Autopsy Round 5, 2019: Melbourne v St.Kilda

Our defence is ridiculous.

Funny, Dees fans saying the same thing in their thread...

We know Richo loves giving BnF votes to the backline. Gonna be hard to see anyone beating Wilkie this year ;)

We are finally playing as a team for the team this year. I'ts not just individual efforts it is all across the ground!

To think this rag tag group of defenders could play so well. Now we have Paton slotting in next to Battle and Wilkie and seeming like another 200+ gamer.
Billings is elite. The amount of times he ran all the way back to put a spoil in the last line of defence showed how hard he works.
Marshall has been a revelation.
Kenty that's more like it!
Steele and Acres excellent.
Members outmarking Gawn and Preuss at the end there.
Excellent work by the whole team!

BvWEKqc.jpg

Hate to be pedantic after a GREAT win George , but any chance we could call this a Review thread rather than an Autopsy...which it definitely ain’t! :D
It was an autopsy for one side, that's for sure...

Our last 40 minutes was pretty garbage after we had them absolutely on the ropes, so we still need to work on fully putting teams away, but hopefully that will come.

PS- How bloody good is Wilkie! Literally looking better and better by the quarter I reckon. Confidence seems to be going through the roof!

I saw his first ever mistake today, someone got fingertips to his pressured kick. He's a freak of nature, he's like those scenes from The Matrix where the action around him slows down, he just kept doing his job like he's not even slightly flustered.

I’m so proud of the team right now. I can’t even put my finger on any individuals. It was such a great team effort across all lines! The defenders worked for each other as did the mids & forwards. 22 blokes played selfless footy unlike Melbourne who had 22 look at me campaigners!

I can’t believe how much the team & club has changed in the space of 6 months. Completely different vibe about the place. Everyone (on & off field) looks 100% committed to bettering the club!

Now all I want (apart from a flag) is for Billings & Gresh to hurry tf up & re-sign a long term deal.

Go Saints!

This young group:

- Lost their stalwarts in Riewoldt and Montagna at the end of 2017
- Had a genuinely disastrous 2018 season and were beaten from pillar to post as a result of it
- Went away and licked their wounds, put it behind them, came back and knuckled down into pre season
- Gained some fresh faces on and off field
- Got over the line by 1 point in Round 1 with all the pressure on them, got the monkey off the back

And now look to truly believe in themselves when no one outside the club believes in them. Proud of you guys, lets keep it going.

Wilkie, Paton, Battle, Savage, Geary, Brown take a ******* bow. Rebound from defensive 50 was as good as i’ve seen.
Gone are the headless chooks of 2018. Now we take our time and control the tempo in our defence. It really is a no name defence when you look at that list, but boy are they effective!

I’m so proud of the team right now. I can’t even put my finger on any individuals. It was such a great team effort across all lines! The defenders worked for each other as did the mids & forwards. 22 blokes played selfless footy unlike Melbourne who had 22 look at me campaigners!

I can’t believe how much the team & club has changed in the space of 6 months. Completely different vibe about the place. Everyone (on & off field) looks 100% committed to bettering the club!

Now all I want (apart from a flag) is for Billings & Gresh to hurry tf up & re-sign a long term deal.

Go Saints!
Yes.
B2261C5F-B0CD-4764-B03D-4EB6000C50E4.png

Momentum is a funny thing. Only thing we really miss is a match winning inside mid. I'd love ollie wines.

Go Saints!

Did I enjoy the win? Sure.

2DC80F61-19A5-4D9C-8945-6BF1060378B2.jpeg

Did I enjoy more how much HE enjoyed the win? You ****ing bet your ****ing arse I did!

If I weren’t a saints fan I would urge the AFL to investigate how we have got a defence consisting of a converted forward, an old ass defende and a rookie to gel so well. Honesltyis pure sorcery

One has played four games one seven and we also put Patton in in about his fourth game. They play like a unit.

Autopsy Round 5, 2019: Melbourne v St.Kilda