Shifty Hawks are pretending that they tried

Rawlings had wanted to move to the Kangaroos to play alongside his younger brother Brady but the Roos were unable to come up with a trade deal to satisfy the Hawks and coach Dean Laidley and football operations manager Geoff Walsh looked shattered over the turn of events when they arrived at AFL headquarters on Friday.
Hawthorn football operations manager John Hook said the Hawks had done everything they could to get Rawlings to the Kangaroos.

“It is frustrating and it is probably more frustrating for Jade, I think he is probably feeling very despondent at the moment,” Hook said.

“But I can assure you there were a lot of people from (president) Ian Dicker to (coach) Peter Schwab who worked very hard to try to get him to the Kangaroos.”

How stupid do they think everyone else is? Maybe if they didn't get pick 6 for some hack people would have believed them, but they opened themselves up for some hard questions...

Death.

What a bunch of ****wits.

Mess of a football club.

Dont think so

THe hawks didnt have to send jade to the kangaroos if the didnt want to.

We wanted a quality player in return for a quality player and you offered us one crap player and a pick. Why should we trade him when we can get a better deal somewhere else

Would we have been happy accepting less in a trade for Carey or Bell than what we thought they were worth. Why then should we be p1ssed off with Hawthorn for acting exactly the same as I hope we would act in the same circumstances.

Hawthorn have a responsibility to get what is right for their club, no-one else. If we weren't prepared to offer what they thought was a fair deal then I don't see how people expect that there was any chance of getting Rawlings to North.

Moomba

The point is that we offered them the same thing. We could have offered them Jacobs or Bolton.

They tempered with the system, which is BLOODY obvious.
Furthermore, it has just been announced on Ch10 that AFL is launching an investigation.

TerryHawk: Wash your brains! Of course you don't have to trade him to us if you don't want to, but he is allowed to choose a club which he did. We then came up with a number of offers but instead Hawthorn accepted pick 6 from the Bulldogs for a guy that has been selected at number 65 last year and played most of the year for Box Hill reserves!!!

That's where a problem lies. The deal was that Hawthorn had to stop dealing with us and send Rawlings into the draft. Had they known that they would get nothing for him (which is the rule when you send someone to the draft) they would have to deal with us. Clear breach, and I hope they fine all clubs involved and ban the Dogs from the preseason draft after they already p1ssed away pick 6...

Re: Dont think so

Originally posted by TerryHawk

We wanted a quality player in return for a quality player and you offered us one crap player and a pick. Why should we trade him when we can get a better deal somewhere else

How was the deal you got better, we offered you Corey Jones and Pick 9, you ended up with Jacobs!!!

the hawks were never going to deal with us they lead us on for two weeks , they shafted rawlings big time even when rawlings said he didnt want to go to the toe rag bulldogs they made sure they sent him there via pre-season draft and those snakes in the grass hawthorn get pick 6 for some junior that was pick 65 in last years draft, down right dirty tacktics below the belt stuff , lets hope they get penalised and the bulldogs loose there draft pick , you have to feel for rawlings here he just wanted to play along side his brother, i bet the hawthorn footy club are having a good laugh tonight .

Disgrace

Why shouldn't have Haw looked after Jade, he gave them 9 years of pretty good service and fulfilled his contract.

If Haw had really wanted him, all they had to do was offer a 3 year deal, which is pretty reasonable for a bloke that has just finished in the BF top three. They seem to want to blame him for their own bad list management.

Anyway his attraction to the Roos was to be able to play with is brother, not an unreasonable request for a young bloke, he'll probably never get the chance now, how spiteful.

I hope this causes a lot of decent between the players and management at the "family club" they deserve to cop a lot of **** over this.

The Roos have always looked after players that wanted to leave, Bell, Welsh, Pickett, Cochrane, Carey etc and delt with the clubs they wanted to go to.

The Pies even looked after Scotland who I reckon was worth more than pick 35. We also gave a fair bit to get an old stalwart back in McKernan (probably more to do with keeping all his mates happy at the club than anything else).

Haw tried to draw some type pf comparison with Carey leaving which was crap, you cannot compare the Carey deal as he had to leave the club and the Crows were desprate for him so they could have a crack at a premiership last season, it was just plain luck for us that pick 4 turned into pick 2 and we got Wells.

Our offer wasn't unreasonable to the Hawks for Rawlings, it just wasn't over the top. Remember that he is 26 and a lot of KP players are stuffed by the time they're 30.

I really hope the AFL (North boys Andrew and Ben) get stuck into Haw, Ess and Bullies over this, it's a real shame for Jade.

I would have the same view on this even if the Roos were not involved and he missed out on going to Geelong if that where he wanted to go.

Anyway stick it up'em Rooboys, the Hawks didn't think that any of you are good enough for them.

:confused:

Originally posted by kanga
the hawks were never going to deal with us they lead us on for two weeks , they shafted rawlings big time even when rawlings said he didnt want to go to the toe rag bulldogs they made sure they sent him there via pre-season draft and those snakes in the grass hawthorn get pick 6 for some junior that was pick 65 in last years draft, down right dirty tacktics below the belt stuff , lets hope they get penalised and the bulldogs loose there draft pick , you have to feel for rawlings here he just wanted to play along side his brother, i bet the hawthorn footy club are having a good laugh tonight .

Toe Rag Bulldogs, I like that one

How about Ar*e rag Hawks;)

Re: Disgrace

Originally posted by greg
Why shouldn't have Haw looked after Jade, he gave them 9 years of pretty good service and fulfilled his contract.

If Haw had really wanted him, all they had to do was offer a 3 year deal, which is pretty reasonable for a bloke that has just finished in the BF top three. They seem to want to blame him for their own bad list management.

Anyway his attraction to the Roos was to be able to play with is brother, not an unreasonable request for a young bloke, he'll probably never get the chance now, how spiteful.

I hope this causes a lot of decent between the players and management at the "family club" they deserve to cop a lot of **** over this.

The Roos have always looked after players that wanted to leave, Bell, Welsh, Pickett, Cochrane, Carey etc and delt with the clubs they wanted to go to.

The Pies even looked after Scotland who I reckon was worth more than pick 35. We also gave a fair bit to get an old stalwart back in McKernan (probably more to do with keeping all his mates happy at the club than anything else).

Haw tried to draw some type pf comparison with Carey leaving which was crap, you cannot compare the Carey deal as he had to leave the club and the Crows were desprate for him so they could have a crack at a premiership last season, it was just plain luck for us that pick 4 turned into pick 2 and we got Wells.

Our offer wasn't unreasonable to the Hawks for Rawlings, it just wasn't over the top. Remember that he is 26 and a lot of KP players are stuffed by the time they're 30.

I really hope the AFL (North boys Andrew and Ben) get stuck into Haw, Ess and Bullies over this, it's a real shame for Jade.

I would have the same view on this even if the Roos were not involved and he missed out on going to Geelong if that where he wanted to go.

Anyway stick it up'em Rooboys, the Hawks didn't think that any of you are good enough for them.

:confused:

Agreed greg

The whole Jade Rawlings not coming to the Kangroos is the fault of the Hawthorn Football Club. They didnt rate any of our players.
So what did they expect from the Roos.

Now Looks as though Jade will play for that (other poor excuse, Help Us we need every thing we can get, who should of been out of the AFL long time ago before FITZROY, won 1 premiership in 1954 ,almost 50 years ago Pathetic, sad ,rabble,scum Just as shifty as Hawthorn) Western Bulldogs.

Good luck to Jade, all the best. No such luck To The Hawks and Bulldogs next year

STICK IT TO EM KANGAS

Re: Disgrace

Originally posted by greg

Well said.

Re: Dont think so

Originally posted by TerryHawk

Mate, your club has rooted your own argument.

I'll tell you why you should have traded him...

Currently (no trade to Roos for Rawlings)

Hawthorn trades Lochlan Veale to Bulldogs for Pick 6, ontrades to Essendon for Jacobs.
No trade as to Rawlings.

If you trade Rawlings to us for "one crap pick (9) and a player"

Hawks still end up with Jacobs (from "legit" trade with Bulldogs who have wanted Lochlan Veale for years!), Pick 9 and Corey Jones, which is much better than what they've ended up with now.

Analysis
Surely you see how you've lost Jade Rawlings for nothing! Oh that's right, you haven't really because you "traded" him in a "better deal" to use your own words.

Hmmm, seems to be a lot of confusion amongst Hawk fans at the moment, did you get a "better deal" or was there "no deal"?

Dodgy dodgy deals...

If you want to be pedantic

It was 3 years of decent service. Rawlings has ONLY JUST come into his prime. Other than 2001, 02 and 03, he was lucky to stay on the list in the first place.

Hawthorn looks after Hawthorn - not a player who wants to leave the club after they stood by him through his injury-prone years.

I can appreciate you guys are upset. But it is every man for himself out there.

So dont start the 9 years of service stuff. 6 of those years were spent on the sidelines through knee, leg and hamstring injuries.

Originally posted by jacqui9

It was 3 years of decent service. Rawlings has ONLY JUST come into his prime. Other than 2001, 02 and 03, he was lucky to stay on the list in the first place.

Hawthorn looks after Hawthorn - not a player who wants to leave the club after they stood by him through his injury-prone years.

So dont start the 9 years of service stuff. 6 of those years were spent on the sidelines through knee, leg and hamstring injuries.

Agree totally, Jacqui. As much I would have preferred Jade to stay at the Hawks, he chose to quit the club and nominate a preferred club.

The lesson to be learned is that players cannot dictate and hold a gun to the head of clubs which have supported them for years.

In response to this comment:

"Death. What a bunch of ****wits. Mess of a football club."

No comment.

Originally posted by jacqui9

Jacqui9

I'm really only upset for for Jade, you obviously don't know what it's like to come from a tight knit family. I'm pretty happy with the list at North as it is, Rawlings would have been handy but not essential.

Credit has to go to Jade for sticking at it for so long, everyone is responsible for themselves and it's his own hard work that has got him where he is.

Anyway what does it really matter if it is three, six or nine years he was at the club the point is he has more that paid you guys back for keeping him.

Haw got him for pick sixty something, he has played pretty good footy and Haw could have had a couple of pretty good draft picks for him when he may only have 2 to 3 good seasons left.

Haw soon shafted Croad and traded him against his wishes when it suited them so don't try and paint Haw Jade's mum.

Re: Re: Disgrace

Originally posted by Wild Kangaroo

who should of been out of the AFL long time ago before FITZROY, ..... Western Bulldogs.

Is that the team u tried to merge with, but were turned down?

Re: Re: Re: Disgrace

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Is that the team u tried to merge with, but were turned down?

Some sides have to work for what they get, we are the best team from the 90s by far. If we had such advantages with money etc... like say collingwood and liars for administrators like say hawthorn we would at the moment be unstoppable. So in the near future when we are yet again up there and playing off winning the big games remember hawthorn might one day model themselves on a great club like ours and get somewhere. You can't keep living off the success of the eighties. Where have the years gone, hawthorn and september just don't go together do they/

Re: Re: Re: Re: Disgrace

Originally posted by Roos04
We were turned down by Fitzroy were we? Righto

I didn't say it was Fitzroy that turned u down

And in all honesty I have no problem with u trying to merge with them, but if people are gonna write crap about how the Dogs deserved to die years ago, Im gonna write crap as well

Shifty Hawks are pretending that they tried