Preview The Grand Final Edition 🏆🏉 đź‘Š Collingwood vs Brisbane, 2023

So…as expected. The “meeja” is already starting:

- “bu bu bu Brisbane high scoring”

- “Collingwood has lost the last 6 to Brisbane”

- “Collingwood didn’t kick big scores in their wins”

But what Im absolutely loving is all the selective context they’re choosing to ignore in order to paint an anti-Collingwood picture

- Yes, in the last 2 finals we haven’t scored much and in the last 2 games against Brisbane they kicked BIG scores

…but here’s the thing

- In those last 2 games against Brisbane WE also kicked big scores.

- In those last 2 finals, we kept our opposition, two high scoring teams, to an even lower score than ours. We do what we need to do to suit the game

- Yep. Brisbane has beat us the last 6. None of which were at the MCG. A ground Brisbane have only 1 of 15

Context bitch

You're both missing the point.

When is good luck going to bestow us before a GF? I can't remember ever having much luck before a GF, compared to the opponent.
You are missing the point.

If you make a Grand Final the Gods have smiled on you. But there is only so much they can do, the rest is up to you - what you bring to the table.

Continually sooking about how unfair life is serves no worthwhile purpose.

Ability to cover the ground on a hot day will be a huge factor.

I could see Noble as the sub with Ginnivan missing.

Hot day and Noble with fresh legs through the middle (not back) could help break lines.
I wouldn’t drop Ginni. I would have Ginni before Noble in a close one. Just think Ginni has a bit more X factor. Bring the crowd in too. Just wonder if like 02/03 Lions have bigger bodied players that might brush ours aside. Cats in 2011.

um..we finished on top of the ladder ..more wins than anyone else..we lost mcstay for 10 weeks..daicos for 4..moore for 3..we had no ruckman for weeks mihocek missed a chunk with a hamstring ...plus others have regularly missed and our depth has consistently covered theses losses ..weve got two players unavailable ..our depth will cover again its not a complete catastrophe
So given the loss of Adams and McStay who are the players capable of coming into the 23 for Saturday? Frampton? (Not in my opinion - not as a forward). Noble is the only AFL standard player who seems to be available this week.

Can't wait till selection, i see the pros and cons of both Frampton or Noble. So very very interesting

I wouldn’t drop Ginni. I would have Ginni before Noble in a close one. Just think Ginni has a bit more X factor. Bring the crowd in too. Just wonder if like 02/03 Lions have bigger bodied players that might brush ours aside. Cats in 2011.

I wouldn't play Noble on a man in defence. He'd be through the midfield.

But what Im absolutely loving is all the selective context they’re choosing to ignore in order to paint an anti-Collingwood picture

- Yes, in the last 2 finals we haven’t scored much and in the last 2 games against Brisbane they kicked BIG scores

…but here’s the thing

- In those last 2 finals, we kept our opposition, two high scoring teams, to an even lower score than ours. We do what we need to do to suit the game

- Yep. Brisbane has beat us the last 6. None of which were at the MCG. A ground Brisbane have only 1 of 15

Context bitch
You’d do well to avoid media and commentary mate. I’ve avoided it and it’s much more relaxing.

Everything is always against us we know this.

…but here’s the thing

Context bitch
I’m absolutely fine with us being painted as the underdog.

So given the loss of Adams and McStay who are the players capable of coming into the 23 for Saturday? Frampton? (Not in my opinion - not as a forward). Noble is the only AFL standard player who seems to be available this week.
TGG you seem to have this thought that other teams have A graders waiting in the wings on the vfl to play. No team can replace players like mcstay or adams. There’s only so much depth one team can have

We have depth. Noble, frampton as emergencies. Macrae worst case could play a role. Even Carmy at worst. Reef and AJ are injured or have been injured can’t help that. Kreugs break glass if needbe. That’s decent forward depth if they were fit..

You’d do well to avoid media and commentary mate. I’ve avoided it and it’s much more relaxing.

Everything is always against us we know this.
Very true. If the rest of us gave a **** about all that we would have spent all day reading the Sun, listening to Sen and watching the footy shows. We didn’t and we don’t.

Couldn't agree with this more.

I would love it if we could get a lot less of the incessant and never ending sooking about 'who said x unfavourable thing about us' on this board. It's pissy and painful to trawl through.

Frampton was more than serviceable and helped us get over the line against Adelaide in Adelaide ,Essendon on Anzac Day and also against St Kilda in gather round ..When both rucks went down he more than capably did the job so you can add him as an afl standard depth player ..Theres an argument that reef and Finn are also..how much depth do Brisbane have ?...rich ?..lol

Just wonder if like 02/03 Lions have bigger bodied players that might brush ours aside. Cats in 2011.
Those midfields of Voss/Black/Akermanis/Scott and Bartel/Ling/Selwood/Corey were significantly more physical than Neale (gun, but a midget) / Zorko (midget, and a dog campaigner) / Dunkley (gun, but not a brute) / Berry (tough, but not massive).

Meanwhile none of De Goey, Crisp, Mitchell, McCreery, Quaynor or Maynard are gonna be taking backward steps. And Naicos/Pendles/Sidey have shown the cleanness to absorb physical pressure.

We might get done for different reasons, but copping a physical belting doesn't feel like the culprit in 2023.

Here’s our 2018 Grand Final team…

B Brayden Maynard, Tom Langdon, Jack Crisp
HB Jeremy Howe, Tyson Goldsack, Travis Varcoe
C Adam Treloar, Scott Pendlebury, Tom Phillips
HF Will Hoskin-Elliott, Brody Mihocek, Jordan De Goey
F Josh Thomas, Mason Cox, Jaidyn Stephenson
FOL Brodie Grundy, Taylor Adams, Steele Sidebottom
I/C Brayden Sier, James Aish, Chris Mayne, Levi Greenwood

Here’s our 2018 Grand Final team…

B Brayden Maynard, Tom Langdon, Jack Crisp
HB Jeremy Howe, Tyson Goldsack, Travis Varcoe
C Adam Treloar, Scott Pendlebury, Tom Phillips
HF Will Hoskin-Elliott, Brody Mihocek, Jordan De Goey
F Josh Thomas, Mason Cox, Jaidyn Stephenson
FOL Brodie Grundy, Taylor Adams, Steele Sidebottom
I/C Brayden Sier, James Aish, Chris Mayne, Levi Greenwood
Can’t really hang this team out to dry. It was a kick in it at the end. Skill error killed up and I’ll say it, an Umps (non blocking) decision that let it all unfold.