That really sucks. Massive advantage playing them in Vic.Sam Edmund on Twitter going with our rd 7 match-up being against Gold Coast at Metricon. Also confirmed that McKay (as stated by barass) will miss this week against * due to rib damage.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
That really sucks. Massive advantage playing them in Vic.Sam Edmund on Twitter going with our rd 7 match-up being against Gold Coast at Metricon. Also confirmed that McKay (as stated by barass) will miss this week against * due to rib damage.
Thanks mate. That is so much better to see it is a genuine away game. Had me worried before.View attachment 899298
I think the original post was a mistake. This is from SEN (via Sam Edmund), obv not 100% confirmed until the AFL comes out
Round 5 play Geelong at GMHBA and Round 6 Hawthorn at the Gdo Gold Coast leave QLD at any stage?
r6 their at the MCGdo Gold Coast leave QLD at any stage?
Here are my issues:
Marchbank's mobility is relative; he's not mobile compared to other wingers, he's mobile compared to other talls. He can and will get burnt for pace by almost every single other wing in the comp, without them doing very much. He is agile for a tall not a small. The only place he could get them is through height and marking, and as long as we have one of Casboult, Gov or Charlie down the line (playing CHF or merely a chopout kick) his marking doesn't really add anything we don't already have.
A winger needs to have good disposal. Marchbank's kicking is good (certainly, it's better than a lot of people think it is) but it is not quite at the right level IMO. You can forgive that in a KPD (he's either going for safe kicks first or moving to the other wing where you've got players out in space, so precision isn't as important compared to distance) but you can't really in a winger. It's why I didn't want Ellis last year; for such an able winger, his disposal is awful.
Finally, one of the key issues I had with us under Ratts was that we continuously tried to shove round pegs into square holes. Marchbank has trained most of his life to become a key defender who intercepts opposition entries. We have a player who is 29 in that position right now, and he might last a year or he might last 5; we know due to history that KPP generally succumb to time ahead of smalls.
If we want a winger, let's recruit one.
Marchbank's mobility is relative; he's not mobile compared to other wingers, he's mobile compared to other talls.
Finally, one of the key issues I had with us under Ratts was that we continuously tried to shove round pegs into square holes. Marchbank has trained most of his life to become a key defender who intercepts opposition entries. We have a player who is 29 in that position right now, and he might last a year or he might last 5; we know due to history that KPP generally succumb to time ahead of smalls.
If we want a winger, let's recruit one.
Yeehaaa just a lazy six and a bit hours down the road. If there are tickets to be had I/we will be thereSam Edmund on Twitter going with our rd 7 match-up being against Gold Coast at Metricon. Also confirmed that McKay (as stated by barass) will miss this week against * due to rib damage.
I don't think we've had a decent winger since David GlascottI think so.
In Rattens time and maybe a little after, we recruited this type-player, with a view to make him into a that-type player.
Here's the info I had through that period:
Davies HBF'r to winger
Bootsma was also slated to play wing (This sort of made sense though)
McCarthy was a potential future captain. It took me one training session to feel - 'Well that's not going to happen'
Jaksch; When we recruited him the thoughts around him were: We have a 10 year KPF on our hands.
Menzel: Future midfielder....before we realised he didn't have a tank.
Viojo-Rainbow: HBF'er to Wing.....right!
There were more, but not coming to mind now.....
If we applied exactly what you're suggesting, we'd have been so much better off.
Not sure why recruiters/coaches have the need to 'recreate'
Even now we'll see that we payed premium for so many mids and now have to find new homes for them, or get rid of some. This I am sure of.
Mil Hanna?I don't think we've had a decent winger since David Glascott
I don't think we've had a decent winger since David Glascott
Damn, I forgot about the bald one. The other one will be forever tainted as a traitor in my eyes.Mil Hanna?
Scott Camporeale?
I'm sure there are others but, I agree, David was a champ.
seriously wtf do you need ribs for anyway?Sam Edmund on Twitter going with our rd 7 match-up being against Gold Coast at Metricon. Also confirmed that McKay (as stated by barass) will miss this week against * due to rib damage.
seriously wtf do you need ribs for anyway?
Would be difficult. Have to use a very powerful saw and then a great big ship to tow it elsewhere.do Gold Coast leave QLD at any stage?
Pfft.so it stings a little when you breathe, move, laugh, cough, lift - does anyone carry an injury anymore? can I get an amen, my brothers & sisters?
Yep could bore everyone with some stories.so it stings a little when you breathe, move, laugh, cough, lift - does anyone carry an injury anymore? can I get an amen, my brothers & sisters?
Oof. That sounds terrible. But thankfully you are both still with us.Yep could bore everyone with some stories.
Bruised, get on with it. Cracked a week lay off as distinct from broken and slightly displaced which may get two or three.
Rib cartilage on another level, didn't do playing, but later with horses. Either I was getting softer or lingers longer and pain at least as bad as "broken".
Spare a thought for my ex jockey missus, career ended with 9 broken (flail chest) 1 re attached to wrong rib. 2 "floating" (not attached), as is a decent
"chip". To this day question medical "experts" who wouldn't operate to reattach spruiking that it would do more damage to cut open. Yet have seen plenty
of clips since where just that was done. Remains scariest day of my life. Lost her twice before ambos could drive the 1 bloody kilometre 20mins. Absolutely fluked rolling her the right way after being told on phone to roll her on her side to prevent drowning, other side would have been no hope. Ribs....memories......aaaagh. (extra info, when I had my pelvis smashed 6 weeks later, one of the attending ambos recognised her. Oh look I have your x rays on my phone, never seen an injury like it. Nobody expected you to survive. Hmmm have to love political correctness)
Yep could bore everyone with some stories.
Bruised, get on with it. Cracked a week lay off as distinct from broken and slightly displaced which may get two or three.
Rib cartilage on another level, didn't do playing, but later with horses. Either I was getting softer or lingers longer and pain at least as bad as "broken".
Spare a thought for my ex jockey missus, career ended with 9 broken (flail chest) 1 re attached to wrong rib. 2 "floating" (not attached), as is a decent
"chip". To this day question medical "experts" who wouldn't operate to reattach spruiking that it would do more damage to cut open. Yet have seen plenty
of clips since where just that was done. Remains scariest day of my life. Lost her twice before ambos could drive the 1 bloody kilometre 20mins. Absolutely fluked rolling her the right way after being told on phone to roll her on her side to prevent drowning, other side would have been no hope. Ribs....memories......aaaagh. (extra info, when I had my pelvis smashed 6 weeks later, one of the attending ambos recognised her. Oh look I have your x rays on my phone, never seen an injury like it. Nobody expected you to survive. Hmmm have to love political correctness)