List Mgmt. Welcome Liam Duggan Pick 11 2014 Draft

Thought I'd repost my brief analysis of highlights from Western Jets games in here:

"I just discovered that the Western Jets have highlights of basically every game they played this year.
These are interesting highlights to watch in regards to our pick because Laverde (#9), Duggan (#4) and Manadue (#15) all play for the Western Jets.
Having watched these highlights my preference would be Liam Duggan for our selection.
Here's why:

@ 1:18 Liam does his best to mimic Sam Mitchell around the contest. His sidestep is important and his handball executions are timed perfectly.
@ 1:34 Liam shrugs and accelerates at the same time creating space to kick a goal.
@ 2:44 Liam kept his feet at the important time, controlled the bouncing ball, accelerated from congestion and steadied to kick the goal.

@ 1:03 Liam keeps the ball in front of himself and controls the tackle put on him so he can hit his teammate with the handpass.
@ 2:25 Liam receives a handball with incoming pressure but shrugs the player while only observing him in his peripheral vision.

@ 1:30 Liam contests on the ground and picks the ball up cleanly and steps through two opposition players, feints slightly to wrong-foot another and then shoots at goal.
@ 2:24 Liam is confronted by a much larger opposition player but executes a great tackle that earns him a HTB decision.

@ 1:30 Liam goes to ground to retrieve the ball in a contest. Flicking a handball inside he then follows up to create a goal for the Jets.
@ 1:47 Liam reads the centre clearance contest to perfection.
There are numerous other examples of his clearance work and goals but I think some people are misunderstanding his role. He is not a back flanker, he's a midfielder and could do wonders for a team who need a good decision maker in traffic."

His outside game reminds me a lot of Kerr.

Not sure if this has come up anywhere else yet but for potentially useless trivia's sake this is the first NATIONAL draft since 2005 that we haven't selected a Western Australian based player. in 2005 we got Hurn, McKinley and Spangher at the National Draft

Since than (first WA picked)
2006: McKenzie
07: Masten
08: Naitanui
09: Sheppard
10: Darling
11: Newman
12: Carter
13: Sheed

Useless but factual information

14: Waterman

You got me Max. Hopefully it's a bit of a changing of the guard under Simpson but. Not saying Woosha had a say in how many West Aussies were picked but it's positive that there thinking outside the western corridor. Downside is we could have a Brisbane Lions circa 2013 on our hands in 2016 / 17.

Had 30 possessions at 66% with 2 goals and 12 tackles against Gippsland.

25 possessions at 76% with 3 goals 4 tackles and 6 marks against NSW/ACT.

Good games for first year midfielder, kid can play.

Hey guys sorry for the intrusion. Know Duggan personally and can tell you he's a great bloke and will be a very good player (stands up in big moments) and although I'm bias I believe he can be a top five player out of this draft as he has the potential to have a very strong inside game to go with his elite skills. By drafting Lamb, Nielson and less noticeably Cavka you shouldn't need to worry about any potential home sickness issues seeing as they already know each other and get along from their time in the AIS program and should enjoy their time in the west.

And Lamb also said he loves Perth and the lifestyle there, has extended family North of Perth as well. Reading between the lines of a few statements Lamb relocating interstate was the best chance of making a AFL career work.

You got me Max. Hopefully it's a bit of a changing of the guard under Simpson but. Not saying Woosha had a say in how many West Aussies were picked but it's positive that there thinking outside the western corridor. Downside is we could have a Brisbane Lions circa 2013 on our hands in 2016 / 17.

Just stirring you mate.

Didn't someone say we didn't expect Cockatoo to be available and would be taken before our pick?

Duggan might have always been Plan B?

On exposed form Cockatoo wouldn't have ranked higher than Duggan. One good game in > 12 months v an entire season impressing and being almost a year younger.

I would hope our recruiters would have taken the more mature / informed choice if we had the option.

Give him credit, he speaks well and looks to have a great attitude. He is only 17 so we should not he overburdening him with expectations. Skills and composure I do like that.

I hope his mum hasn't seen the video clip, he doesn't see upset at all leaving for the far west
The thing is, this is what we should be selling to all potential recruits. Warm winters, beautiful beaches and gorgeous honeys!

A fantastic get ... this kid will be a sensation for us.
I remember a Rod Duggan plaing for the royals in their 78 premiership team. Was a good player at half forward and on ball for a turn. I don't know how common the Duggan name is ... could there be a connection family wise?

A blast from the past.

I sucked it up last year with Sheed. I'm sick of sucking it up.

I've never once said he's a bad player, and he was my third preference after Laverde and Cockatoo. AFTER Laverde.

Like several others have said, he'd be a good fit in another team, a team which doesn't already consist of small, slow, uncreative midfielders. I don't think he's the fit for us, but i'll be hoping he comes good regardless. Obviously.

Dark sharks you should just go and support another team mate. You sook cause we don't get Laverde yet 14/15 clubs skipped him as we'll?? But yeh he is the player we should have picked!

You bag Sheed an 18 year old last year and now call him an average "uncreative'' mid. You got no idea mate. You ever played footy or you just look at yourself in the mirror all day?

How about support mate!!

Watching that vision of Simpson on the news on 10- you can see he is absolutely thrilled with Duggan. Good guy off field, skilled on field, who takes it on himself to lead by performance.

You can see why- very very mature for a 17 year old, really looking forward to seeing him hopefully early next year. I wouldn't be so concerned about his sprint time- you would think with a afl preseason that it should improve naturally. I don't think it's an issue, though. He seems to have very good awareness.

Here's hoping that del santo comparison is accurate. (Who also was taken as a bottom ager in his draft)

List Mgmt. Welcome Liam Duggan Pick 11 2014 Draft