AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
i love Hinkley's reply to The Ru about the free kick toll. Ru asked him if he had anything to say to the umpires and Hinkley replied 'No, nothing really, there are two sides out there'Its pretty funny honestly.
Its pretty bloody obvious every coach sees it but what are they supposed to say haha
This is the first time I have come up in nearly 20 years. It’s a weird combination of country hicks and trash bogans tourists many of whom, as you say, are just not that bright.Let's face it, the whole Gold Coast is one of the weirder parts of Australia.
You've only got to look at the way they built huge tower blocks right on the beach.
On the east coast.
So the whole beach is cast in shadow by mid afternoon.
Then you realise that people on the Gold Coast really don't think too clearly sometimes.
It used to be footy when you played. It isn't anymore. You lift the shoulder or arm and you are in trouble. I know we were all taught to protect yourself with the shoulder but the AFL will not allow this anymore. I still think if a player does not lead with the shoulder, head tucked in, into a contest where the ball is on the ground and both players are bending over then it is a technique problem. But running at full pace with shoulder raised, is it really necessary? In the old days that was I believe to have been the best perpetrator of this bump and the hospitalizations from it still haunt the SANFL today, brain injury etc.Hit? it's footy , the media can freeze frame it if they want but these are split second moments in play , nothing in it
When the built Surfer's Palestine they were going for the Miami look. All tower blocks on the beachfront. By the time the other places, like Southport were really settled extensively they had learned a few lessons.Let's face it, the whole Gold Coast is one of the weirder parts of Australia.
You've only got to look at the way they built huge tower blocks right on the beach.
On the east coast.
So the whole beach is cast in shadow by mid afternoon.
Then you realise that people on the Gold Coast really don't think too clearly sometimes.
We were everywhere. 100% more us then them.9000 is generous. Crowd of 13000 and I dare say about 6000 swans supporters came through Broadbeach South station while I was waiting for the bus back to Coolangatta.
1 week down to a fine.he has to get at least a week ... there's no defence, no excuse ... it wasn't as blatant as pickett but franklin has always played that way and often been lucky
“Surfers Palestine”. Love it.When the built Surfer's Palestine they were going for the Miami look. All tower blocks on the beachfront. By the time the other places, like Southport were really settled extensively they had learned a few lessons.
Thoughts on the actual stadium?This is the first time I have come up in nearly 20 years. It’s a weird combination of country hicks and trash bogans tourists many of whom, as you say, are just not that bright.
That adds up to 39 clearances not 29Some interesting stats:
Hitouts: Suns 56 Swans 22
Clearances: Suns 46- Swans 29
Centre Clearances: Suns 15 - Swans 12
Stoppage Clearances: Suns 31- Swans 27
I agree about the presser. Still asking questions about the drubbing. These people are brain dead. I doubt any of the questioners, I refuse to call the journalists, would pass Journalism 101.Really pleased to see that both Stephens and McInerney got plenty of the ball and did their job defensively too.
It makes us harder to defend against when we are less narrow on attack and both these guys and Errol hold their width.
Great to see Rampe back in the backstop/interceptor role, despite GC being fairly tall. Made it easier with our mids pressuring their entries.
Reckon that was the worst press conference I've ever seen. First year students would have asked better questions. No insight at all.
As rubbish as Gold Coast were though, we did everything that you'd expect a top side to do.
Came out the gates firing to show we meant business.
Defence absorbed when Suns inevitably had their turn.
Blew the game open to kill off any challenge Suns might've had left.
Hardly going to judge the players for junktime sleepiness when they'd just played their first full game in six months on the Equator.
I loved that Red V jumper too. We look lean and clean. There is definitely something about it. The Swans looked slick in it.Made it to half time and my four year old wouldn’t relent in his desire to go home.
I was sweating bullets, so uncomfortable last night.
Observation for first half is how much I miss not seeing many games live. Rampe behind the ball was marshalling the back line. He is a leader that you would follow. So professional and controls that backline.
The red V jumper - a personal joy for me.
The Swans pressure set up the game. GC then made mistakes later based on perceived pressure and a slippery pill
You really do walk into doors don't you. That is a statement not a question. Have you forgotten Round 5 last year v Eagles? A score of 121-58. Both forward Macs played, minus Franklin. Round 6 v Hawks 58-109, with Franklin.Well that was a promising display.
That win might not happen if not for our defence, which was incredible. Rampe and Lloyd especially played stunning games. When the entire team (minus Buddy & Stephens) looked out of sorts, could barely pick the ball up or find a target, it was these defenders who kept Gold Coast at bay, and ensured that Gold Coast's "time" amounted to only a few goals. It set the rest of the game up to be the comfortable victory that it was. I can not stress enough how brilliant Rampe & Lloyd were, and as they're my two favourites, I feel obligated to. They were ******* amazing!
Pleasing part was that many were well below their very best but still had good outings - the McCartins, Warner, Gulden, Mills, Papley.
Stephens had the best game of his career. It was the clearest idea yet of what we can expect from him for the next however many years we are lucky to have him. A culmination of everything he'd done in little patches over his first 25 or so games, just over and over and over again tonight. Tough, skilful, smooth, hard-working. What's not to love?
Ladhams battled manfully against a hitout beast in Witts. Naturally Witts got the better of him in the ruck contests but around the ground and in general play I thought Ladhams was decisive and smart.
McInerney has that trademark spring back in his step, it's only a matter of time before he has a massive game again.
Hayward worked his butt off but kept failing at finishing off his hard work with silly little errors. What I loved most was how he kept at it. Didn't go into his shell or get frustrated. Eventually he got reward for his effort. You could see the relief on his face afterwards.
Campbell was solid and composed. He really does play with an attack on the ball that belies his size and inexperience.
I also loved the game of Parker, who understood the conditions of the game better than anyone else out there. SO many players got themselves into trouble trying to take possession of the ball in slippery conditions. Parker got the memo: Territory, territory, territory!
Finally... a win with a score of 100+ featuring McLean & McDonald? I am SHOCKED
Check the replay. I watched it 4 or 5 times. Rowell turned his hip in. Juzzy was there first.I’d have to see the replay. The only thing I have read in regards to that was someone saying Rowell got hands to the ball first and that Juzzy deserved to be injured having gone head first like that.
Nothing will change until there are changes to the length of stay for young talent. As many have said before GC and GWS are effectively pseudo mature age academies for clubs in traditional states.
Funnily enough when the rules in the AFLW start seeing players move north for bench to nothing it’s an outrage and the lack of loyalty should be fixed.
Think buddy will get 2
Maybe they’ve been watching Ted Lasso.I happened to be on the same plane home as the players and coaches, and it was really noticeable how well they all seem to get along.
It was a bit like that. Hayward and Logan were hugging in the aisle at one point.Maybe they’ve been watching Ted Lasso.
If we have any chance of keeping this group together especially the interstate boys, team chemistry needs to be elite.It was a bit like that. Hayward and Logan were hugging in the aisle at one point.