What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

It's funny other (esp. US) are now being compared, because, although you don't seem to see it, the cause and effect are identical.

Fans want higher scoring games. Leagues/commissioners constantly change rules to make it so.

The NBA's gifted callas are exactly the AFLs 'avoid congestion' rules, which are exactly the NFLs almost unmatchable pass defence rules, which are cricket's smaller grounds/one bouncer rules... etc, etc.

(As for 'other' sports stars around the world not being stupid enough to get caught? Lol. Come on man... 🤣)
I do not care for ease of offence, my enjoyment comes from strategy and defense. We all have our own things we like and mine is dwindling in this game. Even when I watch other teams.

Pretty much becoming as boring as this forum with grown ass babies like immortalmike constantly disliking against people without discussion. Anyway my bad for returning. Ill stick to game days

Pretty honest and well put together statement from the club & Baz. The precedent is there - anymore than 2 weeks and a fine would be a joke. Throw in some community service & an “education program” and move on

Needs a reality check... however, lets be honest, the kid has a good rig and can kick a footy. This doesn't make him man angel or role model! His a cocky kid, needs a good punch to the chops to pull his head in!

Happy to employ him in the warehouse at work, earn 45k and freeze your arse of every day to make a quid. This is what some of them need.

Clubs in general and managers, baby all the players. A more direct approach needs to take place.... if you are drug tested and caught with it in your system, you are out never to come back. Pretty simple! It's not rocket science!

It's not alcohol that is legal, these players know it's illegal but still do it. Enough is enough, stop babying the little shits!! Grow up Bailey, your 21 mate!

Cut you your hair and stop looking like a flog and be grateful for the opportunity you have been given that so many of us will never get. Your not hard mate with your shitty little moe and a mullet. You head butted a guy knowing he couldn't put one on your chin in front of the cameras and afterwards hardly touched the ball cause you were scared.

Im a doggie through and through and love ya mate, but you are behaving like a flog. Happy for you to go stay at my mums place for a week in the commission flats to get a bit of a reality check and see how people who are not as privileged as you live.
I assume you drug test your warehouse workers on 45k too then, don’t think you’ll have many left if that’s your approach 😂

No one wants to stay at ya mums commission flat lmao - he’s got an opportunity that you never had for the sole reason that he’s better than you and has worked harder than you, I know that’s probably hard to hear mate so continue to belittle someone from behind your computer screen and call him scared & weak, I smell irony

duck's sake I hate this ******* rabble of a club sometimes, one hundred percent the club knew and made him take personal leave, if the club never found out he would of been training on day one of the pre season. Sick of this shit

I’m confused. You’re upset because the club found out and dealt with it at the time instead of sweeping it under the carpet?

duck's sake I hate this ******* rabble of a club sometimes, one hundred percent the club knew and made him take personal leave, if the club never found out he would of been training on day one of the pre season. Sick of this shit

I’m bemused - if you were in the clubs position , what do you suggest they should have done?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Could have happened to any player at any club and it won't be the last time it happens.

He's a footballer and most of the ones I've come across are basically dickheads. But when you get dickheads with too much money, too many expectations, too much exposure, the dickheadedness comes to the fore.

However, he has fessed up for being a dickhead and he sounds genuinely sorry. The club has a duty of care to him and I'd expect them to honour this responsibility. Let this run its course and we'll see how it pans out. But at the moment, I'd hate to be in his shoes. He can't learn maturity. It comes with time and experience.

Could have happened to any player at any club and it won't be the last time it happens.

He's a footballer and most of the ones I've come across are basically dickheads. But when you get dickheads with too much money, too many expectations, too much exposure, the dickheadedness comes to the fore.

However, he has fessed up for being a dickhead and he sounds genuinely sorry. The club has a duty of care to him and I'd expect them to honour this responsibility. Let this run its course and we'll see how it pans out. But at the moment, I'd hate to be in his shoes. He can't learn maturity. It comes with time and experience.
I think we forget they are young men who haven’t matured yet. Just because they are drafted to the AFL doesn’t mean they suddenly have a 30 year old head on their shoulders.

Not surprised that this has all come to air, not the sort of media spotlight we want either.

Does the club impose a ban and mandate a drug program? Will be waiting next to see what the AFL does over the matter.

2 weeks out with suspension already, plus he’ll get at least another 2 weeks minimum for this, if not longer.

This year has been a train wreck ever since Bevo lost it after round 1, will be even harder to make finals losing 1 of our few players that can break out of a pack with pace for so long

I assume you drug test your warehouse workers on 45k too then, don’t think you’ll have many left if that’s your approach 😂

No one wants to stay at ya mums commission flat lmao - he’s got an opportunity that you never had for the sole reason that he’s better than you and has worked harder than you, I know that’s probably hard to hear mate so continue to belittle someone from behind your computer screen and call him scared & weak, I smell irony

Lol, fair point... mum doesn't live in a commission flat either :)

just hate seeing this happen, makes me cross. Lost a couple of good mates to drug use and just sick of people accepting it. Its not only the user its everyone else It affects. The common folk cant pay for their drugs like Bailey, therefore some get into a life of crime. Burgs, assault's, robberies to pay for their addiction, this affects everyone. Its a massive issue and I'm sick of people just accepting it.

He does need a haircut though and for future reference, happy to teach him to headbutt properly, should have got the bridge of Touhey's nose :)

If the club knew earlier, they should have come out and said something. People give hard earned money to the club and deserve honesty.

Go dogs and just read his statement.... good on him for taking ownership of it... Kudos

An additional 2 week suspension couldn't have come at a worse time (probably the likely punishment). Would rule him out for the Lions game and Swans game (both away).

Any club can ill afford players who are missing games despite being physically capable. You throw in our often injury plagued list plus that some sort of super virus swept through our team, you need all hands on deck when the difference between winning and losing can be so marginal.

Already had our former vice captain miss about 8 - 10 games and now a bunch of suspensions to our probable half way point BnF leader. Just not good.

An additional 2 week suspension couldn't have come at a worse time (probably the likely punishment). Would rule him out for the Lions game and Swans game (both away).

Any club can ill afford players who are missing games despite being physically capable. You throw in our often injury plagued list plus that some sort of super virus swept through our team, you need all hands on deck when the difference between winning and losing can be so marginal.

Already had our former vice captain miss about 8 - 10 games and now a bunch of suspensions to our probable half way point BnF leader. Just not good.
if the club knew about, why suspend him now?

I’ve got a baaad feeling we’re going to do something flipping ridiculous like a long suspension - just feels like something our club would do tbh

Got no issue with Smith. Is what it is. Needs to be smarter with his drug use if he wants a longterm career.

Ie: no uploads
He needs to do it in Vegas like most other players.

Got no issue with Smith. Is what it is. Needs to be smarter with his drug use if he wants a longterm career.

Ie: no uploads
No doubt, or I hope, that friendship is over. It wouldn’t be a teammate, would it? You’d think they’d know better, but…

Tim O'Brien. First the barbecue and now this. It can't be a coincidence that as soon as he comes to the club we go from being a Grand Final team to an absolute rabble.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4