Review Round 4: Saints v Pies

The melts on the Pies board when Blair was named in the 25 and then the melts when he was the late change. Too funny.

Safe to say Bucks is not the most popular man over there.

To quote BT, they're going absolutely bananas.

I do feel for Bucks though, having anything to do with that club is a poisoned chalice. The scrutiny is out of control, endlessly entertaining, but their supporters need to pipe down. Their list is only slightly above average, only by the weight of their stacked midfield. Their losses haven't been terrible either, stayed with the premiers, and outdone by an improved Richmond and us by only a soft margin. The entitlement by the supporters is so misplaced.

What a tough win..

Only players down were hickey and dunstan imo... everyone played their role or better, billings to bounce back was fantastic, back 6 was PHENOMENAL, ross a real leader in the guts.

Bring on the cats #kickstraightplease

I didn't think Hickey was that bad and he probably suits Geelongs rucks better than teams with one big bull dominant ruck. After seeing Billings turn it around from last week I'm leaning towards letting Dunstan try to turn around his form in the seniors. Perhaps the only change next week might be Armo out sore and perhaps get to see Koby.

Hickey was good around the ground but i thought he was spanked in the centre bounces, i could be wrong on stats though.. just what i saw

I agree with you re dunstan, some are to quick to pull the trigger with selection

The throw scoop by i think it was crisp in the last was a sick joke.

I reckon I saw at least 10 throws by Pies players, none of which were paid. It's coached (them, the Dogs, quite a few other teams). Reckon players are told if they're under pressure and the umpire is blindsided, give it a whirl. Quite often the ball gets out so quick it's a real advantage for the throwing team.

Libba is the king of it. It's one of those, once you see it you can't un-see it. campaigners doing it everywhere.

Can't confirm but apparently the club wanted to bring in Kelly, Lachie Weller, Martin and Fyfe this week but the board said no.
Can confirm that I asked Nick if the boys could kick straight this week & he told me to get ****ed

:D

We aren't very popular with the umpires either. We have the least frees for of any team in the league.

Nicholls always kills us...hence why the pies can't bitch given armchair ride particularly the sliding into legs .

Leigh Matthews makes comments like that was probably holding the ball oh well we are talking all about Collingwood aren't we BT no free to Stkilda move on.

My view Minchington /Steven in their speed will worry Cats.
This is bullshit

Great win mate you called it early too

Last five minutes Collingwood couldn't be called for holding the ball/incorrect disposal no matter what they did.

It was ridiculous. Gotta give us at least 1 of the 5! Such immense pressure unrewarded. Game shouldn't have got to the stage that it did in the last Q because of those missed frees.

Dropping the ball from above your head, and it grazing your finger nails on the way down, is not a ******* handball.

Busted our arses off time and time again for them to get an easy rebound from that shit after being stopped cold in the tackle.

I'm still struggling with the Ben Reid high contact in the first quarter where he rolled into our blokes legs. His legs hit Reid in the torso, can't work out how that is high contact

And then can't work out how it's not dangerous contact below the knees to our bloke

It's easy once you wrap your head around the rules of the game at present;

If in the umpires opinion it's a high free; it's a high free.

Doesn't matter if he's 10m away and in the stands or on a cloud, all that matters is the umpire had a thought at that exact moment and should be commended for electrical impulses in the lobe.

Then there's no struggle because you understand that it's all bullshit no matter how you look at a situation.

The best thing is that despite this and the fact that umpires think, we won a game of footy. So #$$%^ em.

Interesting rumour apparently club wanted to drop mccartin and billings but board said no can't confirm accuracy regardless great game from jb
yeah nah

To quote BT, they're going absolutely bananas.

I do feel for Bucks though, having anything to do with that club is a poisoned chalice. The scrutiny is out of control, endlessly entertaining, but their supporters need to pipe down. Their list is only slightly above average, only by the weight of their stacked midfield. Their losses haven't been terrible either, stayed with the premiers, and outdone by an improved Richmond and us by only a soft margin. The entitlement by the supporters is so misplaced.

If that was us I'd be off my nut too, he was handed a club that had just won a premiership and he ran them into the ground. He sacked all their tall back because the Dogs and Saints etc still competed with smaller back lines. He seems to have no idea what he's doing. There would be a heap of delicious schadenfreude watching that train wreck but watching a despondent Harves sitting along side that clown steering his ship into an iceberg ruins my joy.

I saw someone posted the stats for 'Pressure Acts' earlier. Where do you get those numbers? First time I've seen that. Steele I think had the most. Lonie and Dunstan were pretty high.

The coaches must go on these stats as well. So many want these guys dropped, but there is clearly more to it. Think we had 8-10 with over 10 PA's and the Pies had 2. There's the game.

I'm still struggling with the Ben Reid high contact in the first quarter where he rolled into our blokes legs. His legs hit Reid in the torso, can't work out how that is high contact

And then can't work out how it's not dangerous contact below the knees to our bloke
I thought that one was OK tbh.

Reid was fielding the ball down on the ground first. That a high contact free was awarded I agree was somewhat dubious, but if the bloke is on the ground with the ball and someone runs into him, it's hardly his fault. He didn't slide in and take out his legs.

I hope some people feel silly for the dumb shit they have posted in the last week. Can't believe some of the shit I was reading

Never........ I stand by every dumb thing I have ever said. It's an emotional game, no one went too overboard and most of what was said happens at every club. The team responded and most of the negative stuff evaporates. It's like a magic potion, they play well the fans are satiated and stop acting like **** sticks. I promise to stop being an idiot if we keep winning.

Review Round 4: Saints v Pies