Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Giants with one game at the G in 2025?
I haven't looked at any other clubs, but would guess none have a lower number ;)

Geefknwizz you say!

Does it? In the last 5 seasons, 2 Brownlows have been won by a West Australian and 2 by a South Australian. Neither play for clubs in those states.

The majority of good players don't leave the club they were drafted to to return to their original state, so pointing out those who haven't left is a bit silly - and yes some players leave and go to a different state - Brisbane have a few high profile Vic recruits as well as Lachie Neale from SA. It's those who leave to go home and where they land that is relevant. WA and SA clubs regularly get go home recruits. Obviously more return to Vic as about 55% of the players are Vic - but they get split up between 10 different clubs rather than the 2 in those other states. Where collingwood and Geelong and other teams who are near the top at the time have an advantage is they get a disproportianate number of the ones they want - and probably get them cheaper in terms of salary than many of the other Vic teams because they have more things to attract players.

But it's the new NGA rules that are going to really advantage the SA and WA teams over Vic teams - and that's not just against the bottom Vic teams - it's against all of them. I doubt Port have the money to really develop their NGA blokes, but WCE will go to town with priority access to every second indigenous kid in WA. It's great in that sense, as are the Northern academies, but definitely a significant advantage. If you're not seeing that the Vics are the paupers of the academy advantages then your eyes are closed.

The majority of good players don't leave the club they were drafted to to return to their original state, so pointing out those who haven't left is a bit silly - and yes some players leave and go to a different state - Brisbane have a few high profile Vic recruits as well as Lachie Neale from SA. It's those who leave to go home and where they land that is relevant. WA and SA clubs regularly get go home recruits. Obviously more return to Vic as about 55% of the players are Vic - but they get split up between 10 different clubs rather than the 2 in those other states. Where collingwood and Geelong and other teams who are near the top at the time have an advantage is they get a disproportianate number of the ones they want - and probably get them cheaper in terms of salary than many of the other Vic teams because they have more things to attract players.

But it's the new NGA rules that are going to really advantage the SA and WA teams over Vic teams - and that's not just against the bottom Vic teams - it's against all of them. I doubt Port have the money to really develop their NGA blokes, but WCE will go to town with priority access to every second indigenous kid in WA. It's great in that sense, as are the Northern academies, but definitely a significant advantage. If you're not seeing that the Vics are the paupers of the academy advantages then your eyes are closed.
This is actually a problem that the afl should be addressing proactively.

I work remote up north a lot in communities and mate there are materas, Riolis and krakouers galore up north.

It’s an absolute gold mine for players. Half our league could be aboriginal players they are that good.

But there is t much of a pathway for them. The afl needs to partner with government and turbocharge things like the Clontarf foundation. Employ former footy players - esp indig folk and create solid pathways into the league for all - it’s too much for a couple of clubs restricted by soft caps.

I doubt Port have the money to really develop their NGA blokes, but WCE will go to town with priority access to every second indigenous kid in WA. It's great in that sense, as are the Northern academies, but definitely a significant advantage. If you're not seeing that the Vics are the paupers of the academy advantages then your eyes are closed.
Indigenous kids in SA and WA are eligible to join Academies.

The clubs only get priority draft access to them if they're from outside of the metropolitan area. So they're actually still fairly limited in South Australia.

This is actually a problem that the afl should be addressing proactively.

I work remote up north a lot in communities and mate there are materas, Riolis and krakouers galore up north.

It’s an absolute gold mine for players. Half our league could be aboriginal players they are that good.

But there is t much of a pathway for them. The afl needs to partner with government and turbocharge things like the Clontarf foundation. Employ former footy players - esp indig folk and create solid pathways into the league for all - it’s too much for a couple of clubs restricted by soft caps.
If they're in wce zone, WCE will develop a pathway; they can afford it and will be mad not to. It'll be a gold mine. It's great, but going to be a significant advantage.

We can mine it for sure, but the difference is we are a penny dreadful mining stock and can mine kilos of gold a year. The afl could BHP it and mine tons …..

Indigenous kids in SA and WA are eligible to join Academies.

The clubs only get priority draft access to them if they're from outside of the metropolitan area. So they're actually still fairly limited in South Australia.
They're the old zones, which were put in place to try to make them proportional to Vic zones. They changed them when they went to no matching inside top 40. It's now all of wa and most of populated SA, - except big chunks of desert in SA. And now that you can match any time in the draft they'll become really strong if the clubs can afford to work them. They'll be strong anyway. Great for the game, like the Northern academies, but definitely a significant advantage as well.

We can mine it for sure, but the difference is we are a penny dreadful mining stock and can mine kilos of gold a year. The afl could BHP it and mine tons …..

A bit like the Northern academies, you could get the AFL to do it, but the clubs are more incentivised to actually do it well. Allies spanking the southern states in the Under 18 national championships is testimony to how effective they are getting.

There’s a lot of kids….. a lot of work - I’m talking about tens of millions of dollars.

"B-b-but that was a neutral game because Geelong' home ground isn't the MCG (even though they play 1/4 of season there)" - some lunatic Geelong fans.
I am not asking much. I just want a minimum one game at the MCG per year. Even if North Melbourne or Richmond belt us by 20-25 goals on a Sunday Arvo lol

Giants with one game at the G in 2025?
I haven't looked at any other clubs, but would guess none have a lower number ;)

Geefknwizz you say!
MCG games per AFL club in 2025
  • Collingwood - 14
  • Richmond - 13
  • Melbourne - 12
  • Carlton - 11
  • Hawthorn - 10
  • Essendon - 8

• Geelong - 5

• Adelaide - 3
  • Brisbane - 3
  • North Melbourne - 3
  • Bulldogs - 2
  • Fremantle - 2
  • St Kilda - 2
  • Sydney - 2
  • Gold Coast - 1
  • GWS - 1
  • Port Adelaide - 1
  • West Coast - 1

• Collingwood - 14
  • Richmond - 13
  • Melbourne - 12
  • Carlton - 11
  • Hawthorn - 10
  • Essendon - 8

• Geelong - 5

• Adelaide - 3
  • Brisbane - 3
  • North Melbourne - 3
  • Bulldogs - 2
  • Fremantle - 2
  • St Kilda - 2
  • Sydney - 2
  • Gold Coast - 1
  • GWS - 1
  • Port Adelaide - 1
  • West Coast - 1
So even though Port Adelaide made top 4 and a prelim final, they got only one game at the MCG?

• Collingwood - 14
  • Richmond - 13
  • Melbourne - 12
  • Carlton - 11
  • Hawthorn - 10
  • Essendon - 8

• Geelong - 5

• Adelaide - 3
  • Brisbane - 3
  • North Melbourne - 3
  • Bulldogs - 2
  • Fremantle - 2
  • St Kilda - 2
  • Sydney - 2
  • Gold Coast - 1
  • GWS - 1
  • Port Adelaide - 1
  • West Coast - 1
GWS could literally not play another game at the G until the GF. From round one until the last one of the year. For a team in the running for a flag that’s a total travesty.

It can't be a national comp, no amount of wishing it so will make it so. It is and always will be an expanded vfl.

The reasons have been explained ad nauseum itt.

Should've just started a league completely detached from the vfl, if a 'national' comp was the wish.
So you’re pretty much just admitting that the non Vic clubs are there to make up the numbers and you’ll have your cake and eat it as well.

Yeah and if all the WA footy public stuck fat with their wafl clubs, we wouldn't have vic bias would we. The vfl clubs or most of them would've survived regardless.

And the wafl would've continued.

Then no non vic fans would be complaining, oh wait, they still did complain like they did when the vfl clubs poached the best WA players and coaches, like Busustow, Cable etc. for example.

Point is whichever way you boil it down and dissect it, vic is the biggest footy market, its population outnumbers all other footy states and territories combined. That's why there's vic bias, market dictates it.

So if we had a truly national comp with no traditional vfl clubs, then the vfl would be the biggest comp. And you'd all still be complaining.
Of course it’s a huge market, just stop playing the GF at the MCG.

How does this work? All they’ve done is dominate, particularly the last 18 years.
Premierships is the only metric whereby you could claim that - check out spoons, top 4 finishes and final's appearances.

Geelong, Hawthorn and Richmond have had great teams accounting for a big chunk of those flags. Last 4 great teams with a dominant period goes non-vic, vic, vic, vic - not exactly an unusual spread for a binary event - especially when 10 out of 18 teams makes Vic more likely.

It's not that I don't understand Kranky, I'm trying to get through to you it's a fact of life that the best will go to the best.

That doesn't justify the public just dumping their 100+ yo clubs to only then jump on brand new created clubs in a league on the other side of the continent to only complain about it, to this day.

If the public stuck phat then you'd only be complaining about players / coaches leaving. It's the only choice you all had, accept this new league or accept your best leaving your clubs / league. One or the other, you all jumped on a foreign league and now complain about it, to this day.
If we as the best how come we beat you in soo?

You just borrowed money you couldn’t afford and tried to buy premierships.

Before the vfl started with the Ponzi scheme we didn’t lose stuff all players to the vfl…. For decades the state leagues were great comps…… it’s when your lot started throwing money around like drunken sailors it all went to shit.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Write your reply...