Autopsy vs Essendon - Rd 15, 2018

I was surrounded by Essendon supporters tonight. Sat on the wing on level one. Literally surrounded by them. When I sat down they were ok, I chatted with them all’s good.

So then the game starts and they’re cheering * and I’m cheering North. All good but then it happens, Can’t remember who but an * player was denied a mark after he dropped the ball on the ground and the call is play on. * Supporter yells bullshit! I tell him you’re not allowed to let the ball hit the ground when you’re not in control. Well * supporter turns to me and says “you’re not my my friend don’t talk to me anymore”

Ok I said.

So obviously I took it apon myself to absolutely berate Essendon at every opportunity. From Hird to Dank to Bomber Thompson, imagine if Daniher was as reliable as Brown. Such a waste of a season. Can’t make the finals. Won’t get a good draft pick. What school girl is Stringer sleeping with tonight.

And of course Goddards rug got a mention.

They got pretty agitated and asked me to leave. LOL. Of course I only became more obnoxious
That was amusing - they booed LOUDER after the replay clearly showed the ball hitting the ground. I guess shown the way by a team that decided to fly the flag against Goldy because Baguley went to ground, despite the fact the only *player close enough to see the contest had no reaction at all, knowing there was nothing in it.

Midfields too thin mate. We make spuds look like legends.

Midfield was fine when our hands were non the footy and not playing their way.

That period in the second quarter was phenomenally shit.

Reminded me of the game against Sydney in Tassie a few years back.

I'm with you here on LMac and JMac, they were decent to good today, but by far Simpkins most off the mark game, nothing was working out for him at all. It was bizarre.

Worst game of the season, for sure.

Yep, Jy was poor after quarter time.

It was as if they put work in to him.

Our second tier mids didn't fire a shot today.

Midfield was fine when our hands were non the footy and not playing their way.

That period in the second quarter was phenomenally shit.

Reminded me of the game against Sydney in Tassie a few years back.

Merrett got off the hook.

BJ plays and that doesn't happen.

The last 10 minutes of the third quarter they were there for the taking but we couldn't knock them down. Dumont and Higgins both missed very gettable shots. They literally crawled to three quarter time.

Dumont, Higgins, Wood x 2, BBB x 2.

You can't afford that in a shootout.

How the **** was that bounce of the ball with Atley running in to goal?

I mean, it was Warne googly x Murali doosrah x infinity.

We were cursed today.
I wonder if north paid enough respect to their opponent today? We looked brilliant early on in attack, but when it got into the backline they had players running rings around almost all of our defenders, and nobody seemed to be helping their teammates. McKernan kicking goals like he did should never have happened, but we left Maj on him for more and more. Were we too embarassed to put another defender onto him?

And really, a better defensive effort across the board would have helped, once they got on top to try to rein them in. It didn't look like that is what north wanted to do today.

Yep, Jy was poor after quarter time.

It was as if they put work in to him.

Our second tier mids didn't fire a shot today.

We lost the midfield game HARD and as soon as Jacobs was an out it was game over really, the fact we're putting Ziebell in the midfield again where he only sustains a complete and total breakdown is danger signs. It was too much work for 3 blokes; Ahern, Cunners and Higgo.

Fantasia and Myers.
Career best.

Sweet.

Myers career best game and McKernan kicks goals out of his arse. What the **** did we do to piss the football Gods off so bad.

It’d be nice if a couple of our potatoes could cut a team up for a change.

It was a good loss today, if there is anything called a 'good loss'. but we dont want to over stretch our self. We dont want another 2012 where we huff and puff into the final and get bundled out by 96 and have a setback due to mental scar.

Myers career best game and McKernan kicks goals out of his arse. What the **** did we do to piss the football Gods off so bad.

It’d be nice if a couple of our potatoes could cut a team up for a change.

Bombing goals from the back row of level one.

McKernan pretending he was his brother.

Just ****ing hilarious.

It was a good loss today, if there is anything called a 'good loss'. but we dont want to over stretch our self. We dont want another 2012 where we huff and puff into the final and get bundled out by 96 and have a setback due to mental scar.
This is absurd.

We are playing nothing like the style of football that got us opened up in 2012.

To compare this year to that is ludicrous.

And just FYI I still think we'll make finals.

Just ******* hilarious.

Mate, EVERYTHING they tried came off today.

These last 3-4 weeks - basically from the second half v Brisbane - have been copybook from the Scott coaching era - Scott was coaching well early in the year and we had some good wins but now results have reverted back to the normal - we haven't been able to adjust/adapt/develop new methods and now we are stuck in the mire again.

Disagree on this. Reckon we adapted well in the second half once we realised we couldn't go toe to toe with them on the outside. We slowed the game down and kept more control.

Think today's shown just how susceptible we are to injury and that we lack the depth to cover. Everything went well earlier in the season injury-wise but now we've lost Jacobs and Waite so we're being tested.

Just ******* hilarious.
Pretty early in the game he was smiling (and not in a smart arse way) at being told by many members of the cheer squad that he was clearly the lesser McKernan. Hate them but couldn't help being a bit happy for him.

That was a seriously soft display. 53 tackles for the game and something like 23 tackles in the first half. Our wins this year have been based around pressure and today we went against our gamestyle and played right into the bombers hands.
Makes me wonder if afl headquarters been getting into coaches ears and making threats this week given all the high scoring games.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Disappointed we lost but make no mistakes about it - the bombers kicked about 6 goals clean out their arses. Sheer fluke goals.

They were really good tonight but that's how they won. Sometimes it just goes in every time and it did for them tonight.

We have a few passengers though:
Clarke
Hrovat
Murphy

All have potential but not good enough again.

You also just can't miss sitters when the other team is on fire like that.

Shout out to Goldy, Jmac and Ahern who I thought were our best

Still thought we were solid and will pump GC.

Disagree on this. Reckon we adapted well in the second half once we realised we couldn't go toe to toe with them on the outside. We slowed the game down and kept more control.

Think today's shown just how susceptible we are to injury and that we lack the depth to cover. Everything went well earlier in the season injury-wise but now we've lost Jacobs and Waite so we're being tested.
We were never going to be able to go with them for speed - if we thought that we are delusional - by half time the damage was done - the time to adapt was 15 mins into the second qtr.

I agree re depth but we cant rely on a 35 year old injury prone player and a bloke who has played 10 games in 3 years. It just doesn't wash. We need other avenues - other ways of winning games - new approaches - today was more of the same from years gone by.

Autopsy vs Essendon - Rd 15, 2018