Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft..

Snoop

If you don't mind, I have watched a bit of Shane this year and every time I watch him he is a pleasure (no homo). Is a hard worker, in the Ben Cousins mold of nearly vomiting when he comes off for a spell, uses the ball well despite his kicking really lacking that extra penetration that could see him go from a good player to a very good player. Is hard and tough despite his slight stature and is not frightened to go in and try and get it.

Really like the way he goes about it, but think that his slight stature may see him in the VFL for a little while, but think that he certainly has some tools to work with in the long run..

Hey Snoop, what are your thoughts on Jaco Elliot?

Really like the way the young fella goes about it and could see him becoming a good little player, only thing that could go against him is the fact that he is purely a small forward and may not be able to go through the midfield (like you must need to do these days).

Also, Jarrod Lyons, thoughts on him to? could see him as a good late - rookie pick up. What are his pro's and con's?

Thanks bud, HFF_07

Yeah would like to see Shane Page go and havent given up hope on him. Got the size and just think when the results come he may be there. Might not be the worst to go and have a run in the SANFL or WAFL either. Think you will see more of that.

Re Elliott not one I have watched closely but I think his scope is limited. Lot of those types ahead of him from WAFL this year I would think.

Lyons I am a very big fan of. Good pedigree and I think he had 1-2 games at Sandy didnt he where he either was BOG or one of them. I think he has a few AFL traits and am pretty sure someone would hit him in the rookie, get him playing VFL and seeing if he can do it consistently. Same goes for Casley but his two games have him further ahead.

He will be in the frame, it depends on whether he's even there at #23 though...I don't believe the rumours about him to Ess at 8, but I still reckon he might go before 23. One thing I am certain of though, it'll be him or a similar type of player at that pick, we definitely won't be touching any slow midfielders.

Caddy won't go #5, you would have thought Brisbane will take Heppell, but I agree, no way he makes it to #15. Pick #8 or GC for him.

take it as a given Ess looked at him for #8 but latest is looking at another. I think the order of all those may surprise.

Snoop has had some issues.
Played Reserves most of the year and was not a stand out. was keen to play in the colts GF but overlooked because team was settled. Had a very good game against SA in the rain otherwise an average carnival. he is young with potential but I think his unimpressive form after the 18s carnival might have a few clubs cautious.

Interested in your thoughts on;

Kieran Butcher - you surprised I left him out

Cooyou - where does he rate amongst WA smalls

Elari - watched him for a while, nice pace and good ball getter. Where does he rank. I have as a possible rookie

Luff - I thought he should have gone last year and think he must be a certainty this year.

Brookes - I like him as a small fwd but unsure if offers enough else

ODriscoll - really like the kid. Seems to have good pace but maybe a bit one sided.

Sweet - can he do it this year

BRISBANE LIONS
Patrick Karnezis – Oakleigh / 191cm / 77kg

Profile : Patrick is one of those guys that everyone rates a little higher than me and subsequently I have become a bit worried I don’t have him as high as I should. Only been playing a couple of years and plays fwd. Terrific size and stands well over 6ft so he presents as someone that is going to be difficult to match up on when his body fills out and he gets more core strength. Prospective coaches will be drawn to him because he is a very likeable kid and is very coachable. Add to that his ability to play a few different roles then you have someone who could go anywhere because of his potential. Mobility and smarts are his big strengths whilst his kicking and marking are good. Reminds me of Scott Simpson from the ’07 Draft. Only issue for me is his acceleration – doesn’t test as a speedster.
Why Brisbane: Any club would be interested in him as he offers a lot of potential and if he was able to get himself stronger without losing any pace then he could be a very damaging third tall.
Similar to: Jarrad Grant
Draft Range: 25 – 40
Roughie: Ben Jacobs

Firstly Snoop, love the work that has gone into your mock draft. All of it is thoughtful and plausible. Disagree with bits and pieces, but that's to be expected. Pat Karnezis is one of my favourite prospects for this year, and I think you've got him placed about right. Just one thing though, your comment about only playing for a couple of years isn't correct. Pat's been one of the outstanding junior footballers in Victoria for a long time. Played in league representative teams since U/11s or u12s and pretty sure he was in the title winning Vic Metro team at U/16s. Excellent player already and great potential for further improvement.

Tom Bell – Jeremy Laidler type who plays HB and is from Qld who I think shows a lot of potential and who I had in the list originally. Aggressive, strong body, hunts the pill but skills are only average.

Worth a try I am not usually a rap for the footballers who haven't played much footy but this kid has a desire to win the football and his hardness reminds of Wade Mills who Brisbane drafted but i think his skills are better at this stage of their development.

Liam Rutledge - Haven't seen much of him this year but was a certainty for me this time last year. Plays HF and has a good goal sense. Quigley – where is he at? ....has been retained on the Suns list.

Very average year, would want to improve enormously in the next year.

Matt Clarke – Wont get selected i suspect but dominated at QAFL level this year. Running HB with a big tank and excellent skills. Had a breakout year but probably not enough tricks to get a spot.

Looks like a ready made AFL player, pace, strong overhead, big left foot, kicks goals, 188cm can play small or tall. Would be talked about more if he played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL.

Luke Parker at #23, looks a higher prospect to me, a ready made mid.

Tom Gordon, Talls always take longer to develop and there is a lot to work with here, clubs would be mad to let him slide out of the draft completely.

Snoop the depth of your knowledge in the other states is a credit to you, it makes this draft well worth reading, keep up the good work.:thumbsu:

Yeah would like to see Shane Page go and havent given up hope on him. Got the size and just think when the results come he may be there. Might not be the worst to go and have a run in the SANFL or WAFL either. Think you will see more of that.

Re Elliott not one I have watched closely but I think his scope is limited. Lot of those types ahead of him from WAFL this year I would think.

Lyons I am a very big fan of. Good pedigree and I think he had 1-2 games at Sandy didnt he where he either was BOG or one of them. I think he has a few AFL traits and am pretty sure someone would hit him in the rookie, get him playing VFL and seeing if he can do it consistently. Same goes for Casley but his two games have him further ahead.

Thanks for the feedback guys
The good thing given the new clubs & VFL uprades to AFL lists.
Guys like Shane Page do have a slight hope in coming drafts despite missing out in their draft year.
Guess it's just up to the individual to keep pressing and performing and hoping somewhere an opportunity will arise
It possibly puts even more of a desire to make the most of a chance if it eventuates, such as Barlow, Pods Silvani and the likes.
There are plenty of VFL,WAFL & SANFL players out there I think given the chance, would both grab it with both hands and also become more than handy perfomers at AFL level

Interested in your thoughts on;

Kieran Butcher - you surprised I left him out

Cooyou - where does he rate amongst WA smalls

Elari - watched him for a while, nice pace and good ball getter. Where does he rank. I have as a possible rookie

Luff - I thought he should have gone last year and think he must be a certainty this year.

Brookes - I like him as a small fwd but unsure if offers enough else

ODriscoll - really like the kid. Seems to have good pace but maybe a bit one sided.

Sweet - can he do it this year
Snoop some good names here
I rate Butcher and ODriscoll the best of this group. Not much mail on ODriscoll but ive seen him play well and can take a game by the scruff of the neck. Butcher all class. Cooyou great in flashes but drifts out for long periods. Not sure about the others. Scott Hancock from East Fremantle is a good quality ball getter but a lot around of his ilk. Jayden Scofield also a good chance to go but probably rookie.

take it as a given Ess looked at him for #8 but latest is looking at another. I think the order of all those may surprise.

Fair enough...you would expect they will take Atley or Caddy at 8 anyway. I am definitely warming to the idea of Prestia if he slides all the way to 23.

BRISBANE LIONS
Patrick Karnezis – Oakleigh / 191cm / 77kg

Profile : Patrick is one of those guys that everyone rates a little higher than me and subsequently I have become a bit worried I don’t have him as high as I should. Only been playing a couple of years and plays fwd. Terrific size and stands well over 6ft so he presents as someone that is going to be difficult to match up on when his body fills out and he gets more core strength. Prospective coaches will be drawn to him because he is a very likeable kid and is very coachable. Add to that his ability to play a few different roles then you have someone who could go anywhere because of his potential. Mobility and smarts are his big strengths whilst his kicking and marking are good. Reminds me of Scott Simpson from the ’07 Draft. Only issue for me is his acceleration – doesn’t test as a speedster.
Why Brisbane: Any club would be interested in him as he offers a lot of potential and if he was able to get himself stronger without losing any pace then he could be a very damaging third tall.
Similar to: Jarrad Grant
Draft Range: 25 – 40
Roughie: Ben Jacobs

Firstly Snoop, love the work that has gone into your mock draft. All of it is thoughtful and plausible. Disagree with bits and pieces, but that's to be expected. Pat Karnezis is one of my favourite prospects for this year, and I think you've got him placed about right. Just one thing though, your comment about only playing for a couple of years isn't correct. Pat's been one of the outstanding junior footballers in Victoria for a long time. Played in league representative teams since U/11s or u12s and pretty sure he was in the title winning Vic Metro team at U/16s. Excellent player already and great potential for further improvement.

thx Kenny

yeah went back over my notes and had written down what you have indicated. When I was writing I think I had fixated in my head he was a soccer background but as you say he has been playing a while.

Agree with you on the upside but I think there are a couple of elements he will need to work on to ensure he doesnt finish up like Scott Simpson.

snoop good stuff mate would you still think gorringe will be taken by gc considering they pre seleced hickey?

yeah one I really struggled with. In the end I thought they had to take him bc he is just that good. Also if they all started playing well then they could trade one in a year or so and get v good currency

Tom Bell – Jeremy Laidler type who plays HB and is from Qld who I think shows a lot of potential and who I had in the list originally. Aggressive, strong body, hunts the pill but skills are only average.

Worth a try I am not usually a rap for the footballers who haven't played much footy but this kid has a desire to win the football and his hardness reminds of Wade Mills who Brisbane drafted but i think his skills are better at this stage of their development.

Liam Rutledge - Haven't seen much of him this year but was a certainty for me this time last year. Plays HF and has a good goal sense. Quigley – where is he at? ....has been retained on the Suns list.

Very average year, would want to improve enormously in the next year.

Matt Clarke – Wont get selected i suspect but dominated at QAFL level this year. Running HB with a big tank and excellent skills. Had a breakout year but probably not enough tricks to get a spot.

Looks like a ready made AFL player, pace, strong overhead, big left foot, kicks goals, 188cm can play small or tall. Would be talked about more if he played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL.

Luke Parker at #23, looks a higher prospect to me, a ready made mid.

Tom Gordon, Talls always take longer to develop and there is a lot to work with here, clubs would be mad to let him slide out of the draft completely.

Snoop the depth of your knowledge in the other states is a credit to you, it makes this draft well worth reading, keep up the good work.:thumbsu:

Thx pal
Really pleased to here your comments on Clarke. I am a fan and think he would be well worth a rookie spot so have my fingers crossed for him. very similar to Hibberd but probably skills not quite as good.
I think Rutledge has been retained on the Suns list. Has talent but not showing enough.

I’m convinced Cameron Guthrie is worthy of a late first round selection but agree that he may slide. Is this due to him not having an obvious AFL position?

Its just that I think others might be a bit ahead of him. Not sure what i said in the profile but I can see the argument that has him going from 20 onwards. I just rate guys like Parker, Hallahan, Newton etc a bit higher for different reasons and in some of the selections like WCE with Mitchell it was 'needs based' and not necessarily best available. I know Foj1 is pretty keen on him and he makes a good argument about his flexibility (ie can shutdown or attack) and that is probably a very good attribute to be fair which might mean he goes higher.

Snoop, What do you think the chances of kieran harper fulfilling his potential are? we all know he is super talented but do you personally think he can live up to it?

great question. he is a risk for me as he hasnt really been as consistent as you would like but its that potential game changing ability that just makes him hugely attractive. whilst this year he has had injuries etc and that has hindered him he has been on the radar as an exceptional talent for some time.

Selection # 45 (COLLINGWOOD)
George Horlin-Smith – Sturt / 186cm / 70kg

Profile : This years Mackie/Rusling Award winner appears to be George Horlin-Smith. Only seen some limited footage of him as he has only played a couple of u18 games for Sturt. Has literally been plucked from nowhere and whilst it was rumoured a kid was being tucked away in SA (why is it always SA?) it obviously wasn’t that great a secret because 5 clubs listed him for a National Draft Combine invitation (albeit some of his results may not have been what they are hoping for). A talented cricketer and footballer who has predominantly being playing College footy with Pembroke where he is capt. Plays mid / HF and his kicking and vision are elite I would think. His kicking actually reminds of a Nathan Buckley. One to watch come draft day.....
Why Collingwood: Remember Sean Rusling......smells like Hine to me!
Similar to: To be honest he reminds of a very young and skinny Nathan Buckley, kicking style is quite similar
Draft Range: 40- Rookie
Roughie: Jack Frost or Angus Litherland would be good defensive tall options here which might be a need. Wouldn't surprise if a player we know little about.

If what I hear down hear is correct and I have every reason to believe it is, your sense of smell is well on target my friend, only you'll be lucky if he's still available at pick 44/45.

Newton, who you have tipped as going to the Eagles, and Fasolo both sound pretty similar (and I would be happy to get either). Why do you think the Eagles will favour one over the other ?

i would go for Newton for a couple of reasons;

1. I think he is more talented and the fact he was an AIS member supports that.

2. Think he has the potential for more x factor / more tricks whereas Fasolo a little bit more 'meat and potatoes'.

Dont get me wrong both v good but I just think Newton has a bit more to offer.

An excellent effort most of the selections make sense on a needs basis as well as potential.
The only criticism if any really is i would like to see a pick in the early to mid parts of the first round that comes as a bit of a shock, as this seems to be fairly common in recent drafts.
As a Carlton fan i actually like the selection of Barden as i believe a key forward will be a must after picking up Watson, and Barden did impress me at the championships albeit a little slow.

Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft..