• Brett Kirk

Votes: 7 1.6%
  • OTHER

Votes: 30 7.0%

well im saying I don't think ratten can ever so it will be quicker than that. :)

no matter what coach we hire he will come with risk.
it seems hawthorn rate Bolton more so that's telling. he was OK at carlton, I get that, and he was hard done by at carlton, I get that too, but he wasn't exactly coaching the house down either.

It just seems like a safe appointment to me and id like to leave the mediocrity behind.

All very fair points and I agree with you in some aspects, especially the bolded part.

I just think Ratten may be quite underrated to what some people are saying on here and his experience at Hawks could prove to be the game changer for him as a coach. At this stage I would rather we start fresh with Bassett or experience in Ratten. Again, not convinced by Dew or Bolton yet.

Tudor an interesting option however that hasn't received as much spotlight. Kingsley could also be thrown into that basket too I guess.

Considering CE78 hasn't yet been proven to be wrong, I think he deserves to be given a bit of slack. He hasn't named a coach, and his timeline hasn't yet passed. Lay off for a bit.

I don't post much, but I read A LOT - and CE78 doesn't come close to the shit that get's posted on here.

Considering CE78 hasn't yet been proven to be wrong, I think he deserves to be given a bit of slack. He hasn't named a coach, and his timeline hasn't yet passed. Lay off for a bit.

I don't post much, but I read A LOT - and CE78 doesn't come close to the shit that get's posted on here.

Thank you. I have repeatedly tried to restate my purpose and that I'm not in this for "laughs" as some have stated. 15 mins of fame on an anonymous forum? Not that either.

I have been consistent and I haven't wavered in my info (or non-info). I have 150% faith in my source.

Not long to go now.

Thank you. I have repeatedly tried to restate my purpose and that I'm not in this for "laughs" as some have stated. 15 mins of fame on an anonymous forum? Not that either.

I have been consistent and I haven't wavered in my info (or non-info). I have 150% faith in my source.

Not long to go now.
Thursday you reckon?

He's all but named the coach - called it the coup of the century, that we'd all be proud of the club and that we will be a bolter for Top 4.

Not long to go now.
I haven't been one to jump down your throat but your posting has led us to believe its Clarkson, hope you're right, but just can't see it.

Cut a long story short. here was only 2 coaches suitable for this job & we will not get them (Clarkson & Worsfold). Another ex assistant coach will be another Sando!

Well done AFC board for another great decision.

He's all but named the coach - called it the coup of the century, that we'd all be proud of the club and that we will be a bolter for Top 4.

1. Century is only 14 years old.
2. You will be proud.
3. We will discuss in Sept 2015 as to the last point.

I think you're jumping the gun in regards to the negativity here.

I have a feeling your not far off the money. Ratten was doing fine had a gun midfield but was suspect in defense and no real forward line with Waite injured every 2nd week. Couple that with being in the Hawks box while they nab 2 cups has to be looked at. I think he would take our list forward at a rate of knots.
Not a spike..cause that's up quick and back down but a sustained charge at the top 4.

Yeah that was the biggest thing for me. Looking through some of the players/combinations that Ratten was forced to use as key forwards or back was just terrible. Thorton and undersized Michael Jamison, Andrew McInnes *vomits*, Simon White *vomits*, an injury plagued Waite, Setanta, Duigan, Laidler.... it just goes on ( no offence any Carlton readers, but it's pretty bad). Lachie Henderson is literally the one man team at either end of the ground. I felt for Ratten sometimes...

Cut a long story short. There was only 2 coaches suitable for this job & we will not get them (Clarkson & Worsfold). Another ex assistant coach will be another Sando!

Well done AFC board for another great decision, pffft

One thing about Bomber Thompson's refusal to even consider the Adelaide coaching job because it was his mate that was sacked from that position that sort of bugs me.

The most common reason that a coach departs from a club is that he is sacked. It's actually a normal part of football and a natural hazard of being a coach. Malthouse, Matthews etc and many other icon coaches of the game have said many times that the one certainty about coaching is that you will be sacked.

Adelaide are regarded as one of the big clubs of the comp and big clubs don't tolerate successive results of 11th and 10th for successive years. Throw into the equation all those crumbling losses of less than 2 goals and it was the non-surprise of the year that Sando got sacked. I didn't see it coming but in hindsight perhaps one should have.

Anyhow my point is this. I can't see why Thompson should see coaching Adelaide as a betrayal of his mate, as he had nothing to do with the sacking, and being sacked is almost as natural as breathing for an AFL coach.

I would have though he would have put on his big boy panties and jumped at the opportunity to coach a club with a promising future after letting his mate know that he was being offered an offer too good to refuse

Just my thoughts re Thompson. :)
To be honest, I thought it was pretty straight forward myself. Thompson was asked the day of Sando's sacking and the following day, he was basically forced into having a strong stance and saying what he did because he would have come across as a dog had he said otherwise. Can't say I was surprised at all by what he said given the timing after someone that had been an assistant coach under his wing and suddenly got sacked. When I say suddenly, I mean because he was given a 2 year contract extension at around this time last year so it was rather unexpected to most of us.

As for the Ratten v Malthouse debate, I've always assumed that Ratten had a game plan that was able to get Carlton only so far but it was never going to be any good in the finals. Malthouse came in and had to change that, instill a plan that with the right personnel, would have them play good finals footy. The issue being, Carlton's recruiting/player development for the most part has been nothing short of pathetic which is why this side hasn't gotten anywhere with Malthouse and mostly gone backwards.

I'm sure if Malthouse was happy with just making the finals he would have stuck with what Ratten was doing, but Carlton didn't bring him in for the same, they wanted to go further and I'm of the belief that it wasn't going to happen with this squad which Malthouse quickly found out.

With that said, I've got no issue with us looking at Ratten for some role on our list because as others have said, I'm sure he's grown as a coach and would have learned from some of his 'mistakes' at Carlton.

Took you this long?
Seriously, don't you have anything better to do than continually call out this one guy out again and again? Probably got 20 pages worth of you doing it so far, it's getting pretty repetitive to read...

brown_horse_running.jpg

Backtracking already.

Where is the backtracking? Let me guess - the "the coup of the century?". Well, considering that the century has 86 years left, I can hardly predict whether something will trump this in the year 2099.

It will definitely trump anything this century up until now.

Ive also been told (2nd hand mind you) that the players have been told the announcement will be made tomorrow.

Make of that what you will.
To the players or media as well?