Opinion Sack Hinkley 10 - UnTENable

Oh right. :rolleyes: So because the the Hawks have won 4 flags since your last, that means I can't express my opinion that Port have been a good team - well coached, well managed - and they just need to keep presenting, keep contending, and with a little luck, they can win a premiership?

And you've misinterpreted me with this quote of yours: Port fans are expecting to much asking for one

You're got it ass backwards

What I actually said was Port fans are asking too much by expecting a flag. They don't hand them out, mate. They're not a participation award. Just because you finish in the top 4, or hosted a couple of Prelim Finals, that doesn't mean you should've won a flag by now.

I never expected any of Hawthorn's last 4 flags. I just barracked for my team, supported the club and crossed my fingers. I'll be the first to admit we had a lot of luck. People always talked about Geelong's inaccuracy in 2008. Sure. But what they never mention was Hawthorn's incredible accuracy in front of goal... 18.7 !!! Our blokes were kicking goals out of their arses that day. Geelong was the clearly better team that year. Somehow we won.

You think I don't reflect on how lucky we got in successive Prelims (v Geel/Port) ? We DOMINATED in 2013 and 2014... and yet we snuck through to the GF by the barest margins... Travis Varcoe was wide open and missed from 30m and every Hawks fan nearly had a seizure. Port stormed over the top of Hawthorn in 2014 with 4 late goals... Andrew Moore literally had the game on his boot when he lined up a difficult set shot from the boundary line which would've out you blokes into the GF had it gone through. You reckon I don't play that over in my mind when I reflect on Hawthorn's 2014 premiership?

There's always a lot of luck involved in winning any premiership.

All you can you is support your team and enjoy the ride.
Yeah you're right. Clarkson is just a mediocre coach who got lucky.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The true measure of any great football club is how loudly the supporters can demand the sacking of its coach. :rolleyes::thumbsu:

Nothing spells SUCCESS like giving the arse to the coach to consistently takes his team to the top 4, but can't take the next step because he is so iNcOmPeTEnt.

There will eventually come a day when Port slides down the ladder and is anchored down near the bottom like my own club right now... and all you blokes who are currently calling for Kenny's head will be wondering why you couldn't enjoy the footy when your team was good.
Based on what evidence?

No team has EVER kept a coach this long without making a GF.

Based on the actual evidence all of the most successful clubs would have sacked him sooner.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

2021 QF... Port 12.14 d. Geelong 5.13

2020 QF... Port 9.4 d. Geelong 5.12

2014 EF... Port 20.12 d. Richmond 11.9
2014 SF... Port 15.15 d. Fremantle 11.17 (away in Perth)

2013 EF... Port 12.15 d. Collingwood 9.9 (away at the MCG)

These were all great wins.

Most of Ken's finals losses over the years were great games when the team gave it their best shot.
I don't think you can say Ken's coaching is no good in September, that his game plan doesn't hold up, etc, etc..

This year's finals fadeout was obviously very disappointing. The team looked pretty cooked. Players were banged up, carrying injuries, down on form. I don't think you should crucify the coach for that.
Now list the shit losses.

2 posts ago you were saying you weren't sure why we were talking about anything past the last 4 or so years because it's irrelevant, now your backing up your claim we've had "some great finals wins" with 3/5 being nearly 10 years ago.

We've won 2 finals, both non-elmination, both at home and both when the opposition were under strict COVID protocols, in the past 8 years. Incredible stuff. Inspiring. 10 more years of Ken please

Most of Ken's finals losses over the years were great games when the team gave it their best shot.
I don't think you can say Ken's coaching is no good in September, that his game plan doesn't hold up, etc, etc..

This year's finals fadeout was obviously very disappointing. The team looked pretty cooked. Players were banged up, carrying injuries, down on form. I don't think you should crucify the coach for that.
Nobody is crucifying the coach for 2023 or particularly cares about the finals series this year.

These threads have been going since 2017 when it became clear that he wasn't capable of delivering and have simply been proven correct every year since then.

We used to get a lot of defenders in here, myself included in the early years but now they have completely died out except the odd pop up from some random with absolutely zero understanding of football or Port because even the most hardline defenders have now accepted that those who called it in 2017 have been proven correct. Its actually not a coincidence that you think Xavier Duursma is going to improve for us next year because that's the complete lack of knowledge of the club you would need to have to still be defending him after 11 years.

5 Finals wins in 10 years - What a Coach! A 2 year extension is too short!

Supporters would be insane to expect more!

5 Finals wins in 10 years - What a Coach! A 2 year extension is too short!

Supporters would be insane to expect more!
Compare that to Chris Scott's finals record in the 10 years prior to Geelong's 2022 premiership

7 wins, 15 losses

Geelong supporters also had a long-running thread on their board where the haters demanded his sacking.

Compare that to Chris Scott's finals record in the 10 years prior to Geelong's 2022 premiership

7 wins, 15 losses

Geelong supporters also a long-running thread on their board where the haters demanded that he should be sacked.

That pesky flag he already had in the back pocket is a bit of a difference, no?

This is what you get when you bandwagon after the 2nd Hawks premiership.

"Enjoy the ride guys...I did."
I bandwagoned after the Hawks 3rd premiership in 1976. Been to every Hawthorn Grand Final since.
I've seen them win 10 premierships and I've been posting on Big Footy for 20 years.

Geez, how sad am I? :D :$

We should keep Hinkley because he won a semi final in 2014. 2014!

2014 was 9 years ago. When Hawthorn sacked Clarkson, he'd won three premierships within the last 9 years. Port haven't even won a knockout final.

That pesky flag he already had in the back pocket is a bit of a difference, no?
He took over the super-team created by Bomber Thompson (who was let go for *reasons)... He stayed out of the way and won a flag in his 1st season as coach. For the next decade, he supposedly "squandered" the talents of Selwood, Scarlett, Enright, Johnson, Hawkins, Bartel, Chapman, Taylor, Kelly, Mackie, Stokes, Varcoe, Motlop, Duncan, Guthrie, Blicavs, and Patrick f**kin Dangerfield.

I'm just repeating the words of the "Sack Chris Scott" brigade on the Geelong Board, by the way. I don't personally think he "squandered" their talents. I think he coached really well in those years. The Cats just couldn't get over the Prelim Final hump. It happens.

I bandwagoned after the Hawks 3rd premiership in 1976. Been to every Hawthorn Grand Final since.
I've seen them win 10 premierships and I've been posting on Big Footy for 20 years.

Geez, how sad am I? :D :$

Yeah OK it was a little joke.

To understand the reason why these supporters are so upset starts by understanding the pafc culture and history. You obviously can't, but before making comments like you have I would start by understanding the pafc culture and history.

What's taken place the past half a decade or so has absolutely destroyed this ethos this culture this history...2 captains was the start.

It not about winning premierships it's about protecting the history the culture the ethos the definition of PAFC.

But you can never understand this being an outside supporter looking in

7 wins, 15 losses

Geelong supporters also a long-running thread on their board where the haters demanded that he should be sacked.
Geelong's 2022 premiership

The true measure of any great football club is how loudly the supporters can demand the sacking of its coach. :rolleyes::thumbsu:

Nothing spells SUCCESS like giving the arse to the coach to consistently takes his team to the top 4, but can't take the next step because he is so iNcOmPeTEnt.

There will eventually come a day when Port slides down the ladder and is anchored down near the bottom like my own club right now... and all you blokes who are currently calling for Kenny's head will be wondering why you couldn't enjoy the footy when your team was good.

Do you know we’re 29-30 in night games at Adelaide Oval, and 10-11 in Showdowns under Ken Hinkley?

This isn’t some great golden era.

It’s a decade of pure mediocrity with a 33-3 record against the mighty Suns/Roos/Saints superficially hyperinflating the numbers, allowing casual observers to drop pearls of wisdom such as “he’s got a higher win% than Dimma, Choco and Clarko!”.

The 2017 Elimination Final and 2021 Prelim Final were both sackable offences in isolation, without any further context.

The 2017 Elimination Final doesn't get as harshly treated as it should. It was a diabolical performance and result.

Imagine someone telling you in the deepest darkest part of 2011 that we’d eventually have a new coach, who’d be here for at least 11 years — with the promise of 2 more — for a grand total of 0 Grand Finals, 0 flags and a sub-50% record in finals, local derbies and marquee home fixtures.

And fans of Hawthorn and Geelong would intermittently Portsplain to you that you should be grateful.

Glory be.

I'm curious what you mean by this sentence. It's difficult to decipher. Are you saying Ken and the Port admin are overly defensive when their performance is scrutinised by fans & media; and they are too quick to brush off any fair criticism as agenda-driven "hate" ? Is that the gist of what you are saying here?

If so, can you blame them? Port has been a Top 4 team in three of the past four seasons and the coach has been criticised like they'd finished in the bottom four every year. The constant calls for Ken's sacking by Port fans has become a meme. Is it any wonder they've learned to block out any criticism?

However disappointed all of you are about losing in September, you can't deny the club has been been managed bloody well over the past few years. By any objective measure, the recruiting, player development, coaching and results have all been very good.

I get that you're hungry for a flag after a 20 year drought and reaching Prelims has raised your expectations to the point where anything less than a flag is seen as a failure. But you've got to realise that winning premierships is not Port's divine right, no matter what the motto says on the walls of your clubrooms.

AFL premierships are bloody hard to win and you need a lot of luck. Look at all the luck that Collingwood enjoyed this September. Best team all year, and had the MCG home ground advantage, but won by a bee's dick in 3 successive finals - mostly outplayed by Giants & Dees and the GF went down to the wire.

What about Brisbane's recent history? They've been strong contenders for the past 5 years (better than Port) and yet they are also without a flag after a 20 year drought.

All that Ken and the boys can do is keep backing up every year, keep putting themselves in top 4 contention and hope to have a little luck in September with your best players injury free and hitting top form.

I think there is still some improvement to come from Butters, Rozee, Horne-Francis, Bergman, Duursma and Marshall. You guys are soooo close. I don't get why the Port fanbase can't get fully behind the coach & players instead of constantly trying to tear things apart (pardon the pun.)

BLOODY WELL SAID !!!!!

I'm curious what you mean by this sentence. It's difficult to decipher. Are you saying Ken and the Port admin are overly defensive when their performance is scrutinised by fans & media; and they are too quick to brush off any fair criticism as agenda-driven "hate" ? Is that the gist of what you are saying here?

If so, can you blame them? Port has been a Top 4 team in three of the past four seasons and the coach has been criticised like they'd finished in the bottom four every year. The constant calls for Ken's sacking by Port fans has become a meme. Is it any wonder they've learned to block out any criticism?

However disappointed all of you are about losing in September, you can't deny the club has been been managed bloody well over the past few years. By any objective measure, the recruiting, player development, coaching and results have all been very good.

I get that you're hungry for a flag after a 20 year drought and reaching Prelims has raised your expectations to the point where anything less than a flag is seen as a failure. But you've got to realise that winning premierships is not Port's divine right, no matter what the motto says on the walls of your clubrooms.

AFL premierships are bloody hard to win and you need a lot of luck. Look at all the luck that Collingwood enjoyed this September. Best team all year, and had the MCG home ground advantage, but won by a bee's dick in 3 successive finals - mostly outplayed by Giants & Dees and the GF went down to the wire.

What about Brisbane's recent history? They've been strong contenders for the past 5 years (better than Port) and yet they are also without a flag after a 20 year drought.

All that Ken and the boys can do is keep backing up every year, keep putting themselves in top 4 contention and hope to have a little luck in September with your best players injury free and hitting top form.

I think there is still some improvement to come from Butters, Rozee, Horne-Francis, Bergman, Duursma and Marshall. You guys are soooo close. I don't get why the Port fanbase can't get fully behind the coach & players instead of constantly trying to tear things apart (pardon the pun.)
Well bloody said mate.

To understand the reason why these supporters are so upset starts by understanding the pafc culture and history. You obviously can't, but before making comments like you have I would start by understanding the pafc culture and history.

What's taken place the past half a decade or so has absolutely destroyed this ethos this culture this history...2 captains was the start.
It not about winning premierships it's about protecting the history the culture the ethos the definition of PAFC.
But you can never understand this being an outside supporter looking in
Look, I get it... I'm not a close-minded arrogant Victorian prick. I always loved the State Of Origin battles between Vic vs SA. I used to watch the SANFL Grand Final back in the 80's when it was shown here in Melbourne. I watched Nathan Buckley win the Oatey Medal. I saw Scott Hodges kick his 150th goal. I remember when you embarrassed North Adelaide by keeping them to 1 goal.

I respect the game's South Australian history, all the great SA players and the Port Adelaide Magpie's proud winning tradition.

I just think think you need to let go of that a little. Not fully. Just ease up a bit and be more realistic about things. Being the richest and most successful club in a 10-team Adelaide comp is way different to being one of the smaller clubs in an 18 team national comp. I don't mean to be disrespectful either when I say that. I liken you guys to Hawthorn. In many ways, we are both dwarfed by the Eagles, Crows, Swans, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Carlton. I think both our clubs punch above its weight in the AFL.

It's a tough league to be successful in with so many big clubs and so many mollycoddled clubs receiving assistance from the AFL.

Before Port joined the AFL, clubs like Hawthorn, Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood also had strong winning traditions and demanded success. We demanded premierships. Coaches were sacked, not just when they missed the finals, but whjen they finished 4th or 5th. But that was a 12 team Victorian comp. You think your club is a heavyweight. Mate, you guys are NOTHING compared to the arrogant Blues and Bombers from the 80's and 90's with all their rich coteries and millionaire backers.

It's all changed in the new era of the AFL. Carlton and Essendon haven't seriously challenged for 20 years.

The Pies are a big success story, but they've won only 2 premierships in 30 years.:eek:

I'm not saying you need to celebrate Hinkley's 3 Prelims and no flags in 11 years. All I'm saying is you need to be more realistic about how hard it is to win a premiership in the modern era. I think Hinkley is giving you guys a good chance to do it, just like Chris Fagan is giving Brisbane every chance. Would you say the Lions should sack him because they've also fallen short of winning a premiership?

other supporters are so utterly brainwashed by the AFL industry and the journo's they respect. we have a hawthorn fan talking about our great wins from 2013. does any port fan remember hawthorn's great wins of 2013? i know they won the flag but i can't remember for the life of me who they played leading up to the Granny. why the **** would anyone remember ours? this is how utterly brainwashed they are, they think they're making a good point but they're literally parroting AFL propaganda, that's all you have to do to look and feel like a good/smart footy fan

Imagine someone telling you in the deepest darkest part of 2011 that we’d eventually have a new coach, who’d be here for at least 11 years — with the promise of 2 more — for a grand total of 0 Grand Finals, 0 flags and a sub-50% record in finals, local derbies and marquee home fixtures.

And fans of Hawthorn and Geelong would intermittently Portsplain to you that you should be grateful.

Glory be.
I don't think that supposed Geelong troll was really a Geelong supporter.

Look, I get it... I'm not a close-minded arrogant Victorian prick. I always loved the State Of Origin battles between Vic vs SA. I used to watch the SANFL Grand Final back in the 80's when it was shown here in Melbourne. I watched Nathan Buckley win the Oatey Medal. I saw Scott Hodges kick his 150th goal. I remember when you embarrassed North Adelaide by keeping them to 1 goal.

I respect the game's South Australian history, all the great SA players and the Port Adelaide Magpie's proud winning tradition.

I just think think you need to let go of that a little. Not fully. Just ease up a bit and be more realistic about things. Being the richest and most successful club in a 10-team Adelaide comp is way different to being one of the smaller clubs in an 18 team national comp. I don't mean to be disrespectful either when I say that. I liken you guys to Hawthorn. In many ways, we are both dwarfed by the Eagles, Crows, Swans, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Carlton. I think both our clubs punch above its weight in the AFL.

It's a tough league to be successful in with so many big clubs and so many mollycoddled clubs receiving assistance from the AFL.

Before Port joined the AFL, clubs like Hawthorn, Essendon, Carlton and Collingwood also had strong winning traditions and demanded success. We demanded premierships. Coaches were sacked, not just when they missed the finals, but whjen they finished 4th or 5th. But that was a 12 team Victorian comp. You think your club is a heavyweight. Mate, you guys are NOTHING compared to the arrogant Blues and Bombers from the 80's and 90's with all their rich coteries and millionaire backers.

It's all changed in the new era of the AFL. Carlton and Essendon haven't seriously challenged for 20 years.

The Pies are a big success story, but they've won only 2 premierships in 30 years.:eek:

I'm not saying you need to celebrate Hinkley's 3 Prelims and no flags in 11 years. All I'm saying is you need to be more realistic about how hard it is to win a premiership in the modern era. I think Hinkley is giving you guys a good chance to do it, just like Chris Fagan is giving Brisbane every chance. Would you say the Lions should sack him because they've also fallen short of winning a premiership?
"I get it" he said.
Morgan Freeman: "But it was clear that he did not get it"

Seriously you're just coming from the perspective that's been pushed by idiots in the media that Port supporters demand too much or want to win flags every year, and because you have zero understanding of our club or the problems with it, so you parrot that same nonsense with zero critical thought. Everything else is irrelevant because the foundation of your argument is wrong.