VFL VFL 2024 - Geelong & the greater league

But does he play off a 5 day break? If he played full game I would suspect not?

I was fully expecting him to be taken to the bench real soon when I wrote that, and was surprised they didn't.

In light of that I'm with cats_09 ....... I'm thinking he'll be an emergency at best.

I'm thinking he'll be an emergency and we'll go in unchanged

Sam is still rucking 10 minutes into the last - not sure they're going to have him backing up off a 5 day break

I think he will its a small ground and the game has been played on one side of the field so the running loads wouldnt have been high for him.

Ugly game.

WE didnt want it that much.

Credit to Werribee - we were not good enough.

CLohesy tried his guts out. CLark too - the rest maybe but Rohan whislt not getting any service was horrid when he got it

GO catters

Mate he’s 23 years old, not an aging 350 gamer. If you don’t think he can get up to play in 5 days with all the resources the club has at their disposal you’ve got rocks for brains.

23 he may be, but he's also on the comeback from a knee issue and a short time out.

I reckon our mod was factoring that in with her comments, don't you?

Not sure SDK had played that high game time. Maybe 65% or so cause he was on the bench when not rucking except for brief periods up forward at the end. And Furphy rucked a lot too.

Maybe that's how they managed him? Surely we're not going to leave him out when he's only missed 3 weeks and had a VFL game in preparation as well. He looked miles above that level. Pity about the rest of the midfield looking horrible.

Mate he’s 23 years old, not an aging 350 gamer. If you don’t think he can get up to play in 5 days with all the resources the club has at their disposal you’ve got rocks for brains.

Dude is coming off knee surgery and zero conditioning

I didn't realise we had been managing any 350 game players in the VFL during the season & playing them off short breaks...

I'm simply going off how the club has operated all season, especially in regards to managing the minutes of those playing VFL & in line to play seniors off short breaks

And while Sam may be only 23, he's also returning from recent knee surgery - being asked to back-up with a second full game off a short turn around is unlikely to a recommended as part of the recovery process

He may well play Thursday night, but the reality is that if that was the plan, there's nothing gained by playing him in the last

Not sure SDK had played that high game time. Maybe 65% or so cause he was on the bench when not rucking except for brief periods up forward at the end. And Furphy rucked a lot too.

Maybe that's how they managed him? Surely we're not going to leave him out when he's only missed 3 weeks and had a VFL game in preparation as well. He looked miles above that level. Pity about the rest of the midfield looking horrible.

He played forward in the 3rd and 4th

I'd be surprised if he played less than 75%

Be mad to leave him out of a final when he’s fit enough for VFL. Easily best 22 and one of our most important players

Well at least the Port Douglas Crocs (which Geelong had some role in setting up back in the day) are up by 10 points ....

Probably would have put in a better effort against Werribee today, too

I didn't realise we had been managing any 350 game players in the VFL during the season & playing them off short breaks...

I'm simply going off how the club has operated all season, especially in regards to managing the minutes of those playing VFL & in line to play seniors off short breaks

And while Sam may be only 23, he's also returning from recent knee surgery - being asked to back-up with a second full game off a short turn around is unlikely to a recommended as part of the recovery process

He may well play Thursday night, but the reality is that if that was the plan, there's nothing gained by playing him in the last
They'll back Stanley in now I reckon.

If we were playing a side with multiple dangerous key forwards they might have taken the risk, or taken him off at half time.

With Stanley looking okay though, and Georgiades being Port's main weapon, you can understand if the club doesn't feel the need to risk a possibly underdone player in a final.

Cats are ... lazy or disinterested or both

Or maybe neither

Outplayed and failed to adapt

Can see what they wanted to do but nothing came off - as mentioned in the first quarter, there was a lack of cohesion & understanding from our guys

17 AFL listed players sounds good and looks great on paper, but there was a disconnect out there - it was a team that trains together but hasn't really played together, versus a team that trains & plays together

An example is that we'd repeatedly would handball forward of the pack for a teammate to run on to, but we rarely had a teammate free to do that

Knowing we had another game regardless of result, maybe this was more about getting a run in the legs of some players and how this could benefit our senior guys rather than the key focus being on winning today and a week off in the VFL

They'll back Stanley in now I reckon.

If we were playing a side with multiple dangerous key forwards they might have taken the risk, or taken him off at half time.

With Stanley looking okay though, and Georgiades being Port's main weapon, you can understand if the club doesn't feel the need to risk a possibly underdone player in a final.
I agree, although Port will also have Dixon and Marshall as talls. If we decide Kolo needs to spend some time on Rioli, then SDK in defence is a possibility.

VFL VFL 2024 - Geelong & the greater league