Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

Advertised to go to 7pm, finished at 6.30pm Danced around a majority of questions and repeated more party lines. I asked the question about what is the club going to do to make Vic membership worthwhile with the ever increasing number of fully ticketed games and basically copped the "If you've got any ideas, let us know." Mate, you couldn't respond to a request for the club to send a 50th anniversary message to my folks, why would I bother emailing and expecting a response with suggestions on how to stop treating your Vic members as cash cows.
Clearly just a webinar to satisfy sponsors. Have less confidence about 2025 after it, tbh.

Just when I was starting to cool down, the total avoidance of answering any GF related questions got me angry all over again 🤬

He's not going to be able to avoid me so easily on the cruise though 🤣🤣🤣

Just when I was starting to cool down, the total avoidance of answering any GF related questions got me angry all over again 🤬

He's not going to be able to avoid me so easily on the cruise though 🤣🤣🤣
Tom Harley trying to avoid yours and everyone's questions on the ship

Tyrion Lannister Jump GIF by Game of Thrones

Reasonable effort, show some knowledge of our list and club. Still a bit light weight and no inside mail or goss.
He's good , said we're a New South Wales club and called Konstanty uncapped

Reasonable effort, show some knowledge of our list and club. Still a bit light weight and no inside mail or goss.
Got as far as "Best Available" and I almost snapped my phone in half.

A month or so back, the Whitlocks and Hynes would have been some of my main targets.

But thinking about who we have, what we need... I think more contested KPFs to challenge McLean and Amartey, like Sims and Gerreyn, are warranted. Likewise, Davis has edged out Hynes for me as more of a target type medium (some have mentioned Josh Murphy and there's others later too), with Chad hopefully spending more time forward as an attacking HFF (before a couple of academy kids next year).

I wouldn't overlook the strong possibility that the club has no idea why we folded so pathetically, again, in the GF.
If they don't have the answers (which they probably don't), then tell us straight up and don't take us for fools. Don't trot around this "we played so well during the season and proud of almost all of it" line.

I don't think the club has any choice but to maintain this outlook. Whilst I understand we as fans are now at the stage where nothing else matters besides winning a grand final, the coaches, players and staff still have 25 odd games to prioritise so they can simply get to a grand final and even have the chance to win it.

As I've said before, this is what makes our challenge so difficult, we can only address the biggest issue stopping us from winning a flag by being in a grand final, and that takes an enormous amount of OTHER work just to make happen. It's not like our issue is, say, goalkicking, or bad fadeouts, that can be addressed and focused on over the pre-season, or corrected with every game each week.

This is also maybe where a better coach would come in handy. If you are having to so often require deep introspections about how to get your team to compete in a grand final, then you're probably not the right guy for the job. The right guy would intuitively and instinctively know what to do and what not to do. I really don't think there is much difference tactically between Clarkson and Horse, but Clarkson's team made five grand finals and were competitive in all of them. Horse's?

What strikes me about this is the names of the players giving of their limited (and so presumably precious) off-season time to the club and footy. I thought it might be about money, and maybe it is (it's telling that there are no top earners among them), but it's not like any payments would sit outside the salary cap. And clearly it's not only about money.

To me it demonstrates three other qualities:

1. A commitment/devotion to the club.

2. A curiosity about the world.

3. A desire to learn and improve and invest in oneself, which is also sometimes called professionalism.

Fox's name pops up once again. First he goes to Doha. Now to the NT.
Because he hangs on to his career by a thread. Yet performs better on the big stage than the big $$$ boys. So perhaps the big $$$ boys aren’t to be trusted on such trips in case they fail. It is away from home after all.

I was kinda looking forward to seeing more videos highlighting some individual players, but it would seem the club have stopped at... Brodie Grundy, James Rowbottom, Chad Warner, Isaac Heeney & Errol Gulden.

Well at least they're celebrating the seasons of some of the lesser known Swans players.

Flog on the right
I don't really care about Spencer as an individual but I do care about his role in that webinar. It should NOT have happened. It should have been a board member or Cameron. Not Longmire - too divisive. Not Pridham - leave the big boss out of it. Big mistake and not well prepared, same as the phone calls.

Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024