Opinion Sack Hinkley 10 - UnTENable

There will eventually come a day when Port slides down the ladder and is anchored down near the bottom like my own club right now... and all you blokes who are currently calling for Kenny's head will be wondering why you couldn't enjoy the footy when your team was good.
You are wrong about a lot, but especially wrong here. We were down the bottom in 2010-2012 and I loved the club a lot more than I do now.

In fact we desperately need to get back down to the bottom 4 as its probably the best way to get change. I'd take a spoon in a heartbeat if it meant getting rid of Hinkley.

But no I'm sure that guy who thinks our natural improvement next year is going to come from Xavier Duursma knows Port better than actual fans lol.

arrogant Hawks supporters still high off their threepeat talking down to other fans "you're sooooo close!". mate when you get off that high you'll start holding your club accountable, you just don't give a shit for a few years cos you won it all recently, your belly's full

Pre-eminent BigFooty poster, “Back One Out”, laying down some wisdom.
Cannot express how grateful I am.

Oh right. :rolleyes: So because the the Hawks have won 4 flags since your last, that means I can't express my opinion that Port have been a good team - well coached, well managed - and they just need to keep presenting, keep contending, and with a little luck, they can win a premiership?

And you've misinterpreted me with this quote of yours: Port fans are expecting to much asking for one

You're got it ass backwards

What I actually said was Port fans are asking too much by expecting a flag. They don't hand them out, mate. They're not a participation award. Just because you finish in the top 4, or hosted a couple of Prelim Finals, that doesn't mean you should've won a flag by now.

I never expected any of Hawthorn's last 4 flags. I just barracked for my team, supported the club and crossed my fingers. I'll be the first to admit we had a lot of luck. People always talked about Geelong's inaccuracy in 2008. Sure. But what they never mention was Hawthorn's incredible accuracy in front of goal... 18.7 !!! Our blokes were kicking goals out of their arses that day. Geelong was the clearly better team that year. Somehow we won.

You think I don't reflect on how lucky we got in successive Prelims (v Geel/Port) ? We DOMINATED in 2013 and 2014... and yet we snuck through to the GF by the barest margins... Travis Varcoe was wide open and missed from 30m and every Hawks fan nearly had a seizure. Port stormed over the top of Hawthorn in 2014 with 4 late goals... Andrew Moore literally had the game on his boot when he lined up a difficult set shot from the boundary line which would've out you blokes into the GF had it gone through. You reckon I don't play that over in my mind when I reflect on Hawthorn's 2014 premiership?

There's always a lot of luck involved in winning any premiership.

All you can you is support your team and enjoy the ride.
I don't suppose you've seen Hinkley's stats against top 4 teams? His game plan is based around beating up on strugglers during the minor round - come September, we go missing every time.

What I actually said was Port fans are asking too much by expecting a flag. They don't hand them out, mate. They're not a participation award. Just because you finish in the top 4, or hosted a couple of Prelim Finals, that doesn't mean you should've won a flag by now.
Yeah, we know they don't just hand them out. That's exactly why we need to get rid of the coach who has proven himself incapable of even getting to a Grand Final let alone winning one, and the Chairman who seems to think that they will just hand a flag out to Kenny if we stick with him long enough.

Hawthorn sacked the most successful coach of the modern era after 6 years of no Premierships and everyone went "yeah, fair enough, time for change I reckon". We bring up wanting change after 11 years of having the longest serving coach without a grand final and get told "woah woah show down you're being a bit unreasonable there, what if year 13 is the year?"
Nope.

Hawthorn sacked Clarko after 17 seasons... Or to be more precise... He was sacked 6 years after he'd badly misjudged our list and frittered away numerous picks and money on the likes of Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Meara, Ty Vickery, Chad Wingard, Jarman Impey, Tom Phillips, Tom Scully, Jonathan Patton and Sam Frost.

These guys were all paid a lot more than they were worth. Clarko's list management (post-3peat) was a complete failure. With these top-up recruits, the Hawks slid from 4th (15-7) to 9th (11-11) to 15th (5-12) to 17th (4-1-13) when the decision was finally made to look beyond Clarko and think about rebuilding the team with Sam Mitchell as coach. See, that was the main problem with Clarkson - his utter refusal to develop young players and rebuild the team with youth.

You say you want change after "11 years of having the longest serving coach without a grand final". But I'm not sure of the relevancy of Hinkley's first 7 years in charge when the past 4 seasons has yielded three top 4 finishes. He seems to be doing a pretty good job in recent years. He is coaching way better than Clarkson did in his final few years with the Hawks. We STUNK. We were UNWATCHABLE. Boring nil-all draws for 3 quarters with ultra-defensive game plans, before we'd inevitably lose by 5-6 goals. He coached all the spontaneity and initiative out of his players. It was horrible to watch.

I would understand your point if Port was under-performing with their talented list and finishing down in 9th, 10th, 11th place on the ladder. Except they're not. They've won a lot of games and played great footy..

This idea of yours that Port's "home and away wins are meaningless" and Ken should be sacked for not winning a flag is incredibly daft. Coaches get their players to follow a process and if the players execute the gameplan, the wins should follow. They don't coach differently in finals. They try to win enough games to finish in the top 8, top 4, and then keep it going for another 3 or 4 games in September.

You blokes have been thereabouts. Would another coach have done any better than Ken? I don't think so.

Nope.

Hawthorn sacked Clarko after 17 seasons... Or to be more precise... He was sacked 6 years after he'd badly misjudged our list and frittered away numerous picks and money on the likes of Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Meara, Ty Vickery, Chad Wingard, Jarman Impey, Tom Phillips, Tom Scully, Jonathan Patton and Sam Frost.

These guys were all paid a lot more than they were worth. Clarko's list management (post-3peat) was a complete failure. With these big money recruits, the Hawks slid from 4th (15-7) to 9th (11-11) to 15th (5-12) to 17th (4-1-13) when the decision was finally made to look beyond Clarko and think about rebuilding the team with Sam Mitchell as coach. See, that was the main problem with Clarkson - his utter refusal to develop young players and rebuild the team with youth.

You say you want change after "11 years of having the longest serving coach without a grand final". But I'm not sure of the relevancy of Hinkley's first 7 years in charge when the past 4 seasons has yielded three top 4 finishes. He seems to be doing a pretty good job in recent years. He is coaching way better than Clarkson was when he was finally given the arse.

I would understand your point if Port was under-performing with their talented list and finishing down in 9th, 10th, 11th place on the ladder. Except they're not. They've won a lot of games.

This idea of yours that "home and away wins are meaningless" and he should be sacked for losing finals is incredibly daft.
Why do you even care?

Nope.

These guys were all paid a lot more than they were worth. Clarko's list management (post-3peat) was a complete failure. With these top-up recruits, the Hawks slid from 4th (15-7) to 9th (11-11) to 15th (5-12) to 17th (4-1-13) when the decision was finally made to look beyond Clarko and think about rebuilding the team with Sam Mitchell as coach. See, that was the main problem with Clarkson - his utter refusal to develop young players and rebuild the team with youth.

You say you want change after "11 years of having the longest serving coach without a grand final". But I'm not sure of the relevancy of Hinkley's first 7 years in charge when the past 4 seasons has yielded three top 4 finishes. He seems to be doing a pretty good job in recent years. He is coaching way better than Clarkson did in his final few years with the Hawks. We STUNK. We were UNWATCHABLE. Boring nil-all draws for 3 quarters with ultra-defensive game plans, before we'd inevitably lose by 5-6 goals. He coached all the spontaneity and initiative out of his players. It was horrible to watch.

I would understand your point if Port was under-performing with their talented list and finishing down in 9th, 10th, 11th place on the ladder. Except they're not. They've won a lot of games.

This idea of yours that "home and away wins are meaningless" and he should be sacked for losing finals is incredibly daft. Coaches get their players to follow a process and if the players execute the gameplan, the wins should follow. They don't coach differently in finals. They try to win enough games to finish in the top 8, top 4, and then keep it going for another 3 or 4 games in September.
But there's better coaches out there - if we'd had the guts to sack Ken and get Kingsley or McRae, I have no doubt that we would have made at least one grand final by now. Every other club has gotten rid of an underperforming coach, so why are we different?

Nope.

I would understand your point if Port was under-performing with their talented list and finishing down in 9th, 10th, 11th place on the ladder. Except they're not. They've won a lot of games and played great footy..

This idea of yours that Port's "home and away wins are meaningless" and Ken should be sacked for not winning a flag is incredibly daft. Coaches get their players to follow a process and if the players execute the gameplan, the wins should follow. They don't coach differently in finals. They try to win enough games to finish in the top 8, top 4, and then keep it going for another 3 or 4 games in September.

You blokes have been thereabouts. Would another coach have done any better than Ken? I don't think so.
I appreciate your contribution to this forum. Every post you make gets us closer to sack Hinkley part 10.

Why do you even care?
Why do you care? It's all meaningless. It's just a stupid game. The only reason the AFL even exists is so the stakerholders can make a shitload of money by milking our obsessive interest in a silly ball sport. Nothing anyone posts on here makes any difference. So why do you care if I barrack for Hawthorn and not Port? It's just footy discussion, innit?

To answer your question, I find the endless "Sack Hinkley" drama to be one of the more vexing & interesting AFL issues.

Like Rodney Eade in the previous era before him, the guy can CLEARLY coach. Hinkley's results have been consistently good over a long period. Players want to play for him. He gets the best out of them. No trouble attracting top quality recruits from other clubs. Port play fantastic footy. Very watchable. Entertaining. Some great wins. Some great finals wins.

But it's not enough for the Port diehards. They demand a premiership and view Kenny as a failure.

It's a paradox in our sport that every year, 17 coaches & teams are branded as failures and only one is viewed as successful.

Why do you care? It's all meaningless. It's just a stupid game. The only reason the AFL even exists is so the stakerholders can make a shitload of money by milking our obsessive interest in a silly ball sport. Nothing anyone posts on here makes any difference. So why do you care if I barrack for Hawthorn and not Port? It's just footy discussion, innit?

To answer your question, I find the endless "Sack Hinkley" drama to be one of the more vexing & interesting AFL issues.

Like Rodney Eade in the previous era before him, the guy can CLEARLY coach. Hinkley's results have been consistently good over a long period. Players want to play for him. He gets the best out of them. No trouble attracting top quality recruits from other clubs. Port play fantastic footy. Very watchable. Entertaining. Some great wins. Some great finals wins.

But it's not enough for the Port diehards. They demand a premiership and view Kenny as a failure.

It's a paradox in our sport that every year, 17 coaches & teams are branded as failures and only one is viewed as successful.
Lmao

Nope.

Lol incredible.

Not only do you not have a clue about Port you don't even have a clue about your own team.

SOME GREAT FINALS WINS
2021 QF... Port 12.14 d. Geelong 5.13

2020 QF... Port 9.4 d. Geelong 5.12

2014 EF... Port 20.12 d. Richmond 11.9
2014 SF... Port 15.15 d. Fremantle 11.17 (away in Perth)

2013 EF... Port 12.15 d. Collingwood 9.9 (away at the MCG)

These were all great wins.

Most of Ken's finals losses over the years were great games when the team gave it their best shot.
I don't think you can say Ken's coaching is no good in September, that his game plan doesn't hold up, etc, etc..

This year's finals fadeout was obviously very disappointing. The team looked pretty cooked. Players were banged up, carrying injuries, down on form. I don't think you should crucify the coach for that.

Oh right. :rolleyes: So because the the Hawks have won 4 flags since your last, that means I can't express my opinion that Port have been a good team - well coached, well managed - and they just need to keep presenting, keep contending, and with a little luck, they can win a premiership?

And you've misinterpreted me with this quote of yours: Port fans are expecting to much asking for one

You're got it ass backwards

I never expected any of Hawthorn's last 4 flags. I just barracked for my team, supported the club and crossed my fingers. I'll be the first to admit we had a lot of luck. People always talked about Geelong's inaccuracy in 2008. Sure. But what they never mention was Hawthorn's incredible accuracy in front of goal... 18.7 !!! Our blokes were kicking goals out of their arses that day. Geelong was the clearly better team that year. Somehow we won.

You think I don't reflect on how lucky we got in successive Prelims (v Geel/Port) ? We DOMINATED in 2013 and 2014... and yet we snuck through to the GF by the barest margins... Travis Varcoe was wide open and missed from 30m and every Hawks fan nearly had a seizure. Port stormed over the top of Hawthorn in 2014 with 4 late goals... Andrew Moore literally had the game on his boot when he lined up a difficult set shot from the boundary line which would've out you blokes into the GF had it gone through. You reckon I don't play that over in my mind when I reflect on Hawthorn's 2014 premiership?

There's always a lot of luck involved in winning any premiership.

All you can you is support your team and enjoy the ride.
Happy to swap Donuts with Mitchell?

2021 QF... Port 12.14 d. Geelong 5.13

2020 QF... Port 9.4 d. Geelong 5.12

2014 EF... Port 20.12 d. Richmond 11.9
2014 SF... Port 15.15 d. Fremantle 11.17 (away in Perth)

2013 EF... Port 12.15 d. Collingwood 9.9 (away at the MCG)

These were all great wins.

Most of Ken's finals losses over the years were great games when the team gave it their best shot.
I don't think you can say Ken's coaching is no good in September, that his game plan doesn't hold up, etc, etc..

This year's finals fadeout was obviously very disappointing. The team looked pretty cooked. Players were banged up, carrying injuries, down on form. I don't think you should crucify the coach for that.

We've lost our last 3 finals games by a total of 142 points - all against teams that we beat the previous time we played them.

We've been eliminated in home final defeats in our last 4 finals campaigns - all against teams that we beat the previous time we played them.

What the hell are you talking about.