Should we take a stand against soccer?

Rex, you have Adelaide listed as your club, then underneath, you have put the Sydney Swans, you wouldn't be swapping teams or following two would you? You know, the exact thing which marks you as a fake footy fan?

Well I supported Subiaco , then West Torrens , then East Sydney , then the Sydney Swans and now the Dockers as well as Subiaco . I still follow the Sydney Swans , East Sydney and the SANFL .
people do move you know .

I've got 5/1 odds on Cos being the first fan of a Tasmanian AFL team ...

The Sydney Swans will always be by number one team because of my long association I've had with that team . I support the Dockers and Subiaco because I'm here in the West but I still remember SA .
As for Tasmania , a lovely place ,I'd support them if I lived there .
I don't , but because their not Victorian I'll follow them .

Exactly.

There are two very different ways to go about organising sport - and not dependent on the sport itself. From memory the American ML soccer has a draft too... hence very close to the AFL/NFL/MLB/NBA system. Whereas most leagues around the world have a second division.
The following would be my dream league setup...

Victoria: 10 teams
NSW: Well ... 2 teams for now but in 20-30 years there could be almost as many as Victoria
SA: 2 teams ... Port is struggling to build its membership and any additional team will also struggle + increase Port's problems in attracting new supporters
WA: 3 teams ... 2 Perth and 1 Freo
QLD: 4 teams ... 2 Brisbane (more if the game grows), 1 GC and 1 Nth QLD (Cairns or Townsville ... or maybe a team that splits its home games between the two?).
TAS: 2 teams ... Hobart and Launceston
NT: 1 team ... epic hypothetical here but maybe Darwin could have one.

Total: 22-26 teams roughly

Divide the comp into divisions of 12 so each team plays 11 home and 11 away games. So completely fair fixture (excl. travelling distances). Have a top 6, with top 2 getting the bye and hosting the winners of 3v6 and 4v5.

Bottom 2 relegated? or maybe bottom 3?

Like in soccer, a drop in division would have an adverse effect on funding which means you'll eliminate the idea of tanking.

Australian Football League

Bulldogs
Brisbane

--------------------
Port
WCE

Pepsi Championship League (LOL. taken from Coca Cola league in England, which actually are losing the naming rights)

Kangaroos

Freo
Gold Coast
Greater West Sydney
(should just be named West Sydney)
Launceston
Hobart
Perth #2 team
Cairns
NSW #3 team
NSW #4 team

Division #3

NSW #5 team
NSW #6 team

Brisbane #2 team
Darwin team
NZ #1 team
NZ #2 team

Geelong Reserves?

based on last year's standings ... in no way a jibe to richmond, freo, north and melbourne.

What and completely chuck out the draft, salary cap, etc etc?
Draft and divisions can not work together. I thought that point was obvious from my post.

You reckon there's trouble now with players not getting to go where they want - imagine some #1 pick having to go to NZ to play second division! :D

Either/or.

Draft and divisions can not work together.

Not reading your previous post but they can .
We have the AFL draft and salary cap .
And we salary caps in second tier comps and in the WAFL we sort of have a draft .
But I guess you're saying that the 2nd division cannot operate in the first draft but rather after the first div draft .

Not reading your previous post but they can .
We have the AFL draft and salary cap .
And we salary caps in second tier comps and in the WAFL we sort of have a draft .
But I guess you're saying that the 2nd division cannot operate in the first draft but rather after the first div draft .

Is there a draft in the WAFL? I'm pretty sure clubs just sign out-of-contract guys.
Having separate leagues (such as the WAFL etc) is a lot different to having a second division of the same league.

Is there a draft in the WAFL? I'm pretty sure clubs just sign out-of-contract guys.
Having separate leagues (such as the WAFL etc) is a lot different to having a second division of the same league.

AFL players are farmed out for evenness in the WAFL .
I don't see why a formal draft wouldn't work in the WAFL .
The only real issue is 2 div teams being part of a first div draft .
I don't see that working at all .

yes take a stand against soccer! what a joke it is in NQ the fury average about 3-4 thousand a game if lucky sometimes. soccer in australia is not popular enough yet.

I dont care if u dont like Football/soccer, but come on, cant you do 2 mins of quick research to see that you are completely wrong on the crowds. The Fury are averaging nearly 7K, and haven't been lower than 6K. this is despite being on the bottom of the table, and winless for a early part of the season.

As for taking a stand against football, :rolleyes:. There is more to sport than just one code, hopefully you can understand that one day.

The following would be my dream league setup...

No offence, but that's just not going to happen. The AFL probably can't handle any more clubs than the eighteen they'll have by 2012. Perhaps a few more clubs beyond that that can be guaranteed subsistence-level existence (i.e. Tasmania), but that's about it.

Like I said ... it's a dream. And it was targeted for around 2040-2050, which is too far to probably be dreaming anyway.

You're kidding right. The Fairfax press is actually a sponsor of soccer in Australia. Read any article by Michael Lynch or Michael Cockerill and you would believe that there was never a dud soccer match, that every FFA player was on the cusp of greatness, that the crowds are getting bigger and bigger, and that it's only a matter of time before we poor fools who actually like our own game will see the light and fall into line.

So it's not ok for Fairfax to sponsor football, yet "News" Limited own 50% of the NRL and fully own two of it's clubs and you don't bat an eyelid? :confused:

Soccer is a boring sport, can't believe it is the number 1 sport in the world. At least here in Australia we have AR, the rest of the world don't know what they are missing :thumbsu:

Yeah that's right full on. In 20 years time Aussie rules will be the biggest game on the planet. It already is in NZ, Nauru, Tokelau, that Peace place, Portugal, France, England, South Africa, Ireland, The Chatham Islands as well as Thonger.

So it's not ok for Fairfax to sponsor football, yet "News" Limited own 50% of the NRL and fully own two of it's clubs and you don't bat an eyelid? :confused:
I bat both eyelids at News Ltd's corrupt and shameless cross promotion of its rugby league franchises, but this thread is about soccer. The point you make is a good one though - soccer and rugby league together have both media organisations in their corners spruiking their interests, and the AFL is out in the cold having to rely on its merits alone.

Soccer has to be the most boring sport in the world!!!!!!!!!!!! If only more people watched our game at a packed 'G and witnessed our great product. but i think in 76 years, AFL will have taken over soccer as the no.1 international sport :thumbsu:

Soon, we shall be called WFL :thumbsu:

Wha's Like Us?" a scottish prose regarding Englishmen who no matter how hard they tried they could never be as good as a Scot. It seems a lot of you on here wish you Wha's Like Us

Soccer has to be the most boring sport in the world!!!!!!!!!!!! If only more people watched our game at a packed 'G and witnessed our great product. but i think in 76 years, AFL will have taken over soccer as the no.1 international sport :thumbsu:

Soon, we shall be called WFL :thumbsu:

I think a "You must be at least [insert measurement here] intelligent to use this forum" requirement should be considered.

Should we take a stand against soccer?