Strategy Season Expectations

Would we? It's not so simple imo. It's not like he steps out of the 22 and no-one replaces him.

If our forward line has Betts, McGovern, Walker, Fogarty, Lynch ... what exactly does JJ bring that is so important? What does he do that is so unique that it cannot be covered? I reckon people are over-rating him big time.

Fog and Gov are more inconsistent then JJ, they will obviously get better, but this was a year to have a crack, but not anymore , Gov has issues with his body considering he is so young and is struggling to play half a year of AFL footy, Fog can be excused first year in and showing enough to say he will overtake GOV he commands the ball more

My expectation for the 2019 season is:

Pyke will be coach and Burton and Hass wont be at the club, or

Burton and Hass will be at the club and Pyke wont, or

Pyke will be coach and Burton and Hass wont have anything to do with Fitness and Conditioning or anything remotely close to effecting the playing group.

We shouldn't tank per se. But we should play the kids and start practising a new game plan, one that works on grounds wider than Adelaide Oval. If we scrape into a losing elimination final and use that as an excuse to paper over the cracks, backing in Birdbrain and the same structures, I will be extremely pissed.

I have been a supporter of the Celtics for most of my life and I have so much respect for the organisation and Danny Ainge with how they operate. Using the Celtics as an example, we've went all out for the title (bringing in Allen and Garnett) which we did in 08, we've had mini rebuild we're got rid of our bigger name players for draft picks and years later we made tough decisions in the trading block (trade a high caliber player in Isiah Thomas for a genuine star in Irving) but invested in youth with opportunities that have been amazing. We've brought in a new coach in Stevens and his staff are making us elite in the defensive end.

I understand it's a different sport, but using the same principles we could use that template for the future. I feel like in our situation we need a mini rebuild and it's time to move on Lynch and Sloane to setup a very good future for us. We already have our pick, Melbourne's pick , Carlton's second round (19-20) but if Sloane and Lynch leave we could get another draft pick or move up the draft position.

We have some young quality. McPherson (20) , Laird (24) , Doedee (21) , Fogarty (18) , McGovern (23) , Milera (20) , M.Crouch (23) , B.Crouch (24) , Gallucci (20) , Poholke (19) , Knight (23). put we can use 3-5 picks inside the top 20 that can make our future for the next 7-8 years. The problem that is obvious to all of us is the golden passes for players such as Atkins, Jenkins, Mackay and Jacobs and realistically they may not make it to our next grand final side and we need to make the tough decisions.

If we are serious we will move them on and play the youngsters, as Reid has set us up in a brilliant opportunity. But the organisation should show balls and sack the coaches who have underachieved for too long.

(I do get we will probably never make these decisions but I can dream)

How do people see this year's B&F top 10 panning out:
So far, I'd have:
1. Laird ....... 10. M. Crouch
So far, I'd have:
1. Laird
<daylight>
< even more daylight>
2. Seedsman
3. Talia
4. Gibbs
5. Doedee
<daylight>
6. Greenwood
7. Douglas
<daylight>
8. M. Crouch
9. Brown
10. Milera/ Fogarty/ Gallucci

For those of you that had some hope that we had a chance still, tonight should have quashed that faint hope.

Once you come to that realisation it does have some benefits, it takes the stress out of it and you can think about what’s best for the club.

We could easily lose our next 4 games, which includes Freo and Hawks away, whilst we are still depleted. Then we play West Coast and Richmond away. We still have though games against Melbourne, GWS, North, Geelong and some others.

Some of you might not like it, but for us it means missing the 8 and finishing as low as we can.

Our main competitors have all benefited from low picks, our only one is Gibbs and he’s a ring in. This strategy has failed us for 20 years. And yes we made last year’s GF, but we lost and Martin killed us.

This is a super draft, we have to bring in quality talent and that must include a low pick below Port to have any hope to get a slider.

If Sloane does go, that’s 2 low picks.

Without elite talent we will continue to fall short.

This also means smart decisions need to be made.

Jacobs needs to be rested and we have to see what ROB can do with some games, quite frankly it can’t be worse than what Jacobs is offering.

Mackay? Piss off and Milera plays off half back.

Galluci plays, even if he stinks he plays.

Tex comes back, Fog stays, Jenkins pisses off.

Anyone who won’t be here next year doesn’t play, that includes Lynch if he’s going.

We won’t do it, but that’s what we should do.

Either way, we are going to fail, accept it and relax.

Your prediction was right All be it only recently

What has caused it though, purely injuries, teams will always get injuries and should have depth to cover them look at freo missing a Dickman and the best player in the comp

The bigger question is will we bounce back in 2019 or is our list not capable and if not why not

Contracted players have more value when trading, right? Who wants a 50 goal a year forward for a second rounder? Fremantle's second rounder would be nice if they had one. He could have played as god intended and replaced Ballentyne.

Thing is the player needs to ask to be traded. The club can’t offer contracted players around.

My expectation for the 2019 season is:

Pyke will be coach and Burton and Hass wont be at the club, or

Burton and Hass will be at the club and Pyke wont, or

Pyke will be coach and Burton and Hass wont have anything to do with Fitness and Conditioning or anything remotely close to effecting the playing group.

What are they going to do, cut oranges?
They are gone or we as a club are done.

With decent players Pyke can do the job but we need a major clean out at end of year. This includes soft spud players that don’t show grit and staff that are mates of the club but have no credentials.

So far, I'd have:
1. Laird
<daylight>
< even more daylight>
2. Seedsman
3. Talia
4. Gibbs
5. Doedee
<daylight>
6. Greenwood
7. Douglas
<daylight>
8. M. Crouch
9. Brown
Lol, JJ has produced more than the last 3 you mentioned for starters. ;)

Meh. I didn't say it was THE list, or definitive. I didn't think about it all that hard, plus I've gone off JJ (Atkins and Mackay too) and left him out, obviously, to teach him a lesson :shoutyoldman:.
JJ will see that list, train harder, try harder on game day, chase harder, throw his weight around, take more contested marks and be a better player in general for it.
:rolleyes: Not.
Lists don't matter. Someone will always disagree. :)

Meh. I didn't say it was THE list, or definitive. I didn't think about it all that hard, plus I've gone off JJ (Atkins and Mackay too) and left him out, obviously, to teach him a lesson :shoutyoldman:.
JJ will see that list, train harder, try harder on game day, chase harder, throw his weight around, take more contested marks and be a better player in general for it.
:rolleyes: Not.
Lists don't matter. Someone will always disagree. :)
So in short you think Fogarty has contributed more than our leading goal kicker?

So far, I'd have:
1. Laird
<daylight>
< even more daylight>
2. Seedsman
3. Talia
4. Gibbs
5. Doedee
<daylight>
6. Greenwood
7. Douglas
<daylight>
8. M. Crouch
9. Brown
I'd have thought Like Brown would be top 3

1. Laird
2. Gibbs
2a Brown (edit)
3. Seed
4. Douglas
5. Mouch
6. Talia
7. Doedee
8. JJ
9. Greenwood
10. Lynch

So in short you think Fogarty has contributed more than our leading goal kicker?
Nah, mate, and you're taking that list faaa-ah-aaar too seriously.
1) Fogarty tries his guts out, but he's a kid needing muscle and engine development. As I explained, I left JJ off for no good reason other than I'm disappointed by his pick-the-moments laziness. I was a big JJ fan. Not so much, now.
2) It wouldn't matter who was on a list of ten players, someone would disagree or take umbrage.
Let it go.

I'd have thought Like Brown would be top 3
o_O
... and yet you left him out? (see your own list)

Look --- and this applies to Kane McGoodwin and anybody else who wants to disagree with that list --- it's no big deal. It's not definitive, it's not THE list-of-the-year.
It's I-think-Laird-is-by-far-our-best-player-this-year-and-this-could-be-the-others, but it doesn't matter.
Kane McGoodwin is adamant that JJ belongs on the list, you think Brown is Top 3 (can't see that, myself, but meh, you're entitled to think that if you want), and so on. Fair enough.

o_O
... and yet you left him out? (see your own list)

Look --- and this applies to Kane McGoodwin and anybody else who wants to disagree with that list --- it's no big deal. It's not definitive, it's not THE list-of-the-year.
It's I-think-Laird-is-by-far-our-best-player-this-year-and-this-could-be-the-others, but it doesn't matter.
Kane McGoodwin is adamant that JJ belongs on the list, you think Brown is Top 3 (can't see that, myself, but meh, you're entitled to think that if you want), and so on. Fair enough.
He WAS in there...no wonder I couldn't work out why I had to put Lynch in there!

Edited

Reckon we scrape into the eight, assuming we get most of our best 22 on the park by about three rounds after the bye. In hindsight, the sliding doors moment for us was the loss to Port - not only did we lose a match we shouldn't have, we lost Gov for 8 weeks from the comical ****-up at the finish - and as we saw last year, when Gov goes missing we're way too slow / top heavy up fwd. Whilst we should've beaten Freo, the possession count is also telling, some 60+ more to them. We simply can't go with sides at the minute, we're too slow, unfit and unable to close down the oppositions' runners, so even if we break even in the midfield, we get blown away on the outside. It'll be a miracle if we beat Hawthorn this week, but I do think we're capable of winning another 7 games which should see us in the finals.

Our year is shot now so it should be all about development. With that in mind, who do you play Jenkins or Fogarty if you had to choose between the two?
Right now, both should be playing ahead of an underdone Walker.

Nah, mate, and you're taking that list faaa-ah-aaar too seriously.
1) Fogarty tries his guts out, but he's a kid needing muscle and engine development. As I explained, I left JJ off for no good reason other than I'm disappointed by his pick-the-moments laziness. I was a big JJ fan. Not so much, now.
2) It wouldn't matter who was on a list of ten players, someone would disagree or take umbrage.
Let it go.
If you don't like people commenting on your posts, then you are on the wrong forum. ;)

Strategy Season Expectations