Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

MOD NOTICE ON COPYWRITTTEN CONTENT
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

What biased drivel. So we are Disappointing whilst Geelong were excusable. And shooting for a prelim ? Undefeated premiers is the minimum we should aim for.

I like fast players.

Not biased at all mate quite a balanced article we were 15th on the ladder after 17 rounds (bottom 3) its only a few late wins that salvaged a disaster of a season.

Montagna remains a complete dill. Doesn't seem to actually know what he thinks or why.

I used to know lots of boxers. They're all dead now. Expect autopsies would have shown CTE for each.

Montagna despite not being a head over the ball type has made me think he must have copped a few hits.

He's actually not

Jersey Shore GIF by Jersey Shore Family Vacation

just another typically shallow, slapdash appraisal, which is pretty much standard when the vic-based footy media is discussing sydney
there's a mention of some higher-profile names, a few issues everyone knows we have ... and the hackneyed references to franklin
then montagna finishes with a vague assessment of "somewhere around the eight ... in the mix with other teams" ...
apparently the only thing really going for us is having gulden and signing some former victorian stars
no real examination of the issues that blighted the first half of last season, or where we might get improvement out of the younger and lesser known players

just another typically shallow, slapdash appraisal, which is pretty much standard when the vic-based footy media is discussing sydney
there's a mention of some higher-profile names, a few issues everyone knows we have ... and the hackneyed references to franklin
then montagna finishes with a vague assessment of "somewhere around the eight ... in the mix with other teams" ...
apparently the only thing really going for us is having gulden and signing some former victorian stars
no real examination of the issues that blighted the first half of last season, or where we might get improvement out of the younger and lesser known players

At this point they could just use ChatGPT for all Sydney related content, if they don’t do that already.

Sydney talk starts at 12:58mins into video

This might be an unpopular opinion but I actually agree with Montagna’s summation.

I have question marks about how our forward line will go with McDonald, McLean and Amartey as the key targets. I also think Blakey and Tom McCartin are undersized (although fantastic players) and I have my concerns around the concussion issues Tom has had in the past.

Overall I think like most teams this year we are in the mix for a Top 8 spot and with a good run with injuries/suspensions Top 4. I think it’s going to be a pretty even season and outside of West Coast, North and probably the Hawks I wouldn’t be all that surprised to see any of the other sides end up in a prelim final.

I think two players that perhaps haven’t featured in many discussions about how our season will pan out this year are Rowbottom and Reid. With Mills out most likely for the first half of the season and all eyes on Gulden I think Rowbottom can really push to be that hard nut midfielder on a consistent basis, much like Parker. Sam Reid at the age of 32 could still have a couple more good years in him and can fill multiple voids across the field for us if he can remain injury free.

Overall I am excited for what should be an interesting season!

People crying bias as soon as an external source isn't fawning over us is somewhat ironic.

i never mentioned bias, and i don't give a shite if media or anyone else in the football world don't like the swans
it's the fact that everything in the vic-based media about the swans seems superficial, almost an afterthought ... there seemed bugger-all genuine analysis, just standard comments about the few players who real garner any attention among the audience that podcast thing would be aiming at
the only time they go into any real depth is if it's a negative story about sydney ... eg, when we hit a bad run of games, or when we have issues with players
just give the swans the same attention as they give essendon or st kilda or other such chronically dismal and underperforming clubs

i never mentioned bias, and i don't give a shite if media or anyone else in the football world don't like the swans
it's the fact that everything in the vic-based media about the swans seems superficial, almost an afterthought ... there seemed bugger-all genuine analysis, just standard comments about the few players who real garner any attention among the audience that podcast thing would be aiming at
the only time they go into any real depth is if it's a negative story about sydney ... eg, when we hit a bad run of games, or when we have issues with players
just give the swans the same attention as they give essendon or st kilda or other such chronically dismal and underperforming clubs
That was my issue with that piece. Not that it was necessarily wrong even but that it was superficial and when he was challenged he had nothing to back up the views he had expressed.

Not entirely sure I referenced you so not clear on why you got so defensive. Believe I was referring to this post:
What biased drivel. So we are Disappointing whilst Geelong were excusable. And shooting for a prelim ? Undefeated premiers is the minimum we should aim for.

I like fast players.

This might be an unpopular opinion but I actually agree with Montagna’s summation.

I have question marks about how our forward line will go with McDonald, McLean and Amartey as the key targets. I also think Blakey and Tom McCartin are undersized (although fantastic players) and I have my concerns around the concussion issues Tom has had in the past.

Overall I think like most teams this year we are in the mix for a Top 8 spot and with a good run with injuries/suspensions Top 4. I think it’s going to be a pretty even season and outside of West Coast, North and probably the Hawks I wouldn’t be all that surprised to see any of the other sides end up in a prelim final.

I think two players that perhaps haven’t featured in many discussions about how our season will pan out this year are Rowbottom and Reid. With Mills out most likely for the first half of the season and all eyes on Gulden I think Rowbottom can really push to be that hard nut midfielder on a consistent basis, much like Parker. Sam Reid at the age of 32 could still have a couple more good years in him and can fill multiple voids across the field for us if he can remain injury free.

Overall I am excited for what should be an interesting season!
I think his analysis is superficial.

He mentions the reasons why we were lucky to make the 8, without acknowledging the almost unprecedented run of injuries to key position players during and after that round 4 game against Port.

But I think it is reasonable to have us in the group of 5-6 teams behind Collingwood and Brisbane fighting for top 4.

The only certainty I think there is about the season is that West Coast will be terrible.

Other than that, the season seems like a bit of a injury-based raffle to me. Fortunately, we seem very well placed there at the moment.

I think his analysis is superficial.

He mentions the reasons why we were lucky to make the 8, without acknowledging the almost unprecedented run of injuries to key position players during and after that round 4 game against Port.

But I think it is reasonable to have us in the group of 5-6 teams behind Collingwood and Brisbane fighting for top 4.

The only certainty I think there is about the season is that West Coast will be terrible.

Other than that, the season seems like a bit of an injury-based raffle to me. Fortunately, we seem very well placed there at the moment.
Leigh’s about as smart a boxful of hammers. Think we’ll go undefeated personally

People crying bias as soon as an external source isn't fawning over us is somewhat ironic.
For mind, It wasn't that it was biased.. more just lazy journalism.
Whether hes right or wrong, only time will tell. A more insightful commentary may sound something like...
  • Acknowledgment of the injury list in 2023 - Horse said "at one stage we had injuries to 12 KPPs" "2nd worst injury list behind West Coast"
  • Acknowledgement of our youth. Players like Warner, Gulden, Campbell, Logan, Amartey, JMac, Rowbottom, Tom Mac, McLean, Florent, Hayward etc are all TWO years older than hey were when they made the grandfinal
  • Acknowledgement of how the extra experience and 'hardness' (that comes with age) should improve our midfield and clearance issues
  • The trading in of a quality ruck and inside mid will also improve of midfield issues.
  • Yes Budy has retired, but would be nice to acknowledge that Logan, Mclean & Amartey performed better when Buddy was not playing last year. The Swans also have depth in Reid and a young guy that kicked 5 goals in VFL practice match on the weekend in Buller
  • The talls down back may be an issue??? The Swans have more depth than before, but the quality of that depth is to be determined.
  • Maybe acknowledge the depth in the squad which was showcased last thursday by the reserves flogging GWS 131 to 12. Also showcased by the fact that not one our draftees over the last three years can break into the team.
  • Its their 150th birthday and they will be primed for a big year.
Gary Lyon = top 4, Cornes = top 4, Tim Watson = top 4, Buckley = top 4
Montagna = somewhere around 8th with a bunch of other teams (LAZY prediction)

Most other commentators have spoken about all these factors.. Not hard

For mind, It wasn't that it was biased.. more just lazy journalism.

Whether hes right or wrong, only time will tell. A more insightful commentary may sound something like...
  • Acknowledgment of the injury list in 2023 - Horse said "at one stage we had injuries to 12 KPPs" "2nd worst injury list behind West Coast"
  • Acknowledgement of our youth. Players like Warner, Gulden, Campbell, Logan, Amartey, JMac, Rowbottom, Tom Mac, McLean, Florent, Hayward etc are all TWO years older than hey were when they made the grandfinal
  • Acknowledgement of how the extra experience and 'hardness' (that comes with age) should improve our midfield and clearance issues
  • The trading in of a quality ruck and inside mid will also improve of midfield issues.
  • Yes Budy has retired, but would be nice to acknowledge that Logan, Mclean & Amartey performed better when Buddy was not playing last year. The Swans also have depth in Reid and a young guy that kicked 5 goals in VFL practice match on the weekend in Buller
  • The talls down back may be an issue??? The Swans have more depth than before, but the quality of that depth is to be determined.
  • Maybe acknowledge the depth in the squad which was showcased last thursday by the reserves flogging GWS 131 to 12. Also showcased by the fact that not one our draftees over the last three years can break into the team.
  • Its their 150th birthday and they will be primed for a big year.
Gary Lyon = top 4, Cornes = top 4, Tim Watson = top 4, Buckley = top 4
Montagna = somewhere around 8th with a bunch of other teams (LAZY prediction)

Most other commentators have spoken about all these factors.. Not hard

Good post.

The score in the VFL was not 131. We had 15 goals and I can't remember how many behinds to 1.6 (all in just 3 x 25 minute periods without time added on).

From Instagram and Swans website..

I'm not sure what to say. I didn't count the goals but I was there and I checked the scoreboard at the end of the match. My recollection was it said 15 goals to 1. I remember checking whether the Giants had scored 1 or 2 goals (because they had scored an even 12 points - although if I had thought about it I would have realised that of course they had scored some behinds). It's possible that in the sunny conditions the electronic numbers didn't stand out and that I didn't read the it properly. Or maybe the scoreboard was wrong.

The Swans website refers to a 119 point victory and cites the Insta post of swans_reserves. I think it's possible that swans_reserves has made a mistake and that the media team just blindly relied on that. We're talking a 5 goal difference and given it was only 3 shorter than average periods I just don't think it was that much of a smashing.

Yer i think we are probably one of the hardest teams to get a gauge on how we will go.

Trust me these articles are better than what they used to be with the "bondi millionaires" tag attached to the club.

Put us in a bracket with Carlton/Port.
That's about right i reckon. We barely scrapped into the 8 and injuries cruelled us at the start of the season.

Our first 6 games are against quality opposition and after that I think we'll have a better idea how we might end up.