it’s really hurt us

If/when 1 of Moore, Howe or Roughy go down, it puts so much pressure on the other 2 left

We don’t have defensive depth and if this is the game style we are now adopting, then we are going to be left short ( just like last unlosable ) game last night