Logue PSD
Gunston free agent
Lloyd Free agent
Sheezel pick 1
Cadman priority pick
Cooper with late picks

Easy
What happened to you man, I used to look forward to your incredibly hopeful trade ideas, now you're slipping.
I've convinced myself we could get Logue, Acres and Will Rioli with 3000 pts of PP.
Gunston and Lloyd free agents.
Use our pick one on the Big Sheeze.
Alternatively, could go Cadman by PSDing Rioli or Acres.
Cooper with steak knives.
"Easy."

I reckon this is the last thing we need, with Goater, Bergman and Perez all on the list. Key position players are what we need. Comben and Edwards are years away, and we have no key forward other than Larkey.
Perhaps trade for GWS' Riccardi?

Comben should be playing regular senior football next year. His first pre season without injury should get him in the right spot

Comben should be playing regular footy by next year, but the fact remains that if you look at almost all top 8 teams there's at least 4 key forwards listed. Also, we know that we lack experience in the forward line. And to seal the deal, by all reports we're struggling to reach our salary cap floor anyway.

Just bring in Gunston for two years on a good wage. Let him, Larkey, and Comben compete for spots. That sounds like a natural way to achieve better performances.

Definitely need a Rioli type - massive hole in our list.

Would instantly make us a 5 goal better team.

We have no crumbers and no defensive pressure, highlighted by being ranked 18th for retaining the ball once it goes inside 50, and 18th for scores against from turnovers created inside our 50.

This is also a big reason why Ziebell can’t really be a part of our forward group next year!

C

Comben looks exciting but he is a ways off.

He looked half the size of Larkey and Larkey aint a huge KPF.

Gunston is the perfect fit for us.

I seriously don’t see why anyone would even entertain a trade for hill. Polec mk2 on $900k per year, 30 years old next year who upset all his teammates in the preseason by getting them punished with extra recovery sessions by being late to training regularly. Just no. Please no.

Brady dealing with Bell would be like sending a lamb into the Lion enclosure. God help us.

It's a lot easier if you have PSD pick 1 wait...

Will go to an Adelaide club.

His partner plays netball for the Adelaide Thunderbirds.

We don’t need another inside mid with sub par disposal anyway.

I dunno, they said the same thing about Treloar.

I seriously don’t see why anyone would even entertain a trade for hill. Polec mk2 on $900k per year, 30 years old next year who upset all his teammates in the preseason by getting them punished with extra recovery sessions by being late to training regularly. Just no. Please no.
For us, I reckon Acres or Hopper make more sense.
Surely no one gets him on 900k.
It would have to be a salary dump scenario where they absorb at least a 1/3rd of the remaining contract.

What would Dow or O’Brien be worth?

I reckon this is the last thing we need, with Goater, Bergman and Perez all on the list. Key position players are what we need. Comben and Edwards are years away, and we have no key forward other than Larkey.
Perhaps trade for GWS' Riccardi?
Ah joining that club eh? We have jackets
AC87A8C5-80A8-44C6-9F24-1D3DCAE07634.jpeg

Seems like it'll be an unpopular opinion but I genuinely don't think Gunston is a best 22 player in our side for next year.

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar
Thomas CCJ/Comben JHF/Ford

If we draft Sheezel or another small/mid-size forward like Konstanty or Munkara, throw them into the mix.

I'm not playing him ahead of any of the guys listed above. He'll be 31 next season, has missed 6, 21 and 6 games in the last 3 seasons and applies very little defensive pressure.

No thanks.

Seems like it'll be an unpopular opinion but I genuinely don't think Gunston is a best 22 player in our side for next year.

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar

If we draft Sheezel or another small/mid-size forward like Konstanty or Munkara, throw them into the mix.

I'm not playing him ahead of any of the guys listed above. He'll be 31 next season, has missed 6, 21 and 6 games in the last 3 seasons and applies very little defensive pressure.

No thanks.
Mate, you're obviously much more qualified than I am to make judgements about selectability of players, so I'm curious:
1) CCJ as an actual key forward: how confident are you that he will ever make it?
2) Comben: needs a lot more conditioning etc and has been injury prone - do we really want to gamble another season without the insurance of a third key forward, particularly one whose actually proven themselves?
3) what is the downside of bringing in Gunston? We must be as close to hitting the floor of the salary cap of any team. Why not just replace any one of half a dozen OOC subpar medium forwards list spots with his?
4) I did a little research earlier in the year and found that most top 8 teams have 4 key forwards. If we classify CCJ as a key forward first and foremost, instead of a ruck, (which in itself is contrary to the NM marketing spiel when he came across) then we still only have 3. Surely it makes sense to add another key forward to the list? Surely he fits the bill of experience and proven work ethic that the club has been crying out for?

I’m sure I’ll get hammered for this but is the zurhaar situation reminiscent of Aaron black and mason wood at the same age? Talented but inconsistent players at the peak of their value that everyone is/was desperate to keep?

Jury is out. Does run very hot and cold. Almost " DeGoey " like as the comparisons have been made.
*don offer him a mint and he goes ? Not much we can do about except get reasonable return for value and ensure *don never beat us while he plays in that jumper.

Ever been to their windswept $hithole they call the " Hangar " ? Wouldn't even bury Jimmy Hoffa there.

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar

No thanks.
Unpopular?

To say Gunston wouldn't be best 22 at the NMFC in 2023 is borderline delusional.

If you were saying he may take games from a younger player like Ford and that could be detrimental to Ford's longer term development - sure. That's an issue with recruiting any 30 plus player.

But not only would Gunston be best 22 next year for us - he would be our most effective forward by the length of the Flemington straight.

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar

No thanks.
Interesting point of discussion. A major weakness of us this season is our mid-forward connection etc. Gunston’s forward craft is first class - and for me would be at another level to Thomas, JHF with Ford and Curtis still developing. He could provide great leadership to the young blokes like Ford, Curtis and Comben too.
That said, tackles i50 has also been a major issue all year so he probably doesn’t help with that aspect

Curtis Larkey Zurhaar

No thanks.

If Comben doesn’t get up again next year, it would be reprehensible to have the same forward setup as this season and so much reliance on Comben staying fit.

Comben might be past his injury worries, but Gunston would come across as a Free Agent, would provide good support for all the forwards and is a substantial upgrade on Ziebells output this year.

Where is our insurance if Larkey goes down?

Without giving up any draft capital, it is a quick way to provide better list balance and time for the KPF draftees to develop underneath.

Nope. Reckon his ceiling is higher than both of theirs. For one, he's already had 2 30 goal seasons. Black had 1 and Wood had none. Reckon it's also a bit disingenuous to call him inconsistent given he had a 15 game streak where he scored at least one goal every game. For the bottom side. During the worst run of form for any team in league history. Add to that the fact that we have **** all else in the forward line, and we absolutely cannot afford to lose him. When we improve, he becomes a lock for 40 goals every season

Getting Gunston will no doubt be one of the most talking point of this thread. He will add the experience for a season or 2 which is what we need in our forward line. If Clarkson decides he wants him thats good enough for me..