List Mgmt. We Got Him! Beams Trade Discussion (Not the Hype Thread)

do you think behind closed doors the clubs are discussing players like Lester, Harwood and Crisp? does Brissies stance mean across the board the whole list of 'young' players are off limits or only the first and second year players plus our best 5 whom Collingwood asked for?
Im guessing the only way is if the club allows Collingwood to talk to the players and they offer them an attractive payrise..
disclaimer: I know this post would be contrary to everything that has been said and I am not advocating it either way, just putting it up for discussion.

If I am honest I will be annoyed if we miss out on Beams because we went after Christensen. Christensen was value but he is a nice complementary player in a position of strength for us. Beams is a difference maker. I am glad we are not giving up our young talent for Beams but I would be more than willing to sacrifice acquiring Christensen to get Beams.
According to Greg Davis, apparently pick 21 was briefly offered to Collingwood.

No wait...

They actually did think of us in this trade and meant Qld time...

54:40sec to go...

West coast US time is what they are going by, which means they have until 11 am tomorrow:p

This is pretty disgusting of coolingwood the more and more I think about this. It is 100% reasonable that if your father is dying of cancer that you would try to make changes to be closer to him, it is probably the most understandable and reasonable trade request I have heard since tradingr began, Brisbane are offering a very high draft pick and there early second rounder. And what do coolingwood turn around and say? " bad luck dayne your staying at coolingwood , they can give us a rediculously overs deal or your going no where". When a persons father is dying of cancer and he wants to move closer to him, this is really a disgrace the club hasn't taken a very generous Brisbane deal. Good luck getting the best out of dayne beams next year coolingwood after you have told him no to moving closer to his dying father, his really going to be bleeding black and white after this treatment. Might see the ball kicked the wrong way on several occasions and dropped marks

If he was leaving because his father is dying why did he refuse to front up at the Best and fairest? That was the perfect opportunity to look everyone in the eye and say who much he loved the place but his love of family takes precedence. He would have received an ovation and lots of good wishes. The fact that his own manager mentioned that Heath Shaw was his best mate and that also affected his decision made it very clear that Beams was not being entirely truthful.
If Beams just wants to be close to his dying dad why did he stipulate that he would never go to the Gold Coast even though that is where his dad lives?

Why is he in America living it up with Shaw as we write? Shouldn't he be spending quality time with his dying dad? :confused:

When asked about today's deadline Schwab said on trade radio this arvo 'Funny, I thought the deadline was 2pm next Thursday'. Pretty clear indication that we're not playing by Collingwood's rule book.
They will come to the table when they realise no one else is willing to take him and 5 and 25 is the best they will get for him, next year included

If he was leaving because his father is dying why did he refuse to front up at the Best and fairest? That was the perfect opportunity to look everyone in the eye and say who much he loved the place but his love of family takes precedence. He would have received an ovation and lots of good wishes. The fact that his own manager mentioned that Heath Shaw was his best mate and that also affected his decision made it very clear that Beams was not being entirely truthful.
If Beams just wants to be close to his dying dad why did he stipulate that he would never go to the Gold Coast even though that is where his dad lives?

Why is he in America living it up with Shaw as we write? Shouldn't he be spending quality time with his dying dad? :confused:
Why would you go to the B+F only to get harassed by the feral pies fans?
Is he not allowed to have a life because his dad is crook?
Dayne I think you should give up playing football because there is to much travel involved.....get real champ

When asked about today's deadline Schwab said on trade radio this arvo 'Funny, I thought the deadline was 2pm next Thursday'. Pretty clear indication that we're not playing by Collingwood's rule book.

This. They just wanted to create an artificial, arbitrary "they'll blink" point for us before the real real that is bearing down us.

We didn't blink.

Collingwood, you have until Thursday 2pm.

In the mean time, bring on their next posturing press release trying to create the illusion that their "Deadline" actually meant something.

Scenario 1:
We get Beams.
Collingwood take picks 5 and pick 25 to the draft

Scenario 2:
We don't get Beams, instead take picks 5 and 25 to the draft.
Collingwood lose Beams in 12 months time, for either nothing, or very little.

Fanciful, deluded Scenario 3:
We don't get Beams, instead take picks 5 and 25 to the draft.
Collingwood manage to involve GC/GWS, or turn around the player who they have completely shafted and blocked from returning home for family reasons, over the next 12 months.

I'm not fussed with either 1, 2, or 3. :)

gday

from an outsiders point of view, i think you guys are getting absolutely shafted if you still offer picks 25 and 5 for Beams.

He's no way near worth that... Just let him go !

Collingwood are bending you over well and truly and to even contemplate asking for more than that is an absolute joke !

So... are GWS interested again?

I think now that the deadline has passed, GC have found an extra 600k in their cap, and Dayne has changed his preference to GC.... or GWS, if it suits the narrative (who will, by the way, also offer up picks 4, 7, and not one, but TWO kitchen sinks!)

List Mgmt. We Got Him! Beams Trade Discussion (Not the Hype Thread)