SFL Div 2 - Part 2

Heard today that numbers have been good at Highett and they will have a 3rd's side this year.

I saw that Oakleigh have signed Josh Wright (not sure if already said) and Stevie has been hunging around there during training.

Heard today that numbers have been good at Highett and they will have a 3rd's side this year.

I saw that Oakleigh have signed Josh Wright (not sure if already said) and Stevie has been hunging around there during training.

Word is Stevie will run the bench for them while the big fella Pitts is playing, handy pick-up for the districts, who are these other "big names" they say they are signing???

would not worry too much whether Hynesy has signed or not at Skye. His body is gone and dont think you wil get too many games out of him. Only played about 8 last year. He would be 31 along with Andrew Lucas. Not the young boom recruits a club just in divvy 2 would be goiing for. Just my opinion.

Only played 8 last year but this level wouldn't be quite what he is used too and may get a dozen games in which could be the diff in them making finals or not..

Along with 9 other teams....

Any other updates on recruits, have the 15 guns turned up at Clayton yet???

Can tell you that the Clays have kept all their playing list from last year along with a few recruits, most notably the classy Joel Ferguson, Joe sibilia, Villela and Saville from Highett. Others have trained and we are hopeful to get signed so would be thinking they would be up there for the flag. Even if we didnt get many recruits, would be thinking they would still have the cattle to beat most sides in the comp. i watched the grand final last year and the standard was about 15 goals from divvy one. Very slow and Heatherton won with a third of the team over 30. Saw Ryan Everett has signed at District, is that the same guy that used to play at Chelt. If so, very handy pick up.

Whilst i'd admitt that division 2 is not the best standard going around, it's a little unfair to base your opinion on a game that was played under the influence of a 10+ goal wind.. was one of the windiest days i've seen!

Saw Ryan Everett has signed at District, is that the same guy that used to play at Chelt. If so, very handy pick up.

That it is guru. Was overseas for a few years then played last year at Toora. Is great mates with Pittsy. Also going with him is ruckman Zane Jenkins who won back to back League B&F's in the U/19's in premiership sides. Both will be very good players in Div 2.

We would love both back but they couldnt commit fully last year and the lure of playing with good mates this year was too strong. FWIW, Ryan's old man is president at Chelt.

That it is guru. Was overseas for a few years then played last year at Toora. Is great mates with Pittsy. Also going with him is ruckman Zane Jenkins who won back to back League B&F's in the U/19's in premiership sides. Both will be very good players in Div 2.

We would love both back but they couldnt commit fully last year and the lure of playing with good mates this year was too strong. FWIW, Ryan's old man is president at Chelt.
The funny thing about all that is they thought at first they were getting Ryan Marshall Lex's boy at first.

Who Oakleigh? Don't think Swamp was ever going there.
Yeah that's what I was telling them but they swore black & blue that he was.

The story sounded like him, dad a pres of a club (Lex), been O/seas for a while, plays in the ruck/forward.

They must have got their Ryans wrong

Gday all,

hope everyone is well and have had a safe Summer break. JT has once again put his questionable acting skills on the line to produce our 2010 Promo for the upcoming year. I'm really looking forward to another year of footy in the SFL, bring on the Night Series and the praccy matches!

[youtube]Hvg5V6hxAE0[/youtube]

If you every see myself or JT at the footy with a camera, come say hi and we'll put you on!

Cheers lads, lets hope for a ripper and safe 2010!

Steve 'Hewla' Hewlett

http://www.caulfieldbears.com/
caulfieldbearstv@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/CaulfieldBearsTV

South Yarra a bit stiff not to be in your top 5 watchdog- was easily the 2nd best team last season and except for finals only lost 3 games for the year. I haven't heard of many outs and I think with their homeground advantage at their filthy ground they wouldn't lose too many matches there.

My top 5:
Oakleigh Dists
Clayton (big difference in divisions as Heatherton will find out this year)
South Yarra
Highett
Murrumbeena

I think the only other 2 that will put pressure on these 5 will be Caulfield and Skye. Ashwood will win a few at home but struggle away, Black Rock struggled last year and the loss of Kirkland makes it even worse and Lyndale are going to struggle big time unless Modra can weave some of his magic.....?

South Yarra a bit stiff not to be in your top 5 watchdog- was easily the 2nd best team last season and except for finals only lost 3 games for the year. I haven't heard of many outs and I think with their homeground advantage at their filthy ground they wouldn't lose too many matches there.

My top 5:
Oakleigh Dists

South Yarra
Highett
Murrumbeena

I think the only other 2 that will put pressure on these 5 will be Caulfield and Skye. Ashwood will win a few at home but struggle away, Black Rock struggled last year and the loss of Kirkland makes it even worse and Lyndale are going to struggle big time unless Modra can weave some of his magic.....?

Spot on P-dog. In fact there is a big step in all 3 divs between the top 4 and bottom 4.That is where the SFL standard lets itself down a bit.

My top 5:
Oakleigh Dists
South Yarra
Highett
Murrumbeena

Where is Kirkland off to this year? He left Mordi because he wanted to kick 100 goals in a season and play finals footy, great move that was..

Back at Mordy

A little suprised as Martello had him by the scruff of the neck back in 08 at training one night.. Looks like they've patched things up.. Ant Kelly going around again?? struggled in finals last year..