Toast VS Collingwood review megathread

dogwatch, Swan and Pendlebury didn't even get looked at. Not even judged to be insufficient force or anything, just not even in the report.

I didn't think they should be suspended, but I did get a laugh reading your post then predicting that they wouldn't even be looked at :p

Forgot to mention Swan's game. Very good player but was well held or subdued yesterday. Only 23 disposals (not counting nearly disposing of Wallis's teeth). Not sure who had the job on him if anyone. He had a couple of bursts of brilliance (his forte) including a great end-to-end goal but in the replay so far I couldn't help noticing him picking up quite a few easy back passes and give and gos a la Ablett.

Keeping Swan quiet is a win any day.

Bontempelli spent a fair bit of time at the stoppages on him!

After watching the replay I DON'T take back my comment at the time that if MRP was consistent both Swan and Pendles would be rubbed out. Well a good chance of it anyway. They won't be rubbed out of course, probably won't even get a mention. Part of the reason was obvious in the Ch 7 call. Not sure which commentator it was but he said quickly (and sotto voce so as not to draw any extra attention) something like "nothing there - we won't be seeing (hearing??) any more of that one". This to me sounded like a running direction to the video crew not to play it over and over. Guess what? No repeated replays. :rolleyes: Media attention is often what gets MRP involved. What actually happened was Pendles hip collided with Grant's head. Not a deliberate head shot, but neither was Jones's when he got rubbed out. Grant was stunned but not injured. Could have easily been a very nasty neck injury. In the other, Swan in shepherding, collected Wallis's jaw about 4-5 metres off the ball. It wasn't in close, it was an arm right across his body. Wallis's head was rocked back but he wasn't injured

Disagree on Pendlebury. If the Cooney and Hannebery incidents are anything to go by, he should be fine. He was bending over to pick the ball up or at least made it look that way. The Jones incident was totally different, he wasn't going for the ball.

dogwatch, Swan and Pendlebury didn't even get looked at. Not even judged to be insufficient force or anything, just not even in the report.

I didn't think they should be suspended, but I did get a laugh reading your post then predicting that they wouldn't even be looked at :p
You are allowed to do anything you want to our irrelevant players. We are only here by the grace of teams like Collingwood, so we have to take our lumps and not dare to question the terribly biased umpiring either.

Tomlinson would cost more than that I reckon. Feel like he's more important to gws than Patton/Boyd and will probably have less trade value, so not sure I can see him being traded unfortunately.
I know Tomlinson well because he's a mate of mine. I desperately want us to get him, but as a hit up forward not as a marking forward. He's not a contested mark player. He's a hard running, excellent skilled mobile forward. He'll be a very good player though.

What a brilliant weekend of footy. Couldn't have been happier with the performance yesterday. Also went to the Footscray game on Saturday, and was equally impressed with the confidence of a young side up against the experienced bodies running around for Port Melbourne.

As a side note, Ange Postecoglou and Tim Cahill said after the Socceroos game that they were "showing too much respect" to their opponents at the beginning of the world cup match on Saturday. I think this can be similarly applied to the Bulldogs performance at stages in games this season.

Respecting your opponents abilities is obviously a pretty big part of the McCartney mantra, but too much respect can at times make the players timid and afraid to take the game on. Yesterday the players showed the confidence and initiative to play the game at their tempo rather than at Collingwoods tempo.

I know Tomlinson well because he's a mate of mine. I desperately want us to get him, but as a hit up forward not as a marking forward. He's not a contested mark player. He's a hard running, excellent skilled mobile forward. He'll be a very good player though.

Get in his ear!

I heard a Bonti chant when we played Brisbane and Fremantle, not sure who was responsible for that. Loved it though.

10420774_517256795076620_4045230884707060464_n.jpg
picture speaks a thousand words ahahahhaa

Add in Hrovat, Tutt and Wallis from yesterday and then throw in Hunter, Smith, etc...

The only problem is that none of them are tall but I would rather have guys who can actually play footy than recruit 6 foot 4 athletes who can run like the wind.

Maybe rather than trying to find another Barry Hall, we should re-invent the game to suit us. Remember Carltons mosquito fleet. We should play to our strengths and get other teams to try and match up against us.

I agree we don't necessarily need huge forwards (IMO). But in terms of our mids we are going to big. Bonts, Macrae, Stringer to come. Griffen and Stevens too.

Spindleshanks - give him the ball and good things happen.
He was very good getting the ball away from the packs.. speed and good passes and decision making. His speed to get to the loose ball in the forward half was great. Set up many goals or made the link up and when had to scramble put the pill in dangerous spots. Great game for coming back.

Must say I was very happy for Tutt when he slotted that last goal. That was a seriously good kick given the circumstances. Very sweet off the boot never looked like missing.
Now Tutty my little mate , watch that a couple of hundred times and convince yourself you well and truly belong.
You don't need to panic anymore , even if you get caught now and then because you refuse to be rushed and panicked , we on this board won't mind.
As I have said previously , stick it to blokes like me , because the more you prove a lot of wrong the happier you make us.:)

Jones played quite deep yesterday and I think that suits him. He's lost when he gets the pill up the ground and obviously his tank isn't ideal either.

Which is why I think a mobile beast like Tomlinson might even suit us better than a Patton type.
Does Tomlinson really offer that much more than Grant, Stringer and Crameri up the ground though? (Mostly Grant, not a huge fan of Crameris work up the ground)

If we decide Jones is going to play deep and we want a CHF then I'm fine with that but I'd be looking at a contested marking beast to compliment the smaller lead up guys.

I don't think Jones is too bad up the ground though. Sometimes he maybe tries to do a little too much when he gets very high up the ground (past the wing) but I actually reckon his delivery inside 50 is generally very good, and his tank seems to finally be improving.

I think we need a hit up guy with great skills moreso than a power forward. Jones is an elite contested mark. Keep him close to home and let Crameri, grant and a Tomlinson/darling type get on their bikes.

Collingwood v Western Bulldogs
10 Liberatore (WB)
7 Cloke (Coll)
6 Griffen (WB)
3 Elliott (Coll)
3 Jones (WB)
1 Dahlhaus (WB)

LEADERBOARD
64 Gary Ablett (Gold Coast)
57 Josh Kennedy (Sydney Swans)
56 Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide)
52 Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)