Preview Round 19, 2022: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 24th July, 4:40PM AEST

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 29 59.2%
  • Saints

Votes: 20 40.8%

Hate to be so negative but I've seen this movie before.

Players get a rocket up them and come out this week to roll the Weagles by 50+.

Then this motivation fades, and/or they get complacent, and we'll be back to the same old next week.

Motivation comes and goes, but discipline keeps you consistent.

Nah mate.
Had a lot of adversity in my life including health and the loss of my kids due to bad divorce (have not heard from them in over 15 years). Financially ruined as well.

Almost drowned in negativity and self pity.

Then discovered Ant Middleton (years before the sas Australia bullshit). Learned a number of techniques notably that negativity is the easy road. Gives me purpose to have to work hard to see positives.

There are so many people in this world far worse off than me. Have been able to recover myself by remembering this. At the end of the day, footy is footy and while always disappointed after a loss I will seek the positives and reset for another serve the next week.

I understand how people get so upset and need to vent and always respect that. It just means I have to avoid this place for a few days afterward.

Here's looking g forward to a strong this weekend.

Go saints
Good stuff mate. Agree perspective is important 👍🏾

Wait a minute, 72 per cent of Sainters are tipping WCE to win? What's going on here? I remain very confident of the win - a comfortable win. They are atrocious and you will be pleasantly surprised, just watch.

We shall fight them in the Optus, and on the WA beaches, and in the servo. We shall never surrender!

“On their last chance”.

Who are you going to replace half the team with Ratts ??!!.
After last week a blind man and his dog could of done as well - Ross , Windhager and I'd play Connolly because he couldn't play as bad as Hill did last week and bring in Campbell - he played one game , had 50% time on ground with 9 contested possessions - compare Ryder has played 12 games and only had 9 contested possessions once , bring in Lienert.

team line up

Webster - Wilkie - Paton
Sinclair - Battle - Highmore
Billings - Steele - Connolly
Windhager
- Sharman - Membery
Higgins - King - Gresham

Marshall / Crouch / Byrnes

Lienert - Ross - Wood - Campbell

Out - Ryder injured / Milera / Butler / Hill / Long / Jones - I would of added to this list if Bytel , Owens , McKenzie , Clark , Hannerbery were available.

I think Jones could be goneski.

If that's the case then we could have Hanners, Bytel, Owens and Jones in the midfield for Sandringham this week.

That would create a small glimmer of hope for the rest of the season because it was when we had depth performing well earlier in the year that we were good.

Jones and Higgins omitted I reckon. Ratten doesn't have the guts to drop Hill or King.
I wouldn't drop Higgins no matter what people say about him - in last weeks debacle he had 17 possessions which is pretty good for a small forward and if he had of kicked straight he would of had at least 3 goals , also the first game where he never kicked a goal.

King just plays - didn't play that great but still kicked 2 goals

and they are our only consistant goal kickers.

Hill should be out along with Butler
, Milera not doing enough to justify him playing - Id drop Jones as well.

Sharman plays forward , Windhager replaces Butler , Connolly replaces Hill - knowing he couldn't do any worse.

Oh god no
Don’t get the Bucks love as a coach or commentator.

Had all the opportunities in the world as a coach, very good list at a rich, well resourced club.

Didn’t get sacked due to relationship with President when nearly everyone else would have.

One year, with all the above in his favour, he went ultra defensive in gameplan and got into a Grand Final. He lost though and that’s all he has to show for his coaching tenure.

Now commentates and speaks in a slow, methodical way that people mistake for intelligence. When you listen closely though, he messes up quite a few words. The emperor has no clothes.

Prefer others as coach or analyst.

I wouldn't drop Higgins no matter what people say about him - in last weeks debacle he had 17 possessions which is pretty good for a small forward and if he had of kicked straight he would of had at least 3 goals , also the first game where he never kicked a goal.

King just plays - didn't play that great but still kicked 2 goals

and they are our only consistant goal kickers.

Hill should be out along with Butler , Milera not doing enough to justify him playing - Id drop Jones as well.

Sharman plays forward , Windhager replaces Butler , Connolly replaces Hill - knowing he couldn't do any worse.

Both King and Higgins were the matchwinners for us at Optus when we beat Freo earlier this season kicking 4 goals each so I'd be sticking with Higgins.

Don’t get the Bucks love as a coach or commentator.

Had all the opportunities in the world as a coach, very good list at a rich, well resourced club.

Didn’t get sacked due to relationship with President when nearly everyone else would have.

One year, with all the above in his favour, he went ultra defensive in gameplan and got into a Grand Final. He lost though and that’s all he has to show for his coaching tenure.

Now commentates and speaks in a slow, methodical way that people mistake for intelligence. When you listen closely though, he messes up quite a few words. The emperor has no clothes.

Prefer others as coach or analyst.

I don't mind him just as a commentator on footy because he's not so bloke matey sounding. Compared to Gary and Tim he sounds a bit more considered. I think he suffers from Ratts as a coach. He's a good solid citizen but not an innovator. He's a safe option type.

Guys like Macray, Longmuir, Bevo are innovators who change up the way footy gets played. Longmire and Scott more the adaptable old stagers who know how to find ways to stay relevant.

Both King and Higgins were the matchwinners for us at Optus when we beat Freo earlier this season kicking 4 goals each so I'd be sticking with Higgins.

And Jones was great last year and Butler and was a gun in 2020. If form doesn't hold up anyone should be in the sights or you are really developing a standard that is accepted.

I don't think Higgins should be given unlimited chances regardless of his form but he is one of our main goal scoring threats and we have precious few of them as it is, I don't think we have any small forwards kicking bags of goals in the VFL banging down the door to take his spot at the moment either.

He will need to score goals against West Coast though if he holds his spot, he doesn't bring enough defensive pressure to justify his spot without goals.

After last week a blind man and his dog could of done as well - Ross , Windhager and I'd play Connolly because he couldn't play as bad as Hill did last week and bring in Campbell - he played one game , had 50% time on ground with 9 contested possessions - compare Ryder has played 12 games and only had 9 contested possessions once , bring in Lienert.

team line up

Webster - Wilkie - Paton
Sinclair - Battle - Highmore
Billings - Steele - Connolly
Windhager
- Sharman - Membery
Higgins - King - Gresham

Marshall / Crouch / Byrnes

Lienert - Ross - Wood - Campbell

Out - Ryder injured / Milera / Butler / Hill / Long / Jones - I would of added to this list if Bytel , Owens , McKenzie , Clark , Hannerbery were available.

Kind of my point - there’s not a lot in the sheds is there ?……

I'm hoping that the emergencies from that list of interchange is Byrnes, Paton and Cambell. With either Highmore or Windhager as the medi-sub. That brings in Leo, who I really rate and reckon we could use his almost reckless kind of play where he just takes it on, even if it doesn't always come off.

I posted previously that we should forget Clarko and Ratts and chase Bucks.
Still think that way.
Let's get that guy who took Collingwood to the bottom 3 and David Noble. Dream team. Maybe Tim Watson could be coaxed out of retirement to comeback and finished his unfinished business