Review Saints v Hawks

Been walking around with a smile all day. Bloody sterling win by the boys and if you think about it we should have done them like that.
Granted it's a different Hawks side but if we were going to demonstrate improvement we needed to win big.

How good was Koby? Already have a lot of love for the guy. He is going to keep Dunstan out for awhile.
As for Sinc's, I just prefer him in the side. He's a Rolls Royce, does so many things right.

On Tassie, we should play in Launceston more - it's a natural fit for us. We have a great supporter base down there which we should be cultivating.

Managed to catch Sanderson on MMM today. He made a valid point in terms of player experience and shared experience.

I recalled 2009 when we were a well drilled machine. And frankly, I reckon this is what we lack.

Just lime our back 6 us getting better each week, the sane goes for the entire team.

Natural talent is there, but shared experience is not. It will come with time, and IMO explains much of our inconsistency.

Predict another strong back half of the season.

Yeah you're spot on with this. It simply takes time and building up of player's tanks, there are no short cuts.

You look at a team like the bulldogs. Bevo is a very talented coach for sure but their young blokes had a hard nosed coach in McCartney pumping games into them for a few seasons before Bevo came in and McCartney's aim was getting them used to playing a contested brand of footy. With Richo we have the similar sort thing where he is focused on one main thing: you either tackle and pressure or you're out.

The great thing is, while the style we are implementing is physically and mentally taxing, once our core group have played another couple of seasons together this style will simply be automatic and they'll have the fitness to carry it out better and for longer.

There are no shortcuts to winning a premiership and it's great they we have a club from top to bottom that see that. As members we just sit back and enjoy the ride and not get too hung up on the dips that will no doubt come along.

Managed to catch Sanderson on MMM today. He made a valid point in terms of player experience and shared experience.

I recalled 2009 when we were a well drilled machine. And frankly, I reckon this is what we lack.

Just lime our back 6 us getting better each week, the sane goes for the entire team.

Natural talent is there, but shared experience is not. It will come with time, and IMO explains much of our inconsistency.

Predict another strong back half of the season.
I've been saying this for the last 18 months.

Paddy, billings, gresh, membrey haven't even played 50 games yet, let alone 50 games together.

I'm starting to notice ross & steven doing little taps to each other without even looking just knowing that they'll be there.

It'll come.

I really enjoyed the win yesterday.

At work we have so many arrogant hawks fans who thinks they can srill be top 8 teams this year.

Thanks Hawks for pick 1.

Their coach is the most overrated coach. Any coach can win a premiership with all the good players.

The eel was greased yesterday boys, and I'm not talking about Blacres

acres1.gif

acres2.5.gif
How soft is Hartung..

Acres owned him once in Tassie last year as well.

Yeah you're spot on with this. It simply takes time and building up of player's tanks, there are no short cuts.

You look at a team like the bulldogs. Bevo is a very talented coach for sure but their young blokes had a hard nosed coach in McCartney pumping games into them for a few seasons before Bevo came in and McCartney's aim was getting them used to playing a contested brand of footy. With Richo we have the similar sort thing where he is focused on one main thing: you either tackle and pressure or you're out.

The great thing is, while the style we are implementing is physically and mentally taxing, once our core group have played another couple of seasons together this style will simply be automatic and they'll have the fitness to carry it out better and for longer.

There are no shortcuts to winning a premiership and it's great they we have a club from top to bottom that see that. As members we just sit back and enjoy the ride and not get too hung up on the dips that will no doubt come along.
Cats and Hawks were masters in their respective eras.

A player could just kick the ball to a spot and know that a player would go there. And the other player would just run to a spot knowing his team mate would kick it there.

How soft is Hartung..

Acres owned him once in Tassie last year as well.
Hes an absolute liability. When ever he gets it he turns it over or just fumbles and bang turn over

Hes the worst at it in the AFL. Even certain passages gets ****ed up because of him

Continuing on with the soapy post theme just want to also say how great it was to see Roughy back.

Wasn't his best game but to see him play on the park again after all his gone through is special. It will be only a matter of time before he starts kicking bags while being a jet midfielder and I look forward to seeing him do it again (just not against us!), as a fan of football.

He is the true comeback king of the 2017 AFL season, not Essendon.

How's that raw pace from him as well? I remember some people thinking he was treacle slow, but I'm fairly sure he's always just had that running ability masked by his fairly laconic style.
He is slow like Bont is slow. Deceptive.

Not saying Acres is as good, just he is Bont like in size and his reading of the play. Looks slow but always seems to have that time.

What a great performance, the best part is there are things that definitely can be improved on.

I thought keeping Bruce out of the ruck worked, he's just no good at it and is a waste of a body around the ball. When he can just play as a forward instead, he's much more dangerous because he can use his tank to torch the opposition's defence instead of burning up chasing ruck contests that don't really make an impact. Gilbert did the same job, but was more valuable because he's better around the ball and can lay important tackles. That should be the go for the rest of the season, Bruce permanently forward and Gilbert coming in to relieve hickey/longer/whoever is picked for ~20% of stoppages.

How good was Sinclair also - finally got a crack playing more in the midfield and played really well, he can be lethal with the ball going forward which is something the team has lacked. Stevens also showed the coaches why he belongs in the senior team, super effort as well. Unfortunately for Armitage I think he has fallen behind, even if he wasn't injured I can't see how he displaces anyone based on that performance.

Hopefully they can come up against the Giants full of confidence and really shock them. That was a tough game vs. the Bulldogs and they will have some key outs, probably Haynes and Greene. Will be really hard to beat but the sky is the limit if they play the saints way.

Review Saints v Hawks