rumour Leigh Matthews to coach Carlton next year

Being a bit harsh to the OP here guys.

Clearly his 'sause' is FOS, and it perhaps didnt need to be posted... but that doesn treally justify ripping into him like some of you have. TBH ive heard some pretty far out rumours in here that have actually turned out to be true (The Judd to Carlton one comes to mind), and a few other rumours that while completley unfounded, provoked discussion and debate nevertheless.

A bit of fun teasing of the OP for being sucked in is fine, but some of the responses are a little over the top, amd a a few are down right mean.

We're all on the same team remember.

you do realise that anyone can be on any of the other 16 teams side with a click of a button...

Yeah I get that. But Ill leave that for the Mods to sort out.

He/ she/ it could actually be a legit CFC supporter reporting a (clearly dodgy) rumour that he/ she/ it has heard. We dont need to get all hyper-agressive by flaming the shit out of the OP for 5+ pages.

We need to balance between dissuading trolls from posting crap on our board, and legit posters posting rumours/ stories/ articles/ events relating to CFC that may actually turn out to be true, or provoke conversation and debate amongst BF members.

You never know. Some newbie out there might stumble upon something good (know a friend of a player who has been approached by Carlton for a trade etc) and be too scared to report it on here due to the fear of being flamed unmercilessly.

Yeah - Leigh Matthews coming to Carlton is BS rumour. We all get that. But I figure lets ease off a tad, and let the Mods do thier job.

Just my two cents. Each to their own I guess.

Oh and by the way...

I heard Lethal barracked for us as a Kid.

:rolleyes:

Heard a rumour today from a very reliable source, that Leigh Matthews will coach Carlton next year, having recently purchased a very flash new house in Hawthorn in the last week.

I say rumour because I know how many people will have a dip at this claim if I were to come out and say it straight away. Thoughts?

Obviously factual I mean what club wouldn't pay out there exisitng contracted coach in Ratten 500k and then pay another coach 1mil a year... Yep Ratts might as well start celaning out his desk. I am pretty sure Matthews is bringing Aker as his right hand man as well !!!!

Why bother posting such rubbish ????

Ratten is contracted and the curent season is only half over who knows what can be achieved this year - so I hardly think a deal has been or is even remorelty likley to have been brokered with Leigh Matthews or any other coach. Stop talking sh** birdbrain !!!!

I can see how purchasing a nice house in Hawthorn means he must be coaching Carlton !!!

Pretty big on the personal attacks mate. Not very beneficial to the topic. If you dont agree with what I've heard. Don't comment on it. I was simply making it available for people to discuss. Stick to footy mate. Doesn't say alot about you having a dig at people you dont know. Comments like yours prevent people from posting on these sites for fear of attack or being put down. Must feel pretty big behind that computer screen

He actually must be pretty small to fit behind a computer screen - birdbrain !!!!

Very fair point. However, shouldnt a well respected poster should know when to draw the line and leave the bantering for Bay 13? I was after simple yes/no responses to see if people would like to see Leigh at the blues and just to generate some talk apart from the simple ins/outs for the week.

You really expected people to actually believe you ??? a newbie with a ludicrous claim ...ffs you really do need to get a dose of reality .

Just because a person buys a house does not mean he will be coaching.
Just because some knob has a lend of you by telling you bullshit does not make it a reality.

I always make a point of disregarding any rumours from newbies..i am yet to regret that creed.

ASW comes to mind when reading your replys .

Why bother posting such rubbish... Stop talking sh** birdbrain !!!!

He actually must be pretty small to fit behind a computer screen - birdbrain !!!!

You really expected people to actually believe you ??? a newbie with a ludicrous claim ...ffs you really do need to get a dose of reality .

I always make a point of disregarding any rumours from newbies..i am yet to regret that creed.

I tried.

That you did. :thumbsu:

There sure are some angry people out there, it seems.
It makes me feel like being party to a road rage situation.

Maybe there should be a name for it: Cage Rage? (as most are in offices of some sort)

Haha - yeah... Cage rage - I like that.

We seem to lose all sense of civility and manners on internet forums. I reckon that contributes to keeping otherwise informed and knowledgable posters away from the boards.

Its just whenever someone says something a little stupid, suddenly there is this mad rush by dozens of posters to kick them in the nuts.

The irony is, it actually makes the nut kickers look worse than the OP who posted the questionable information in the first place.

Or the OP could be a troll. And I may be wrong... but dont trolls feed on negative responses? I mean isnt that why they go to such elobrate ruses and post rubbish in the first place?

Either way you look at it, its counter productive to go on an on in a tirade against the OP.

Well, he'll have a fair conflict of interest seeing as he's just joined the Laws of the Game Committee. But you keep rolling with that rumour.

law 1. Carlton must have the most premierships.

Looks like this thread is a massive fail seeing as Leigh has joind the rules committee. :rolleyes:

As for the people sticking up for the OP had he/she stated in the first post that "Carlton are looking at maybe appointing Leigh next year should our season turn to shit and we don't make the finals." Then maybe they wouldn't have copped so much crap. Instead they come up and say his already signed for next season it's done, it's quite obvious coz his bought a house in Hawthorn despite the fact its a different Hawthorn(e)...lol.

The person is either a troll or very ignorant and naive.

Question -

If We lose every game for the rest of year (a very unlikely situation i realise, but still techincally possible) how many of you people would call for Ratten's sacking then ???

In fact knowing the way Swann and this club operates, I have no doubt Ratten would be given the arse if that unlikely situation were to occur ...

Some of you posters here who have resorted to disgusting personal abuse and insults at the OP, instead of responding in a more constructive and less 'pathetic' type of retorts for disagreeing with his 'rumour', should take a good hard look in the mirror ..

I see nothing wrong with the OP, but I see something really rotten in the immature and vindicitive way some of you have ganged up on a fellow Carlton supporter on this board ...

For shame .

CP if we were losing games etc then this thread woudl be treated with respect, however that is not the case, we are sitting in the 8 and don't look like dropping out, the coach has done wonders considering where we came from and some idiot comes on starting a thread about sacking Ratts at years end and replacing him with Matthews.

If it took losing the next 10 games to sack Ratts, why would the club be talking to Matthews now, if as the OP states that Mattews will be coach, then wouldn't the decision be made already, that is why the OP has no idea.

People who come on here with rumours with no real back up apart from buying a house then why shoudn't we have a go?? its our club and with people like this talking sh1t we may as well invite Elliott in here!!

Actually I think you'll find that Warsaws, celtic, blue ninja comments were all constructive.

I'm not about to be intimated and not post on here.

No willing to disuss the out coached topic i posted??

I think i found your source
75729956_d3ad022c13.jpg

If it was true, wouldn't want him as coach, that dudes the biggest tool going round right behind Robert Walls and Andy Maher

Heard a rumour today from a very reliable source, that Leigh Matthews will coach Carlton next year, having recently purchased a house on Mayfair in the last week.

I say rumour because I know how many people will have a dip at this claim if I were to come out and say it straight away. Personally I prefer to collect utilities and railways but what are people's thoughts if Lethal buys Park Lane and puts a hotel on the site?

Heard a rumour today from a very reliable source, that Leigh Matthews will coach Carlton next year, having recently purchased a house on Mayfair in the last week.

I say rumour because I know how many people will have a dip at this claim if I were to come out and say it straight away. Personally I prefer to collect utilities and railways but what are people's thoughts if Lethal buys Park Lane and puts a hotel on the site?
he'll have to clear it with harry madden first!

He could coach Kangaroos. They'd be Old Kent Road right?

I heard a rumour that the OP recently bought a copy of 'Make Up Your Own-opoly' ;) You have to laugh at yourself sometimes skippa :)

I blame it on the split round

rumour Leigh Matthews to coach Carlton next year