List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 6

Gold Coast have ruined the term salary dump because now every galah is expecting a top ten pick to take some salary

It’s not close to that. The reason Gold Coast is giving up seven is because they somehow managed to tie crazy money to Jack Bowes

The equivalent would be if Gold Coast decided to trade Noah Anderson and get rid of his money. Still clearing the same amount of cash but now they certainly aren’t also going to give up pick seven are they? In fact they’d expect a reasonable return

Or if GWS was paying Brett Daniels $850k and wanted to release him. Then you’d see them having to give stuff up to the team looking to take him

It really needs just a micro second of logical thinking

How was his AFL debut
Samsons AFL debut was one of the poorest footy decisions we’ve made as a club over the last 5 years. He was nowhere near ready to play and bought him in against a team with 2 gun rucks in Ryder and Marshall. He got injured first few minutes and struggled especially given his size. Completely different scenario now with a few preseasons and kg’s. Will develop into a solid AFL player for us from here

Melbourne gets pick 13, Fremantle's future first round pick and future second round pick (tied to the Dockers) in exchange for Jackson, picks 44 and 67. GWS gets Toby Bedford.
@AFLcomau

I'm completely weirded out by these Hopper discussions. I just dont get it. Hopper is contracted - l get it. But so is Haynes and Whitfield. So why are we needing to pay absolute top dollar, but Haynes and Whitfield are salary dumps - that potentially, at the last minute of trade period some club may pick them up on the cheap (or l dare say get a Geelong/Bowes type deal)?

As it stands, it looks like we have acted with the best of intentions in any trade this year by offering 12 & 19 for just one player. Nothing in return. This will beat any of the following deals:

• Rankine - Pick 5, but something will be coming back to Adelaide
  • Jackson - our 12&19 will on the surface beat anything Freo currently offering
  • Dunkley - brisbane cant give 2 first even if they tried.
Our best strategy from here is wait until the very last minute, because if they genuinely need to free up cap space then they would have factored in Hopper money leaving the balance sheet. Our only competition for Hopper was Geelong and they'll have no chance of fitting him in now, so Hopper staying at GWS is unlikely to work for them now either and he'll have no other time to explore moving elsewhere (even if he was open to it).

I just dont get why we're paying 'overs' again to a club that needs to dump. Future first and 30 is too ******* much. GWS dont owe us anything, but we are helping their TPP. If a trade doesnt happen, they're in a world of trouble and we just go again next year.
Because Hopper is not on that much money this year or in 2023
Just guessing but considering he has accepted $700k x 7 year deal from Richmond its looking like he is on around $500k-$550k max for 2023 so not that much of a salary cap and GWS are only considering trading him as a pre agent as next year they wont keep on bigger dollars and have prioritised Green/Callaghan & Stone.

So they can keep him for another year and if Richmond are interested still or any other club without a trade every team would offer him $750k x 5 years which would get GWS band 1 and that will be a top 10 pick and even possibly top 5/6

So how come the dockers could trade their future first AND second pick?

Assuming they have another future 2nd from somewhere

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Retired in 2018. Not sure what shape he's in now

DqrKtXAU0AATLBe

Beat me to it
Assuming they have another future 2nd from somewhere

They got Norths earlier in the trade period

Cornes is not a football journalist, he’s just a comedian. You shouldn’t take anything he says seriously. His run from Adelaide to Melbourne was pretty epic though.
Lets be honest he only did it for clout. Saw how much respect Crawf got for it and just copy paste. Flog

Pick 31 should not be part of the deal either way Soldo and a first or Soldo and 31 as now there pick 44 is gone to.

Soldo and a first will do. Imagine the media melts of that gets it done

Man if we know the price and have agreed to it, why can’t we just get it done? Screw the AFL and their incessant need for bloody drama!
GWS are trying to ge pick #1 with this years picks
If we do the Hopper trade now they would be holding pick #31 & Richmonds F1

Which then exposes these picks to be targeted by North/Eagles in that trade to get #1
Pick #1 is priority for GWS as they are blowing their load for Cadman

freo got reamed

jackson is shite

They will be better next year with Grundy over Jackson for sure.

Gawn will just play forward more. Every time Jackson was in the ruck he got owned. He's good around the ground but I don't see a dominant #1 ruck in him now or in the future