Roast St Kilda in no mans land

8 of 13 goals kicked from teenagers last night

Not bad from the worst list outside of West Coast and a club that only has depth because 9f the mature cast offs ever brougjt in from other clubs
This will be a big reason why St.Kilda should improve. Improve guys like Mason Wood, Daniel Butler, Zaine Cordy (stop gap I know but listing for completion), Liam Stocker and improve on the guys who never quite took the step to become top liners like Seb Ross, Jack Billings, Hunter Clark and St.Kilda could make waves. The youth last night was very impressive and something to finally be excited about. Something not right at the Dogs but St.Kilda supporters should wake up this morning excited at being 2 - 0

Harsh on Hunter Clark. The kid is still only 22 and had a horrific run of unfortunate injuries.

Bit harsh on Hunter Clark. He's still only 22 and he's barely played in the last 2 years.

27 touches last night from only 69% game time. I think he's back on the right track now

On Pixel 4a (5G) using BigFooty.com mobile app

No man's land is a good place to be
Kind of like Richmond being ninth all those years.
Ur only two young guns away from jumping up to contender.

Much better than being permanently young and s**t.
It was well and truly worth completely bottoming out and being awful 20 years ago when you were gifted priority picks for being poor.

Now the difference from being 10th to 15rh isn't great. You get a slightly better pick but we have proven through Phillipou that it often doesjt make a huge difference.

As I've said a few times now, the only recent premier to completely bottom out is Melbourne and they had to do it for 10 years before they reaped their rewards.

No man's land is a good place to be
Kind of like Richmond being ninth all those years.
Ur only two young guns away from jumping up to contender.

Much better than being permanently young and s**t.

It genuinely baffles me how many people seem to think stripping everything bare and rebuilding via the draft is the modus operandi of list management. I'm certainly glad my club hasn't approached things this way. Providing key players fall into the right age bracket, finishing mid-table at least gives you something to work with in terms of building a premiership-quality spine, and trading in talent is far less burdensome as far as player development is concerned.

2017-20 Richmond is a pretty good recent example of this. They were a glorified mid-table side prior to their run of flags, but that 2016-17 offseason massively changed the course of things. Picking up Caddy, Prestia and Bolton (the latter via the ND) strengthened a midfield that had previously been one-dimensional and heavily reliant on Cotchin and Martin, whilst Nankervis slotted in to replace an aging Maric. They've carried on with this approach over the last few years by bringing in established players such as Lynch, Taranto and Hopper of course.

As for St Kilda - whilst they don't have the quality to challenge for a flag at present, they're in a far better position to build upon existing stocks than some of the lower sides. Their midfield doesn't jump off the page to me ATM, but that could easily change with younger players like Windhager and Bytel developing further, not to mention a big FA/OOC signing or two. I think they'll continue to suffer up forward unless some of the focus is taken off King though, either by plucking another quality tall from somewhere or via a gameplan/forward structure that leads to greater involvement from their smalls. Still, I'd much rather be in their situation than those of perhaps 8-10 other sides.

It is amazing how quickly clubs can turn things around nowadays. Look at Pies and Swans.

Last 2 years I would have agreed with the title of this thread. In the space of 2 games things suddenly look a bit brighter for the club. Not saying we are anywhere near a top 6 team but a couple of good drafts and we now have some genuinely exciting young talent.

Gives supporters something to look forward to over the next 5 years or so. Expect Roos and Hawks will also quickly become competitive again

Out of curisoity, why did Josh Bruce leave the Saints?
he was offered 4 years at the Dogs and more money. We only wanted to give him i think 2 years. As well, we wanted to give more games to others.

Actually commonsense would be to stick to the topic at hand rather than trying to deflect, but there's very little of that on the Bigfooty main board these days.

Anyway I'm done with this thread, but gee my time here has been interesting. If Port had made one finals series in the past ten years I know our fans would be absolutely clamouring for change (hell, we've made finals five times in the past ten years including three prelims and our fans are already clamouring for change). It's interesting to learn that Saints fans are seemingly very happy to keep doing what they're doing. Hopefully your club continues to feel the same way, that'll be one less club the rest of us need to worry about winning a flag for years to come.
"If Port had made one finals series in the past ten years I know our fans would be absolutely clamouring for change"

Reckon the past 6 months has seen St Kilda do exactly that. If we changed much else, old mate who has been mowing the grass at Linton St for 25 years would be in strife.

It's telling that you can't distinguish between the Richardson/Ratten eras (incl recruiting) and who is running the show now.

It is amazing how quickly clubs can turn things around nowadays. Look at Pies and Swans.

Last 2 years I would have agreed with the title of this thread. In the space of 2 games things suddenly look a bit brighter for the club. Not saying we are anywhere near a top 6 team but a couple of good drafts and we now have some genuinely exciting young talent.

Gives supporters something to look forward to over the next 5 years or so. Expect Roos and Hawks will also quickly become competitive again

Like you said Pies a good example they looked on the brink of collapse with thier list after the salary cap issues,guys like Pendles looked finished etc majority of footy experts were tipping Pies bottom 4

In comes McRae and they go from 17th to missing a GF by a point

Things can change very quickly if a struggling club appoints a good coach imo

Actually commonsense would be to stick to the topic at hand rather than trying to deflect, but there's very little of that on the Bigfooty main board these days.

Anyway I'm done with this thread, but gee my time here has been interesting. If Port had made one finals series in the past ten years I know our fans would be absolutely clamouring for change (hell, we've made finals five times in the past ten years including three prelims and our fans are already clamouring for change). It's interesting to learn that Saints fans are seemingly very happy to keep doing what they're doing. Hopefully your club continues to feel the same way, that'll be one less club the rest of us need to worry about winning a flag for years to come.
The dumbest post you will see this year! We have gone through Watters, Richo and Ratten in the last 10 years and the list has been turned over time and time again as well as the administration? Are you an imbecile or just an idiot?

Roast St Kilda in no mans land