West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

I like this idea but I would attach the early picks in a snake draft (1 & 20, 2 & 19, 3 & 18, 4 & 17, 5 & 16, 6 & 15, 7 & 14, 8 & 13, 9 & 12, 10 & 11) and also have a lottery for the pick pairs.

This system would allow for the reduction or elimination of free agency compensation.

Under my proposal, FA compensation would be completely scrapped, its a joke !!

Lotteries ............ perish the thought.

As soon as a club who is already strong plucks it out of their jaxy to get the big booty prize all hell will break loose. Regardlesss of how marginal the chances are of that happening, if it did, then those clubs in need of a leg-up would just about fold completely.

We have to get rid of the mickey-mouse stuff, not add more of them.

not sure what circumstances there are to warrant a PP?

rather the broader system inclusive of multiple mechanisms needs review to assist the rebuilding sides
The circumstances - like everything in this joke of a comp - are subjective and at the knee jerk whims of the funking amateurs running it.

Oh not disputing your premise, I can imagine though someone whose team kept finishing 9th, seeing another team who had played consistent finals/ won flags then have a s**t year, end up on the bottom, scores equalisation pick 1 as well as pick 11 while the multiple 9th team has had pick 10 and then 20
You mean north a decade or so ago under Scott?

Oh not disputing your premise, I can imagine though someone whose team kept finishing 9th, seeing another team who had played consistent finals/ won flags then have a s**t year, end up on the bottom, scores equalisation pick 1 as well as pick 11 while the multiple 9th team has had pick 10 and then 20

I don't think there is any way around that scenario but it is in the best interests of the competition to have a transparent structure that all clubs can work within, that is something we don't have now nor ever had. Furthermore, they would have to be a massive shitshow to drop out of the finals and finish last all in one season so I'd like to think it is somewhat unlikely.

If team #9 kept finishing there, you'd have to expect them to have a jump up soon enough though given they would have earnt two top twenty picks over that time. And let's be honest, if a club is given a gaggle of good picks and buggers them up, then who's fault is it ??

This way, the clubs only have themselves to blame if they continue to be a basketcase.

I don't think there is any way around that scenario but it is in the best interests of the competition to have a transparent structure that all clubs can work within, that is something we don't have now nor ever had. Furthermore, they would have to be a massive shitshow to drop out of the finals and finish last all in one season so I'd like to think it is somewhat unlikely.

If team #9 kept finishing there, you'd have to expect them to have a jump up soon enough though given they would have earnt two top twenty picks over that time. And let's be honest, if a club is given a gaggle of good picks and buggers them up, then who's fault is it ??

This way, the clubs only have themselves to blame if they continue to be a basketcase.
Melbourne made an art form of the yo yo (finals then PP under the old under 5 win system)

We had a very transparent structure years ago and it led to widespread allegations of tanking. Which is why it's no longer transparent.

Don't need PP's, just protect the picks so the bottom teams second pick doesn't end up being 30.

It's a joke how convoluted the AFL have made it.

You want your academy player? You use your highest pick available on them to negate the other teams bid otherwise too bad so sad.

Absolutely ridiculous how compromised the current system is. Second round should not start at pick bloody 30.

Get rid of FA compensation, corrupt garbage that allows the AFL to manipulate trades to get their desired outcome.

Your compensations is salary cap space to get someone else, no other team should pay the price for player movement unrelated to them.

So you would prefer a hidden system that promotes tanking as opposed to a transparent system that exposes tanking ??
Who said anything about preferring one system over another?

When clubs were given a target - fewer than x wins - they aimed for it. We all saw it. Some disguised it better than others, but we all know it happened.

In your system, a club that had to win their last few games to scrape into 8th position (and likely lose an elimination final) would have a huge benefit by not winning some of those games. There could be percentage points between 8th and 9th, which means massive difference in draft capital, a different that, in my view would be too great.

The current system, as flawed as it is, at least gives the AFL an opportunity to say no to clubs if they don't deserve it - and they have done so. And it lets the AFL give assistance that is more appropriate than just a draft pick. You'd remember Carlton receiving the ability to pre-list state league players, which they immediately traded out for the players they really wanted. When it was first touted for North Melbourne in 2022, the consensus was that we needed senior bodies, so we were given future picks that had to be traded.

There is no way of doing it that everyone will agree on. Some just hate the principle of it, and some won't like the method. Good on you for having a go, but I can't see the AFL going for a system in which ten clubs get a priority pick every year.

We are bad, most likely worst in the competition

But there are 4 other clubs who haven’t won a game yet. (3 after this current game)

Incidentally, we don’t get to play any of them till rd11

It’s round …. 4 ???? 5 ???

Well whatever round it is it’s early on and they seem pretty dedicated

I anticipate those numbers will grow

Anyone remember what round the Roo’s started sooking it up last year ?

Couldn’t have been earlier than this … surely

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
After being dormant over the summer of 22/23, the North Melbourne Priority Pick thread was bumped by a Fremantle supporter, if you must know.

I like that, compromise the draft even more.

They will need to create a whole industry to keep track of who is who in the zoo.

And no. Premiership was 6 years ago with no premiership on horizon this decade. Priority picks are so you don’t continue to be a basket case on field for years, not to help you win a premiership.

A shiny new 18 year old isn’t going to stop you from being a basket case.

The way to fix this issue is to permanently get rid of priority picks and all other draft assistance for good.

However, to balance that out, the AFL must introduce a 'Equalisation Round' in the draft prior to Round 1.

All 10 teams who did not play finals get an extra draft pick in reverse ladder order that they can use or trade.

Equalisation Round
Pick 1 - 18th
Pick 2 - 17th
Pick 3 - 16th
Pick 4 - 15th
Pick 5 - 14th
Pick 6 - 13th
Pick 7 - 12th
Pick 8 - 11th
Pick 9 - 10th
Pick 10 - 9th

Round 1.
Pick 11 - 18th
Pick 12 - 17th
Pick 13 - 16th
Pick 14 - 15th
Pick 15 - 14th
Pick 16 - 13th
Pick 17 - 12th
Pick 18 - 11th
Pick 19 - 10th
Pick 20 - 9th
Pick 21 - 8th
Pick 22 - 7th
Pick 23 - 6th
Pick 24 - 5th
Pick 25 - 4th
Pick 26 - 3rd
Pick 27 - 2nd
Pick 28 - 1st

Round 2.
Pick 29 - 18th
Pick 30 - 17th
Pick 31 - 16th
Pick 32 - 15th
Pick 33 - 14th
Pick 34 - 13th
Pick 35 - 12th
Pick 36 - 11th
Pick 37 - 10th
Pick 38 - 9th
Pick 39 - 8th
Pick 40 - 7th
Pick 41 - 6th
Pick 42 - 5th
Pick 43 - 4th
Pick 44 - 3rd
Pick 45 - 2nd
Pick 46 - 1st

Round 3.
same process

Round 4.
same process

Round 5.
same process

Added to that, the points index values for the Equalisation Round picks are made much higher in the past so that teams who want to match bids have to give up more than a few token late picks like in the past etc.

This system removes all conjecture over who qualifies for a PP and how & when, its all out in front of everyone (i.e. transparent).

In this scenario, WCE would receive #1, #11 & #29 which is a good starting point from where they can rebuild their list. Based on current form, they would probably get similiar picks next year which if used correctly, would give them six quality players from the draft over the two years.

People will whinge on about how "their team" will get penalised by this system but what they are not taking into account is that their list is far more developed than the cellar dwellers given they have just played finals.

If they need to make some moves, then they have to trade out some talent to one of the cellar dwellers thus adding to the equalising nature of this plan.

It would take 2-3 seasons for everyone to see the true benefits of this system but it is a total no-brainer IMO.
Appreciate what you're trying to do, but I don't even think this is need

Normal draft order is fine - just remove all compensation picks, and the points system. You shouldn't be able to get a high priority pick by stacking junk picks for points.

1) FS/ Academy nominations:

All team make bids - teams can choose to match with next available pick. If a pick is within 1 pick, you must use the higher pick ( ie if you have 2, and pick 3 is bidded you must use pick 2 to match. If pick 4-21 is bidded, you can use pick 20).

If you have more than 1 in a round, you may use 1 future pick to match.

If no one matches, you can use your last picks - but you are obligated to draft any nominated non-matched player.

All bids / matches are then locked in for draft.

2) Draft.
Reverse ladder as normal - picks above are known in advance by all clubs.

3) pre-season draft.
Reverse ladder order

This way clubs do have a pay for fs/ academy but in most cases get them for unders. And no one is pushed back. Last year's draft was a embarrassment for the AFL

Re the actual question - if the draft wasn't so comprised they eagles should get nothing... But it is. So under the same principles north got priorities, so should west coast.

The way to fix this issue is to permanently get rid of priority picks and all other draft assistance for good.

However, to balance that out, the AFL must introduce a 'Equalisation Round' in the draft prior to Round 1.

All 10 teams who did not play finals get an extra draft pick in reverse ladder order that they can use or trade.

Equalisation Round
Pick 1 - 18th
Pick 2 - 17th
Pick 3 - 16th
Pick 4 - 15th
Pick 5 - 14th
Pick 6 - 13th
Pick 7 - 12th
Pick 8 - 11th
Pick 9 - 10th
Pick 10 - 9th

Round 1.
Pick 11 - 18th
Pick 12 - 17th
Pick 13 - 16th
Pick 14 - 15th
Pick 15 - 14th
Pick 16 - 13th
Pick 17 - 12th
Pick 18 - 11th
Pick 19 - 10th
Pick 20 - 9th
Pick 21 - 8th
Pick 22 - 7th
Pick 23 - 6th
Pick 24 - 5th
Pick 25 - 4th
Pick 26 - 3rd
Pick 27 - 2nd
Pick 28 - 1st

Round 2.
Pick 29 - 18th
Pick 30 - 17th
Pick 31 - 16th
Pick 32 - 15th
Pick 33 - 14th
Pick 34 - 13th
Pick 35 - 12th
Pick 36 - 11th
Pick 37 - 10th
Pick 38 - 9th
Pick 39 - 8th
Pick 40 - 7th
Pick 41 - 6th
Pick 42 - 5th
Pick 43 - 4th
Pick 44 - 3rd
Pick 45 - 2nd
Pick 46 - 1st

Round 3.
same process

Round 4.
same process

Round 5.
same process

Added to that, the points index values for the Equalisation Round picks are made much higher in the past so that teams who want to match bids have to give up more than a few token late picks like in the past etc.

This system removes all conjecture over who qualifies for a PP and how & when, its all out in front of everyone (i.e. transparent).

In this scenario, WCE would receive #1, #11 & #29 which is a good starting point from where they can rebuild their list. Based on current form, they would probably get similiar picks next year which if used correctly, would give them six quality players from the draft over the two years.

People will whinge on about how "their team" will get penalised by this system but what they are not taking into account is that their list is far more developed than the cellar dwellers given they have just played finals.

If they need to make some moves, then they have to trade out some talent to one of the cellar dwellers thus adding to the equalising nature of this plan.

It would take 2-3 seasons for everyone to see the true benefits of this system but it is a total no-brainer IMO.

Remove the salary cap floor. Allow clubs to buy cap space from other clubs with picks and players.

Right now WCE are paying their list roughly 700k less than GWS. That’s one decent free agent. How is that fair? There is not enough flexibility for the bottom sides to get creative and not enough pressure on the top sides to retain their players.

tassie coming in would be a good time to completely overhaul the draft. scrap all compo/PP/FS/academies. bring in a lottery for the bottom 8/9/10 or whatever. have an expansion draft for tassie, where clubs can 'protect' a certain number of players on their list, leaving tassie able to select a max of 2 unprotected players from each club. then give tassie the same odds in the lottery as the spoon side. after that run a clean draft forever more with no bullshit. rinse and repeat if they expand again. i know it's very american but we can't just piss off what works because of where it comes from.

Remove the salary cap floor. Allow clubs to buy cap space from other clubs with picks and players.

Right now WCE are paying their list roughly 700k less than GWS. That’s one decent free agent. How is that fair? There is not enough flexibility for the bottom sides to get creative and not enough pressure on the top sides to retain their players.

Have never ever understood why the wooden spooners have to pay the same as the premiers when clearly the gulf in quality is so immense.

And ruin other clubs rebuilds in the process.

There are better ways to turn WCE around that’ll be quicker than an extra random 18 year old.

Harley is as good as they get and you probably look worse.

But our rebuild got ruined by NM rebuild. Does that not count? Got ruined by academies. Soon Tasmania will come in. Does that not ruin rebuilds?

There are no quicker ways. All ears for suggestions. Trading in players that are barely afl quality only delays rebuild.

All restricted agents and out of contract players in top 4 become unrestricted free agents for bottom 4. That’s about the only other thing I can think of.

As for random 18 year olds, how about non-random 18 year olds?

Yeah mate, Reid makes us worse lol

There is no way West Coast deserve a priority pick. They won the flag in 2018, 6 years ago. They won two premierships and played off in 4 grand finals since the last time we even won a final or finished above 7th and they get the priority pick because they ignored the future after the flag?

They took the chance to continue challenging and it failed. It's one thing to give priority picks to sides like Gold Coast and North who haven't seen success in a long time or ever, but not West Coast. They need do the hard yards.
You don't seem to understand the underlying principle that priority picks aren't to help a team win a flag, they're to stop a team being exceptionally uncompetitive and distorting the competition. I'm talking something like what North received in 2022 that can be traded on for a couple of senior players just to fill in some of the holes on the list.

While a big part of West coast's woes are self inflicted, another part is down to bad luck with players like Sheppard, Venables, Rioli and Cameron no longer playing part in the team, that's 2 first rounders gone to concussion, and 2 other talented guys lost to stupidity and god knows what. Then you have the unprecedented levels of long term injuries which can be at least partially blamed on the AFLs decision to cut the soft cap during covid to drag the competiton down to the level of the broke clubs which hamstrung us in particular as we generally have to pay that type of staff more to get them over to WA and have less options available than eastern clubs. Then there is the AFLs constant distortion of the draft with academies, father sons, priority picks, compo picks etc.

How can a team who came last end up with pick 30 as their 2nd pick, miss out on one of their few decent academy prospects as a direct result while the northern sides consistently get access to top talent year after year even when they're playing finals, as well as the team who finishes above them on the ladder being gifted several priority picks as well as a fudged compensation pick that ended up at number 3, make it make sense?

If we were dealing with an even playing field here I don't think we'd be in even remotely as deep of a hole as currently in and I wouldn't want any sort of AFL assistance, but through their own incompetence and short sightedness the AFL has helped put us in this situation while also severely limiting our ability to get out of it. As it stands this year we are odds on to win a 2nd consecutive spoon and our 2nd pick is already pushed back to 21 before any academy, FS or compo picks have been given simply because the team that finished above us on the ladder last year got gifted priority picks for the 3rd year running, so it's likely our 2nd rounder will end up around 30 again. I understand you probably don't like west coast but how can you sit there with a straight face and pretend that this is even remotely fair?

West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)