Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*

I think we'll see a fair bit of list turnover this year. It's a year of exploration as RTB puts it. We've definitely got some great players that you can build a list around, but we've also got some glaring deficiencies. It wouldn't surprise me if Dougs is moved on by the end of the year, wouldn't mind seeing Van Es get a game.

100% this.

It’s easy to forget that after the start to the year we have had that this year is very much about RTB identifying what changes he has to make to get us up to top 4 standard.

Still too many passengers and massively lacking in depth.

I think we'll see a fair bit of list turnover this year. It's a year of exploration as RTB puts it. We've definitely got some great players that you can build a list around, but we've also got some glaring deficiencies. It wouldn't surprise me if Dougs is moved on by the end of the year, wouldn't mind seeing Van Es get a game.
Van Es looks promising but still developing- not AFL standard yet

If that happened.

Gut the list.

I think they've turned flaky again. Can't see any reason that we should expect a win against them. North troubled us and we've turned soft and lazy. GWS are a level above North, we look like the Hawks could make it hard for us the last few weeks.

Been signs of this kind of a result coming since the Port game.

It started before that.
Reckon the Pies showed everyone how to do it. And we've allowed them by continuing to play exactly the same way.

Need to change a few things up and so it's time for the coaching group to get on top of things.

It started before that.
Reckon the Pies showed everyone how to do it. And we've allowed them by continuing to play exactly the same way.

Need to change a few things up and so it's time for the coaching group to get on top of things.

Good point, Carlton were so bad that it kind of masked the deficiencies too.

So really it’s been 4 amazing weeks then 5 shaky ones.

Having sat there and suffered all of it, I do have a different perspective from reading the majority of comments.
Adelaide played really well, they spread wide from right back in their defence and ran wide to that lead too.
Split us open and used their speed and skills to advantage back through the corridor.
We were playing the same way we have all year, and that’s useless if your lockdown gear is getting blown apart and you don’t have the defensive speed to run with the opposition.
A lot of the bad plays were due to simple skill errors (Wood kicking into the man, Battle hitting his pass away from the direction of Sharman’s lead).
Some were due to poor effort (BRADLEY HILL tapping to the opposition???).
Some were due to exhaustion (Owens, Higgins and Byrnes in particular worked really hard).
A lot were due to trying to create play but just stuffing it up.
RTB wants them to create play!

However, this game is a good “audit”. 😂😂😂

Key areas to address:

One of Ross, Steele or Crouch needs to be replaced in that starting midfield role.
They are not the future.
Time to start grooming the kids.
I see Windhager has had a good game at Sandy, put him in plus replace the injured Steele with Bytel.
That’s fine for next week, but needs to be done more than that.
Max definitely in next week, replacing Membery.
Sharman is a very lucky fellow. At one point today he had no idea what he was doing, completely lost positioning. I cannot see him long term, think he’s just going to be a not quite footballer.

We need a KPD not named Howard.
Tex schooled him, so they swapped him and Wilkie.
Meaning Wilkie was undersized, playing on Tex and being creamed, while Howard had the easiest job on Fogarty. This took away Cal’s intercept influence.
Plus, does Howard have only one hand and arm? You would think so looking at his “marking” efforts. Spoiling should not be your number one wood when you’re that tall and that quick.
Unless you’re not a good footballer to begin with.
I hope Van Es is a pearler.

Billings is not the answer, he did very little at Sandringham and needs more match time anyway.

Definitely need help for Marshall, we will do a Cripps to Owens otherwise.

Anyone know we started Pou at CHF and CHB in first and second?

Otherwise, today is the same garbage I have been watching for a decade.

I wanted billings in but hearing how people regard him I don’t believe he’ll make us much better anymore. “We’re ****ed if we have to rely on billings to save us” and such

Dmac would improve us a lot if he can get his body right.

Senior players that can move somewhat quickly and crack in are rare at St Kilda.

I think the fact he kicked 5 against the competition's best defence means he might have a while before he needs to think about commentary. Maybe he'll go into the magic industry and pull Wilkie out his back pocket? xo
I just pulled a week ban out of my hat. This magic thing is pretty cool after all 🪄

Worst press conference of the year by the Boss. Lots of excuses, using plenty of jargon to pretend we played well.

You got pantsed mate and we've been down on form for many weeks now. That was Ratts type footy thought we were done with this s**t
You're joking. He was making excuses? Jesus. I haven't seen it yet.

Perhaps he is blanketing his players from external criticism and internally roasting them - at least I'd hope that's the case.

I wanted billings in but hearing how people regard him I don’t believe he’ll make us much better anymore. “We’re ****ed if we have to rely on billings to save us” and such

I wasn't one of them, he is still a classy player, he didn't go at pick 3 for no reason, he would make us a better team if he can get back to his best.

I will be disappointed if he doesn't get a game for us soon, we aren't playing well enough to leave a guy with his talent just wasting away in the VFL.

Who here can articulate Byrnes’ role?
I can:
When we have the ball

His role is to be one of the extras in defence and then run forward with the ball, as ball carrier or outlier for connection to midfield then forwards.

When they have the ball

His role is to fill space and provide contest irrespective of where they get the ball and where he is.

He did some fantastic gut running today and deserves his place.

He is a smaller version of Mason Wood.

Your question should be: Who here can articulate Hill’s role?

I can

His role is to shirk contact, shirk contest and shirk responsibility.

That effort in the first when he taps it to the opposition sums it up completely.

You can thank me later.

Well that went well.

sunny3193 i said I hope we win so you can enjoy some of the Barossa's finest - well... how about a commiseration drop instead.

Awful stuff. Crows played well, no doubt there. But our basic skills are seriously concerning, a genuine inability to hit a target by either hand or foot. Our inside 50s are regularly misguided, a shank, bomb, or just a bad decision (3 on 1).

Again we look like the Saints of old. Its been coming the last few weeks.
There’s 11 bottles, a visiting bro in law in a fortnight, and every reason to believe they will not see week #3.

I can:
When we have the ball

His role is to be one of the extras in defence and then run forward with the ball, as ball carrier or outlier for connection to midfield then forwards.

When they have the ball

His role is to fill space and provide contest irrespective of where they get the ball and where he is.

He did some fantastic gut running today and deserves his place.

He is a smaller version of Mason Wood.

Your question should be: Who here can articulate Hill’s role?

I can

His role is to shirk contact, shirk contest and shirk responsibility.

That effort in the first when he taps it to the opposition sums it up completely.

You can thank me later.
I don’t see it.

Doesn’t defend well, doesn’t take ground, doesn’t use it well, can’t tackle, doesn’t hurt in any way really.

Agree Hill was back to his insipid ways of the Ratts era today.

Why do we not mix it up ever? All other top teams running their young guns through the middle but Owens is stuck in the forward line even though we had caminiti sharman membrey and POU in there.
POU should get some mid time. Clark adds a point of difference in there and Sincs NEEDS to be in there full time.
Windy not even in the team.
Just bizarre we stay with Ross crouch Steele for the majority of the game when they clearly aren’t working.

It's ridiculous

"year of exploration"

Come on

You'd probably cut him some slack as this is about his 6th game of footy and he's coming off a 3 week break. It's a big ask for him and Owens to compete week in week out with no cover. I think this game has highlighted that we still have a need for another key forward. Still a good effort to kick a couple of goals, give the kid time.
Plus, the delivery to them was terrible.
There was one instance of frustrated body language by Owens in the third.
He had busted a gut to get to the ball drop to compete only to have the delivery of the ball to the defender side.
Who sagged off to the running half backs.
Owens just stopped and dropped his shoulders.
Caminiti had similar issues.

Autopsy Round 9, 2023: Adelaide v St.Kilda *SINCLAIR 150TH*