Preview Round 1 v Carlton MCG Thursday March 13th 7.30pm - Lalor Trainor & Armstrong Debut

The fact that KMac could have 21% clangers and have 70.9% disposal efficiency shows what a rubbish stat disposal efficiency is. Basically unless he made a clanger it was counted as an efficient disposal. The fact that he only had 52% efficiency against Collingwood shows he’s not even in form compared to last year yet you still want to pick him over the kids. He plays on the wing which is probably the position with the lowest pressure and he still averaged 21% clangers ffs.
So he hit 8 out of 10 disposals. Cool.

If Tarranto or Hopper were out injured, then sure Macca adds some desperately needed experience. These boys are playing tomorrow night so do we really need him? Ok if he plays just to tag and harrass the heck out of Crips I can probably live with that as most of us would. Having said that a player like that needs to be able to Hurt their opponent physically and gets inside their head. I don't see this trait in Macca to be honest but happy to be corrected?

So if he isn't tagging Crips and just freelances as another mid, who would you prefer to play that role tomorrow night?

McAuliffe?
Or
McIntosh?

In my view why would we not play the future of the club in McAuliffe? I would personally even play Dow ahead of McIntosh.... Not trying to be disrespectful to Macca, but he ain't any veteran superstar. He was a good average footballer on a wing who is coming to the end of his career. He really should be a crisis depth player only in 2025 and then retired.

These game opportunities while there is still enough senior depth on the park should be given to the kids coming through.
I think you’ll find MacAulliffe got injured at the wrong time off pre season. It hurt his chances for R1 selection.

What our hopes for the cubs

For Lalor it would be great to see mid teens possies and a snag Armstrong mainly just to hit the contest and a cheeky snag and Trains to have mid teens with some nice intercepts

brownlow votes 3, 2 and 1 or fold the club.

My guess is that they want Kmac in there to do the defensive stuff, as TT and Hopper are both ball winners and Ross isn't as good in that area as we probably need him to be.

We are a rebuilding side. We have a couple of youngsters who were drafted as pure midfielders who’ve been dominant at VFL level - Sonsie and McAuliffe… but have had almost no exposure at senior level in midfield due to lack of opportunity.

What’s to lose by giving Sonsie a few games in midfield at senior level… maybe, just maybe he’ll show something. Maybe he won’t. But why not find out ? If he’s not up to it at least we know. He gets 30 with clearances galore at VFL level. He was touted as a potential #1 as a 16yo as a midfielder.

Look at Hugo. Pickett and Macca as our ‘never to be dropped’ wingers from 2021-2023. Everyone wanted Hugo gone. But what do you know … early 2024 he gets an opportunity on the wing, and he actually played some decent football and looks like being a player… more importantly at 22yo he’s got plenty of upside.

We’ve got TT, Hopper and Ross as experienced mids - with Prestia to come back in a few weeks. Transitioning an average 30yo footballer who’s never played midfield into a full time mid role, and having Sonsie/McAullife play flanks, sub or VFL makes zero sense on any level… none.

What on earth are we worried about in giving kids midfield exposure? Losing by 14 goals instead of 10?

Let’s see what Sonsie has got. There’s actually something to gain by giving him a chance ala Hugo. There’s nothing to gain by Macca playing midfield.

brownlow votes 3, 2 and 1 or fold the club.
To make it through the entire game without me cracking the shits and chucking the remote onto the ground would be the highest possible outcome

Agree with all. Reckon Lalor will be good for 2 goals a week if primarily forward, will eventually become that rare 2g 25 pos mid/forward.
Armstrong to take some strong grabs and hit bodies and follow up, at this stage goals aren't super important as long as he's competing.
Trainor just needs to play his natural interceptor game and use his elite disposal and vision to cut them up.

Last time I checked Team Selection isn’t purely on Yze but the Assistant coaches as well.

I thought Dimma still picked the team

Agree with all. Reckon Lalor will be good for 2 goals a week if primarily forward, will eventually become that rare 2g 25 pos mid/forward.
Armstrong to take some strong grabs and hit bodies and follow up, at this stage goals aren't super important as long as he's competing.
Trainor just needs to play his natural interceptor game and use his elite disposal and vision to cut them up.
Same page, Lalor definitely seems like he’s more than capable of the two snags a week benchmark just on what we saw against the eagles

DE covers everything mate. So it covers everything, handball out of a pack, kick down the line. Chip pass. etc etc Problem is the Macca haters are just looking for anything to try and justify the stance. But, at least be accurate if your're gonna be hating.
Firstly I would have no hesitation playing Macca until a younger player demands his spot and at this stage it hasn’t happened. However CB17 and others, labelling someone a player hater because they have a differing opinion on a players ability is just bullshite. Grow up with your dumb comments. No one hates a player. They just dislike that he’s getting a game over others they prefer. They are entitled to their opinion without being labelled “hater”.

Same page, Lalor definitely seems like he’s more than capable of the two snags a week benchmark just on what we saw against the eagles
wont get a touch

Hi. My name is Stu.

<Hi Stu>

I’m a Tigerholic. Used to be that I could watch the footy and enjoy the game, win, lose or draw. Obviously wins were great and all, but I enjoyed the game

But, now, the desire for Tigers to win is so strong that I start to hate the game. The bloody free kicks we don’t get. The soft as butter frees the oppo gets in F50. The unfairness of every-bloody-thing.

Why can’t you use two hands and mark it? We haven’t had a genuine “clunk everything” since Richo.

How is he on his own? Ffs. If I can see it wtf are our coaches doing? They get from a point kick out to their F50 in a blink. We fart about in the back pockets before a down the line turnover. F%*#

Anyway. Another year. Hope I can enjoy watching the kids. Mentally I know not to expect too much. Gotta be realistic.

Tigers by 32

Firstly I would have no hesitation playing Macca until a younger player demands his spot and at this stage it hasn’t happened. However CB17 and others, labelling someone a player hater because they have a differing opinion on a players ability is just bullshite. Grow up with your dumb comments. No one hates a player. They just dislike that he’s getting a game over others they prefer. They are entitled to their opinion without being labelled “hater”.
No, there’s definitely some haters out there who love a whipping boy. And all i have done is provide actual stats and facts on points made on some posters observations which they claim as fact. If you can’t handle that, and given the over the top reaction. Then naybe sit this one out. And if anything i was insulted twice and didn’t insult back at the respective poster.