Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft..

mate good post and logic is sound.

Lynch is all about 'what he could be' - as you say he hasnt taken the junior level apart albeit he has been consistently v good though. Potential is enormous and could play in the midfield quite easily as he runs a good beep. He didnt test so hot in some other areas but has the scope to improve I suspect.

Tbh I'm not majorly fussed who we pick up at pick 6, as long as it's:

- Not Gorringe (we need to play Graham and Vickery, and we can get assistants later)
- Someone good.

If it's Heppell, it's Heppell. If it's Gaff, or Atley or any players worthy of pick six, it's them. The pies proved that depth is key and if we pick up another Cotchin type, I'm not complaining. BA should be the strategy for the tigs.

yeah I was thinking the same when I was doing it - would they really care that much bc you wont go wrong with any of them

Top work. Would you consider doing a bio on the top 3 picks? I know it may be a bit redundant seeing they are practically definite GC picks, but I'd like to see your take on their talent.

mate so much written about them I could honestly not add anymore other than I think David Swallow is one of the best players I have seen in a long time. Dominated VFL level for Suns as a 17yo....that is awesome.

Day is probably the best tall talent I have seen come through since Kurt Tippett. He is can run, mark, kick.....he is Superman

Bennell is like another G.Ablett Jnr. plays middle and fwd, very very hard to match up.....some of his early champs games were as consistently dominant as any I have seen at Champs.

Pretty much snoop.

Richmond has a number of players who go each way anyway. If we get an inside mid, it might free up Cotchin to use his foot-skills which are very good. Ditto Martin. If we get an outside, then they stay inside. Either way, adding another rotation is essential.

Gotta ask though, how much of a gap is Bennell from Gaff, Atley and Heppell?

re Tippett, I've heard a number of recruiters say the same thing, but he went relatively late (32, below many other KPP) can anyone explain this? I remember the hun linking our first pick to him.

I had him at #10 for Pies and got howled at by experts...i still hve the scars. Had seen a bit of him at Southport and you could just see what he could become. Day is as good if not better.

Gotta ask though, how much of a gap is Bennell from Gaff, Atley and Heppell?

Some would actually argue that there are midfielders and players that are better options than Bennell. Benell has the ability to run himself into trouble and not away from trouble. He can also drift in and out of games, so he would have to improve his consistency.

I would personally add Polec to the Gaff, Atley and Heppell list. There are a wide range of thoughts on each of the above mentioned players, but they will all potentially fall somewhere between 4-15 from all reports.

I had him at #10 for Pies and got howled at by experts...i still hve the scars. Had seen a bit of him at Southport and you could just see what he could become. Day is as good if not better.

Good call on Tippett. I wasn't on the board at the time, but are you saying you had Tippett as a better prospect than Gumbleton, J.Riewoldt and Thorp?

Think a lot of recruiters were put off by Tippett's rawness to footy, which you still sometime see (i.e. kicking and leaving himself open on occasions when marking). But at Adelaide we are more then happy !:D

not ahead but probably jsut behind. to be fair few people had seen him and you always get a bit of this out of mind out of sight. i think quigley had seen him as well as irel and knew how good he was. he had dominated Southport seniors the year he went to Draft. I thnik renouf & White were in that year as well.

mate if the draft was redone right now he would be top 3-4 wouldnt he. recruiters dont always get it right and suspect a few of them have wondered how he got to 32. Who was Adelaides pick before him?

Out of Sight and Out of Mind is probably more acurate, I know when we first drafted him a lot of people were WTF ??? A 200cm Basketballer ....um we are the Adelaide Crows not the 36ers, but now more than happy, need him to kick 75+ goals a year now for the next 5-10 years !

For every Tippett call, there is always the Panos call. That is why I always struggle to rate a tall player. Are they only good because they're a man against boys, will they develop enough to play AFL, how will their body handle the pressures of AFL football....

Picking the correct talls can be a little lottery at times and this year, I have really struggled to rate some of the talls.

For every Tippett call, there is always the Panos call. That is why I always struggle to rate a tall player. Are they only good because they're a man against boys, will they develop enough to play AFL, how will their body handle the pressures of AFL football....

Picking the correct talls can be a little lottery at times and this year, I have really struggled to rate some of the talls.

Too True, considering our pick before Tippett was James Sellar !!!

Your post in the other thread suggests you won't use 58 as unsure there is anyone to delist.
I rate Weston so think he reduces need for Watson.....but just my view.
Lot of talk you blokes are into Prestia......be surprised if Caddy lasted that long but would be a no brainer.

58 is unknown at this stage...will know on Nov 10 obviously.

Weston is playing really well and I think he'll be another Wells special, but at 188 he won't be a FB at AFL level..3rd tall at best, so I'd say we'll definitely draft a KPB, it's just a question of who and where.

Prestia makes sense, if you don't get hung up on the fact that he's short, he's a gun, and would inject some much needed pace into our midfield.

Surely Caddy won't slide to 15, that couldn't be possible?

Snoop
Reading last years trial phantom draft, noticed you had at pick 62 Shane Page from Bendigo Pioneers.
The kid represented Vic Country 4 years running in U15,U16 & 2 years U18.
Played 2 games Bendigo Bombers 2009, named in the best for both and 10 games this season.
Overlooked in both drafts last years. 184cm midfielder who must have some ability.
Still 19yo, any chance this year?

Snoop
That is a super impressive effort. Great job and excellent research. ive had a bit to do with East fremantle, seen a lot of Chalwell, Menagola and schofield and Im a big wrap for these boys. having not played 18s (Schofield 1 game) (that in itself was a joke and piss poor selection from state academy!!)I thought they may sneak under the radar. they have been great all year- colts team of the year, in the best players from Colts GF and tested superbly (especially Menagola and Chalwell as you stated!) They have been interviewed and contacted by a lot of clubs and SWnoop i know Collingwood interviewed them at least once and Menagola twice. West coast keen on Chalwell i believe. Schofield high on kangaroos list.
East fremantle again providing draftees with Bennan, Fassollo, Cripps certs and Chalwell, Menagola, Schofield and Monaco strong chances.
Well done snoop.

Snoop
One thing about David swallow. He is going to be an abosolute superstar but he is the nicest kid you would ever want to meet. Level headed, down to earth and very modest. The Gold Coast are on a winner in every way. He will be East Fremantles first No1 Draft pick and there is a bit of a bum fight as to whether he will be announced as an East fremantle player or Gold coast.

Prestia makes sense, if you don't get hung up on the fact that he's short, he's a gun, and would inject some much needed pace into our midfield.

Surely Caddy won't slide to 15, that couldn't be possible?

My latest has Prestia possibly down your way pal.

I would doubt it re Caddy and to be honest I nearly pulled him out at #5. I think you could make an argument that of all Polec, Gaff, Heppell he could well be the best.

Snoop
Reading last years trial phantom draft, noticed you had at pick 62 Shane Page from Bendigo Pioneers.
Played 2 games Bendigo Bombers 2009, named in the best for both and 10 games this season.
Overlooked in both drafts last years. 184cm midfielder who must have some ability.

yeah so many midfielders like him who do a lot right but dont get taken in their draft year. Still he has some time on his side.

Snoop
That is a super impressive effort. Great job and excellent research. ive had a bit to do with East fremantle, seen a lot of Chalwell, Menagola and schofield and Im a big wrap for these boys. having not played 18s (Schofield 1 game) (that in itself was a joke and piss poor selection from state academy!!)I thought they may sneak under the radar. they have been great all year- colts team of the year, in the best players from Colts GF and tested superbly (especially Menagola and Chalwell as you stated!) They have been interviewed and contacted by a lot of clubs and SWnoop i know Collingwood interviewed them at least once and Menagola twice. West coast keen on Chalwell i believe. Schofield high on kangaroos list.
East fremantle again providing draftees with Bennan, Fassollo, Cripps certs and Chalwell, Menagola, Schofield and Monaco strong chances.
Well done snoop.

could see Scott liking SChofield aggression.

Where do you rate Monaco. I have him around 60 but agree he could slip. Seems odd bc every time i have seen him he has plenty of footy smarts.

could see Scott liking SChofield aggression.

Where do you rate Monaco. I have him around 60 but agree he could slip. Seems odd bc every time i have seen him he has plenty of footy smarts.
Snoop has had some issues.
Played Reserves most of the year and was not a stand out. was keen to play in the colts GF but overlooked because team was settled. Had a very good game against SA in the rain otherwise an average carnival. he is young with potential but I think his unimpressive form after the 18s carnival might have a few clubs cautious.

Snoop

yeah so many midfielders like him who do a lot right but dont get taken in their draft year. Still he has some time on his side.

Snoop

If you don't mind, I have watched a bit of Shane this year and every time I watch him he is a pleasure (no homo). Is a hard worker, in the Ben Cousins mold of nearly vomiting when he comes off for a spell, uses the ball well despite his kicking really lacking that extra penetration that could see him go from a good player to a very good player. Is hard and tough despite his slight stature and is not frightened to go in and try and get it.

Really like the way he goes about it, but think that his slight stature may see him in the VFL for a little while, but think that he certainly has some tools to work with in the long run..

Hey Snoop, what are your thoughts on Jaco Elliot?

Really like the way the young fella goes about it and could see him becoming a good little player, only thing that could go against him is the fact that he is purely a small forward and may not be able to go through the midfield (like you must need to do these days).

Also, Jarrod Lyons, thoughts on him to? could see him as a good late - rookie pick up. What are his pro's and con's?

Thanks bud, HFF_07

My latest has Prestia possibly down your way pal.

I would doubt it re Caddy and to be honest I nearly pulled him out at #5. I think you could make an argument that of all Polec, Gaff, Heppell he could well be the best.

He will be in the frame, it depends on whether he's even there at #23 though...I don't believe the rumours about him to Ess at 8, but I still reckon he might go before 23. One thing I am certain of though, it'll be him or a similar type of player at that pick, we definitely won't be touching any slow midfielders.

Caddy won't go #5, you would have thought Brisbane will take Heppell, but I agree, no way he makes it to #15. Pick #8 or GC for him.

Snoop has had some issues.
Played Reserves most of the year and was not a stand out. was keen to play in the colts GF but overlooked because team was settled. Had a very good game against SA in the rain otherwise an average carnival. he is young with potential but I think his unimpressive form after the 18s carnival might have a few clubs cautious.

Hmmmm....

Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft..